$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Nov 22, 2010

Pretty good

Staff was helpful, room somewhat dated and lacked a coffee pot. Corridors a bit odiferous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nashville, TN
Nov 16, 2010

"Unbeatable location for the price"

I was there on business. It was an awesome deal. I couldn't stay long at all but wish i could.. very close to the boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, NC
Nov 15, 2010

Adequate Accomedations

This Resort was very close to the Beach. If you are a beach goer, great location. Rather cool this time of the year so I did not partake the beach. Close to restaurants and shopping areas. I wanted to do workouts in the mornings. It does not have a gym or workout facilities on the property. Have stayed at better properties in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger Outlet mall within ten minutes of the Hotel. Grand Strand Mall close to property as well.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Good Hotel at a Good Price

Room was above average for the discounted price. We were on the eighth floor with nice views and in a nice location. The hotel itself is dated and somewhat in need of a remodel. Nonetheless I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lasvegas Nevada
Oct 31, 2010

Great time

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Oct 26, 2010

Great place for the money!

The price was incredible and we would definitely stay there again. The rooms were nothing fancy or modern at all, but the pools and the price were amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There is a beautiful park on the northern side of the hotel. That is a a perfect place for a picnic or just relaxing.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 26, 2010

Great location

I thought the hotel was in a great location, easy to get to a number of eating places, shopping, walk along the new boardwalk. The view of the ocean was wonderful, the room had a refrig, coffee maker & microwave. Unfortunately, it did not include coffee or styrofoam cups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

3 restaurants in a row on a side street. 3 bar/grills on the new boardwalk. All with outside seating.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Broadway, NC
Oct 17, 2010

Great Fall Weekend

Hotel was very nice. Smelled good! The room looked just like the pictures online. The ocean view was beautiful. The housekeeper for our room was Extra Friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of dining within walking distance.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Carlisle, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Great view and Quiet time.

Hotel was great. View was excellent and staff was friendly. Only complaint is that the elevator was a little noisey which can be scary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier 14 great dining experience and close to hotel. Eat dinner while watching the water.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Mount Holly, NC
Oct 8, 2010

Hotel was just ok.

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary at Myrtle Beach. We wanted to be within walking distance of center city Myrtle Beach. This location is great! We were only 4 blocks from Pier14. The restaurant there is fabulous! The hotel was just ok. It was a "bare bones" hotel, no coffee in the room, no DVD player and very small bathroom for two. There was a restaurant in the hotel that had a daily breakfast buffet, the staff there was nice. Overall I wouldn't stay there again, but it wasn't horrible either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier 14 restaurant has great food at a medium price. It's oceanfront and dining customers get to walk out on the pier saving a $7.00 per person charge for non-diners.

Back to menu Return to top