$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
377 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Weekend Getaway

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very satisfied with each stay. Rooms have... See full review

  • MBvisit
  • Nov 18, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (377)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DIANA dissatified customer
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 6, 2010

words for the wise

The hotel room was normal with a great view of the ocean.THANK GOD THE OCEAN WAS THERE! If not I would not have stayed. The hotel staff was so unprofessional, we felt as if they could care less if we stayed there or not. They [...] charged us extra money for that ocean view. There are many wonderful hotels to choose from, if I were you I would make this one my LAST!!!! choice, if I hadn't made arrangements in advance I would not have stayed. They had coffee pots in the room but no coffee, no iron or board, no radio,no hair dryers, no food in the hotel you have to go elsewhere for food. I was so disappointed with that front desk staff (they are in the wrong business).Okay, nicely put THIS HOTEL SUCKED!!!!!!they will never have to concern themselves with me again. We work far to hard for our money, don't you think?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Sep 1, 2010

My stay

I requested a ocean front and got a ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spruce Pine, NC
Aug 29, 2010

Needs updating

Hotel had smell in hallway. The hallway was also hot. The bed and tv was old. The room did not have a stove or electric eyes for cooking. Think I could have got more for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Aug 27, 2010

room was not clean the next day,hotel40%

HOTEL ROOM WAS NOT CLEAN ON THE SECOND DAY BATH TUB NOT CLEAN AT ALL ,BED NOT MADE UP, TABLE NOT CLEAN AND ETC...,THE ROOM WAS NOT THE ROOM THE LADY ON THE PHONE TOLD ME I WOULD GET. I PAID FOR SOMETHING WE DIDNT GET. THAT MADE ME AND MY KIDS SAD!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

1 NOT SATIFACTION

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 26, 2010

Nice Family Getaway

The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. They were also very, very polite. However, the hotel is old and although very clean, it does need updating. There is daily housekeeping and our room had a full kitchen which is always a plus when you are travelling with children as was in our case. But I must be truthful that the appliances were old. Free parking was another plus since so many other hotels and resorts can charge up to about $20 per day. The hotel was right on the beach and also offered a baby pool, regular pool and a lazy river pool that my kids enjoyed.They also had a pool bar that served limited frozen beverages. The hotel also only has 1 elevator that made waiting at times a little long. Overall our experience was pleasant but I do not know if I would visit it again. I will agree that it is close to alot of attractions including shopping and dining which we could walk to. The amusement park and Broadway on the Beach were literally just minutes away in the car. The area is very nice and if you're looking for simple accomodations at a reasonable price then you will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The area has amusement parks, water parks and Broadway at the Beach very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ouch My Back
Business
Michigan
Aug 24, 2010

Location Location Location

Very centralized location!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bar across the street with the best SANGRIA!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 24, 2010

Great Visit

Overall good experience -- friendly staff, clean facilities, good location (close to many restaurants, Boardwalk, grocery store).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hagerstown, MD
Aug 24, 2010

great getaway, house keeping very bad

nice room, great location, not enough parking, rooms not cleaned daily some days towel just left outside the door. Very poor maid service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

great resturant and show in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bluefield, WV
Aug 24, 2010

Great location and excellent price.

Loved the price and location. Rooms were very clean and loved the tiki bar at the pool. Great little restaurant a couple hundred feet north which had live music, great food and drinks. Definately would stay there again. Straight shot right up the road to broadway at the beach and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 23, 2010

Best Beach Vacation

Our overall experience at this hotel was great!!! We went while I was 5 monthes pregnant and I was very comfortable my whole stay. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was attentive, quick, and thorough. I enjoyed all the little restaunts that were all within walking distance.My sister and brother in law were also in town for a few days of our trip (they stayed at the "Best Western" and payed a lot more than us and didn't have nearly as nice room or amenities ((they did have free continental breakfast)) My husband and brother in law enjoyed a few nights out on the town. There are not a lot of bars and clubs but if you're looking to just have a couple of drinks and relax in a mature atmosphere this area was fine.Also I read in another travelers review that the tiki bar at the hotel was overpriced....not true!!! I had to inquire about pricing once we got there and I don't consider $5 for a mixed drink and $7 for a frozen (RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE OCEAN) that bad. I'm not sure exactly but I saw happy hour specials written on a special board daily. The drinks were smaller but the convience would have been ideal for someone wanting to relax and just enjoy a few drinks. My 18 month old nephew was also along during there stay and he enjoyed the lazy river at our hotel one day as well as the water park, beach, and (few activities) at Family Kingdom. There were a lot of shops but not as much variety as I initially expected. Once you've seen one you've pretty much seeen them all. With all that said I think the area is great for young people, old people, and families alike. Will defdinately be going back after baby is here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many little palces close that I thought were great. We did go out to dinner at the "Giant Crab" twice and it was great but there wewre so many little places that were much more budget friendly and great tasting. I can't remember a lot of the names off the top of my head but the cafe in the hotel was good and not as expensive as I had read it would be. There was also a breakfast place called "the Omega Pancake house" great breakfast!!! There were a few little restaunts right with 5 blocks boths ways and we tried someting at all of them and were overall very satisfied. OOhh yeah and there was a starbucks about 2 blocks out of the front to the right, that was great for me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top