$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mom
Johnsonville, NY
Jul 2, 2012

The Much Needed Mother/Daughter Get-A-Way

After having a horrible year of doctors, hospitals & chemo for my Mom, I promised that we would go away for a few days to wherever she wanted to go and she chose Myrtle Beach. The Sandcastle is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Everything was nice & clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We swam in the pool, used the lazy river & Mom went into the hot tub (she loved it). We shopped at the outlets, saw 2 shows & the Italian Restaurant next door was wonderful. Lulu's Cafe across the street - is a must. A wonderful place to come back to in the future. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a brochure with coupons that we used.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recent engaged vacationer
Business
Virginia
Sep 25, 2014

Great location, terrible staff

The sandcastle is in the best location in myrtle beach. It's right near the boardwalk in the middle of everything. We never had to get back in our car once we arrived at the hotel. The staff however needs some help. The cabana bartender the first night was extremely rude, refused to get ice to make frozen drinks, and closed two hours early. She also told us not to bother coming the next day because the bartender working that day was terrible (she was in fact amazing. Thanks Brenda lee!!). The night front desk attendant was also terrible. I had a splitting headache and went down to see if they had any aspirin. It took him 10 minutes to come to the front desk. I could hear him watching tv and when I called out he told me to wait. He also told me they did not carry aspirin which is fine but when I asked where I could purchase some he simply said "a store" and walked away. All in all great location, horrible hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Land shark bar. Especially if Shawn is working he is awesome!!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shandy birthday girl
Business
iron station nc
Sep 23, 2014

my birthday vacation

it was wonderful but there was a wet spot by the a/c unit on the carpet. but overall it was wonderful. also a great location to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trbrown
Business
myrtle beach, sc
Sep 9, 2014

owner

This was an average motel room. For the second time in 1 year I am totally disappointed with your site again. The hotel rooms I viewed and received each time were way below what was viewed. I doubt I will be using your site anymore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Memorial Day Weekender
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 5, 2014

Great Location

It was right on the beach and not over crowded also had free DVDs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jc187636
Business
Albany, New York
Sep 4, 2014

Great location

Hotel is in a great location. A short (very short!) walk to the beach. Close to shops and restaurants. We even walked to Broadway at the Beach! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen12
Business
Lancaster, ohio
Aug 29, 2014

Exactly what we expected

This hotel was basic, but it was pretty clean and in a great location!! It was close to the boardwalk and broadway at the beach. I would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pay more expect more
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 13, 2014

You get what you pay for!

8/10/14-8/12/14 I paid for a suite with Murphy bed, but it was a first floor room. . I asked if I can change to a higher floor and they said yes third floor will be available at 4 pm. I was called two hours later and told there was a "maintenance issue" on the third floor and would have to take the original first floor room. I declined. I was put on the top floor, but in a smaller room. And I was not given the difference back. Hotel staff and management was disorganized. Gave false promises. And room was missing the freaking shower curtain!!!! Destruction of a hotel next door spread a mildew smell towards my balcony too. Simply put, pay a little more to stay somewhere else!!! You've been warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Amusement park atmosphere

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Srachel
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Aug 11, 2014

Sandcastle at the Pavillion needs a facelift

The only positive thing I can say about this hotel was the location on the beach! Needs updated, had to ask for the iron and ironing board and if they had blow dryers to use!? Overall it was less than a satisfactory experience to say the least!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelsey renee
Business
Raleigh nc
Jul 30, 2014

Out of date

This hotel has the perfect location but unfortunately the room was out of date and the bathrooms were disgusting! Definitely would never return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain George's is delicious!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Annee2014
Business
Nc
Jul 24, 2014

Ehh..

Good location but thought we were booking a condo with a kitchenette and not a simple room with a fridge and microwave... Not too clean...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top