$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
Couples
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spiderman26
Family
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Amazing view

The view from our suite was amazing. Parking was sufficient and the location of the hotel was very central and close to many shops and restaurants. Pool and lazy river was great for the kids, though I prefer the beach, which was mere steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony H.
Couples
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

New Year's trip

The staff was great and friendly. The beds were in poor condition and were not easy to sleep on. The rest of the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBvisit
Couples
WV
Nov 18, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very satisfied with each stay. Rooms have always been clean, staff is pleasant, and the location is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Rose
Family
Greensboro, NC
Oct 22, 2014

Need updating!!!

The location is great! However, the rooms need to be updated! It felt more like a two star resort :-( for I am use to a little more comforts. The value price would make you consider it but I probably wont stay again until its updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is great! You can walk to everything.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recent engaged vacationer
Couples
Virginia
Sep 25, 2014

Great location, terrible staff

The sandcastle is in the best location in myrtle beach. It's right near the boardwalk in the middle of everything. We never had to get back in our car once we arrived at the hotel. The staff however needs some help. The cabana bartender the first night was extremely rude, refused to get ice to make frozen drinks, and closed two hours early. She also told us not to bother coming the next day because the bartender working that day was terrible (she was in fact amazing. Thanks Brenda lee!!). The night front desk attendant was also terrible. I had a splitting headache and went down to see if they had any aspirin. It took him 10 minutes to come to the front desk. I could hear him watching tv and when I called out he told me to wait. He also told me they did not carry aspirin which is fine but when I asked where I could purchase some he simply said "a store" and walked away. All in all great location, horrible hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Land shark bar. Especially if Shawn is working he is awesome!!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shandy birthday girl
Couples
iron station nc
Sep 23, 2014

my birthday vacation

it was wonderful but there was a wet spot by the a/c unit on the carpet. but overall it was wonderful. also a great location to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trbrown
Family
myrtle beach, sc
Sep 9, 2014

owner

This was an average motel room. For the second time in 1 year I am totally disappointed with your site again. The hotel rooms I viewed and received each time were way below what was viewed. I doubt I will be using your site anymore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Memorial Day Weekender
Family
Washington, DC
Sep 5, 2014

Great Location

It was right on the beach and not over crowded also had free DVDs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jc187636
Couples
Albany, New York
Sep 4, 2014

Great location

Hotel is in a great location. A short (very short!) walk to the beach. Close to shops and restaurants. We even walked to Broadway at the Beach! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen12
Couples
Lancaster, ohio
Aug 29, 2014

Exactly what we expected

This hotel was basic, but it was pretty clean and in a great location!! It was close to the boardwalk and broadway at the beach. I would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top