$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
589 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Quick getaway

Good location. Perfect of being on the beach.elevators could be faster. I would have liked to see a... See full review

  • Football mom NY bucks
  • Jun 25, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (589)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
589 out of 589
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieA
Salem, NH, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Fabulous Beach Location!

This was a great bargain! We had a side viewing room and could still see the ocean. The pool was beautiful even had an endless lazy river. The front desk staff was great. They held our suitcases before we could check in and after we checked out. They helped us check in 3 hours early without charge. The hotel itself was clean, but a little run down. For the price, you can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SoHo. Great food and drinks. Service is exceptional!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieA
Salem, NH, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Fabulous Beach Location!

This was a great bargain! We had a side viewing room and could still see the ocean. The pool was beautiful even had an endless lazy river. The front desk staff was great. They held our suitcases before we could check in and after we checked out. They helped us check in 3 hours early without charge. The hotel itself was clean, but a little run down. For the price, you can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SoHo. Great food and drinks. Service is exceptional!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beagle mom
Charleston,WV
Aug 26, 2011

great getaway at a great price

The hotel was vey easy to find. Staff was real nice and the rooms were clean. Alot of things to do within walking distance, free concerts, fireworks on the beach etc. really enjoyed my stay and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beagle mom
Charleston,WV
Aug 26, 2011

great getaway at a great price

The hotel was vey easy to find. Staff was real nice and the rooms were clean. Alot of things to do within walking distance, free concerts, fireworks on the beach etc. really enjoyed my stay and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travlov
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Doable if on a tight budget

Check-in: Great. Room was ready early 1pm vs 4pm. Hallways were smelly. Room was average & smelled like smoke. I recommend Lysol & gloves to wipe and spray everything. Chairs in room had tears in them. Fridge, stove & sink in room were clean & convenient. Had ocean view room with great view & easy access to the beach. Within walking distance to Starbucks. Less than 10 mins drive to Broadway on the Beach. Ask about the Coastal transit bus for cheaper transportation. Other than Broadway on the Beach, we didn't get any other suggestions for things to do in Myrtle Beach for a girls weekend. Hotel met my bare minimum requirements for this trip due to my budget restrictions. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for the cheapest rate for beachfront & at least a 3 star rating (low end).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We stumbled upon a free concert on Sat night that was a part of the Oceanfront Concert Series. We saw an amazing artist, Bibis Ellison. I recommend you search concerts and/or festivals in Myrtle Beach before traveling.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travlov
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Doable if on a tight budget

Check-in: Great. Room was ready early 1pm vs 4pm. Hallways were smelly. Room was average & smelled like smoke. I recommend Lysol & gloves to wipe and spray everything. Chairs in room had tears in them. Fridge, stove & sink in room were clean & convenient. Had ocean view room with great view & easy access to the beach. Within walking distance to Starbucks. Less than 10 mins drive to Broadway on the Beach. Ask about the Coastal transit bus for cheaper transportation. Other than Broadway on the Beach, we didn't get any other suggestions for things to do in Myrtle Beach for a girls weekend. Hotel met my bare minimum requirements for this trip due to my budget restrictions. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for the cheapest rate for beachfront & at least a 3 star rating (low end).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We stumbled upon a free concert on Sat night that was a part of the Oceanfront Concert Series. We saw an amazing artist, Bibis Ellison. I recommend you search concerts and/or festivals in Myrtle Beach before traveling.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Linda SSSL
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Aug 22, 2011

you get what you pay for

This was not a clean hotel. Our hosekeeper just made our beds, gave us new towels and took out the trash that was already in the trash can, never once washed our sheets or cleaned around, she even left our door propt open for at leas 10 minutes! But what can i say, you get what you pay for. I recommend spendind a little more money if you want a cleaner and more secure hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Broadway on the beach is only about two miles away from this hotel, is a very easy and simple walk :)

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Linda SSSL
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Aug 22, 2011

you get what you pay for

This was not a clean hotel. Our hosekeeper just made our beds, gave us new towels and took out the trash that was already in the trash can, never once washed our sheets or cleaned around, she even left our door propt open for at leas 10 minutes! But what can i say, you get what you pay for. I recommend spendind a little more money if you want a cleaner and more secure hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Broadway on the beach is only about two miles away from this hotel, is a very easy and simple walk :)

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susn
NC
Aug 20, 2011

A treat for the family

Check in was quick, I like the fact room had asafe for valuables, no hair dryer, but, I made use of oven one night, and fridge was large enough for storage.I liked the way you could have private room with doors. and a tv for each room w/beds. jWe really enjoyed and staff was very nice. Its not the ritz, but its a very clean and pleasent stay. would like to return one day. Susan K.oceanfront rooms. Parking across from place is only downfall I had my hairdryer.I would have liked roomservice but cafe' on site was good! Location is GREAT..:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a grocery store and dounut and beachstore in walking distance too. along with walking the shore to the arcade and pier.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susn
NC
Aug 20, 2011

A treat for the family

Check in was quick, I like the fact room had asafe for valuables, no hair dryer, but, I made use of oven one night, and fridge was large enough for storage.I liked the way you could have private room with doors. and a tv for each room w/beds. jWe really enjoyed and staff was very nice. Its not the ritz, but its a very clean and pleasent stay. would like to return one day. Susan K.oceanfront rooms. Parking across from place is only downfall I had my hairdryer.I would have liked roomservice but cafe' on site was good! Location is GREAT..:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a grocery store and dounut and beachstore in walking distance too. along with walking the shore to the arcade and pier.

Back to menu Return to top