$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve870911
Business
Lynchburg, VA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Good Price, but room needed help.

The hotel was under renovation. I assume that was the reason it was rent 2 nights get one free. Our room had not yet been renovated, it may have been privately owned. The carpet and flooring needed replacing, and there were definitely lighting issues. One of the beds was sandy. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt; maybe the sheets were clean, but the washing machine had a lot of sand in it. The staff was helpful. The amenites are minimal for an oceanfront resort, but they are fine for a 3-4 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

River City Cafe 21st Ave North. The best burgers in Myrtle Beach!! Starbucks right up the street as well.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in nc
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Couples retreat

not at all impressed I would spend a couple of extra dollars and go somewhere else. The parking was a pain we had to park in the deck 2 streets over a little sketchy the main hallway was very dark even in the day and it smelled. The elevator needed cleaning the 7 th floor didn't have air conditioning in the hallway the room smelled felt dirty I didn't notice any renovations other than an ugly coat of paint over everything and failed to change the nasty black and rusty plumbing cover for toilet. The bedding was chintzy and felt unclean. it's the kind of place where even though you shower you still feel dirty. Even the bugs there didn't want to stay cause they surprised us when we got home on our dirty laundry need I say more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend Huffman helicopters we took a tour from the sky it was alot of fun

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chellebell
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

A little get away

Me and my best friend take a trip to Myrtle Beach every year. We got an oceanfront room right on the beach.. Overall the trip was a success. However, there is some maintaince issues they need to work out.. There lazy river was missing so many tiles it looked kind of ghetto. The rooms were nice, the beds could have been a little more comfortable but the pillows made up for it. It is walking distance to just about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop by Lulu's cafe for breakfast.. they have the best pancakes :)

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CynMar
Business
Indiana, PA
Sep 7, 2011

R & R couple getaway

The hotel room was very nice, except for the bed mattress, could have been more comfortable, springs were popping when we moved around. Very spacious, liked the fridge and microwave. Would have liked an iron, iron board and full lenght mirror, but not a deal breaker. Within walking distance to shops, amusements, dining and of course, THE OCEAN!!! Next visit we want ocean view...had a wonderful time, will definetly return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Luigi's restaurant - a must to dine!! We loved the food...awesome. Pier 2 has a great Mud Slide (drink, of course) Yummy and ya gotta ride the Sky Wheel. What a view and if you dare, the sling shot looks wild.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jim2545
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

OK on short notice

Older motel that needed some work, had new paint and that was about it. Pool was not very clean and first floor had an odd odor, glad we were on 7. It was right on the beach though, we only had to walk about 50 ft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jim2545
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

OK on short notice

Older motel that needed some work, had new paint and that was about it. Pool was not very clean and first floor had an odd odor, glad we were on 7. It was right on the beach though, we only had to walk about 50 ft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
allie719
Business
columbus ohio
Sep 2, 2011

great vacation

The hotel was great if you don't plan on spending a lot of time there. Small but comfortable for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Abuelo's at Broadway at the Beach

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BS552
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Old Hotel

Bad experience. Very old. No airconditioner in hallways. Dirty rooms. Could not get towels after the first day. Had to use our beach towel to dry off. Hot tub water had a foul odor from old water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joey jojo
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Great location

found the staff 2 be very helpful. The pool was very dirty. But 4 price and location it's a great deal. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk on the beach! Check it out. All the clubs and bars at one spot

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy Beach
Business
Kentucky, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Great Room

Wasn't the most modern hotel, but we had everything we needed. Room wasn't cleaned until late afternoon, but that was ok because we stayed on the beach the majority of the day. Staff was very friendly. Parking was decent, maybe not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top