$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HEZZ
Business
Lugoff, SC, USA
Oct 5, 2011

ROOM NOT AS DECRIBED ON LINE

THERE WAS A GOOD VIEW TO OCEAN AND ROOM WAS OK BUT NOTHING SPECIAL. NO HAIR DRYER NO IRON OR IROINING BOARD AS WAS IN THE WRITE UP. THE ROOM HAD A COFFEE MAKER BUT NO COFFEE. I HAVE STAYED IN LOTS OF MOTELS/HOTELS OVER THE YEARS AND THIS IS A FIRST. ONE OF THE PLASTIC CHAIRS WAS BROKEN AND THE TWO DID NOT MATCH. THE TUB FLOOR FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO FALL OUT. THE WOOD AROUND THE SINK WAS BROKEN AND STICKING OUT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CCU dad
Business
Commerce Township, MI, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Not what I expected!!!!!!!!

We were generally disappointed in our room. It was like being back in the 70's at least the paint job was. Very noisy plumbing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simple
Business
Goldsboro, NC, USA
Oct 1, 2011

OK DEAL!!

The hotel was ok for the price and the staff was friendly. The location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
crazyinlove
Business
Newton, NC
Sep 17, 2011

Great for the price

The hotel was very nice. When staying on the seventh floor your water pressure is very bad. This was to be a non-smoking hotel but as soon as we walked off the elevator all we could smell was smoke. It took a few hours for the smell to get out of the hallway. We did not smell it often after that first day. Other than that it was a very nice hotel. Location was in walking distance of so many things. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katbob
Business
Adena, OH, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Girls Get-A-Way

A bit disappointed that they did not supply coffee. There was a coffee pot, no coffee or filters, no ironing board but with a deposit you could go down and get one from the front desk. Even though we were in a non-smoking room, there was a cigarette butt on the floor by my bed. Walls were paper thin and you could hear everyone. Location was great and we had an awesome TV in the bedroom. They had plenty of towels and wash clothes in the room and they left enough soap and shampoo for the 3 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katbob
Business
Adena, OH, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Girls Get-A-Way

A bit disappointed that they did not supply coffee. There was a coffee pot, no coffee or filters, no ironing board but with a deposit you could go down and get one from the front desk. Even though we were in a non-smoking room, there was a cigarette butt on the floor by my bed. Walls were paper thin and you could hear everyone. Location was great and we had an awesome TV in the bedroom. They had plenty of towels and wash clothes in the room and they left enough soap and shampoo for the 3 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denaco
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Sep 14, 2011

SandCastle for cheap Vacation

It is not the best staying at the hotel, but I would give it a nice, sweet D for over all. There is a lot of things that is needed to be upgraded, as such, comforter on bed was itchy. It is very cheap and make from plastic stuff. And their water at hotel smells like the beach, and they got to do something about the smell in the bathroom and water, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
in love with my husband
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

our trip

We got to check in an hour before time, was a very nice room. The beds could have been a little softer but we had fresh clean towels and our room cleaned without asking. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

get there early so the wait wont be to long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve870911
Business
Lynchburg, VA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Good Price, but room needed help.

The hotel was under renovation. I assume that was the reason it was rent 2 nights get one free. Our room had not yet been renovated, it may have been privately owned. The carpet and flooring needed replacing, and there were definitely lighting issues. One of the beds was sandy. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt; maybe the sheets were clean, but the washing machine had a lot of sand in it. The staff was helpful. The amenites are minimal for an oceanfront resort, but they are fine for a 3-4 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

River City Cafe 21st Ave North. The best burgers in Myrtle Beach!! Starbucks right up the street as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in nc
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Couples retreat

not at all impressed I would spend a couple of extra dollars and go somewhere else. The parking was a pain we had to park in the deck 2 streets over a little sketchy the main hallway was very dark even in the day and it smelled. The elevator needed cleaning the 7 th floor didn't have air conditioning in the hallway the room smelled felt dirty I didn't notice any renovations other than an ugly coat of paint over everything and failed to change the nasty black and rusty plumbing cover for toilet. The bedding was chintzy and felt unclean. it's the kind of place where even though you shower you still feel dirty. Even the bugs there didn't want to stay cause they surprised us when we got home on our dirty laundry need I say more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend Huffman helicopters we took a tour from the sky it was alot of fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top