$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
378 reviews
New Year's trip

The staff was great and friendly. The beds were in poor condition and were not easy to sleep on.... See full review

  • Tony H.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Weekend Getaway

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very satisfied with each stay. Rooms have... See full review

  • MBvisit
  • Nov 18, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
in love with my husband
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

our trip

We got to check in an hour before time, was a very nice room. The beds could have been a little softer but we had fresh clean towels and our room cleaned without asking. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

get there early so the wait wont be to long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve870911
Business
Lynchburg, VA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Good Price, but room needed help.

The hotel was under renovation. I assume that was the reason it was rent 2 nights get one free. Our room had not yet been renovated, it may have been privately owned. The carpet and flooring needed replacing, and there were definitely lighting issues. One of the beds was sandy. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt; maybe the sheets were clean, but the washing machine had a lot of sand in it. The staff was helpful. The amenites are minimal for an oceanfront resort, but they are fine for a 3-4 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

River City Cafe 21st Ave North. The best burgers in Myrtle Beach!! Starbucks right up the street as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in nc
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Couples retreat

not at all impressed I would spend a couple of extra dollars and go somewhere else. The parking was a pain we had to park in the deck 2 streets over a little sketchy the main hallway was very dark even in the day and it smelled. The elevator needed cleaning the 7 th floor didn't have air conditioning in the hallway the room smelled felt dirty I didn't notice any renovations other than an ugly coat of paint over everything and failed to change the nasty black and rusty plumbing cover for toilet. The bedding was chintzy and felt unclean. it's the kind of place where even though you shower you still feel dirty. Even the bugs there didn't want to stay cause they surprised us when we got home on our dirty laundry need I say more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend Huffman helicopters we took a tour from the sky it was alot of fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chellebell
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

A little get away

Me and my best friend take a trip to Myrtle Beach every year. We got an oceanfront room right on the beach.. Overall the trip was a success. However, there is some maintaince issues they need to work out.. There lazy river was missing so many tiles it looked kind of ghetto. The rooms were nice, the beds could have been a little more comfortable but the pillows made up for it. It is walking distance to just about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop by Lulu's cafe for breakfast.. they have the best pancakes :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CynMar
Business
Indiana, PA
Sep 7, 2011

R & R couple getaway

The hotel room was very nice, except for the bed mattress, could have been more comfortable, springs were popping when we moved around. Very spacious, liked the fridge and microwave. Would have liked an iron, iron board and full lenght mirror, but not a deal breaker. Within walking distance to shops, amusements, dining and of course, THE OCEAN!!! Next visit we want ocean view...had a wonderful time, will definetly return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Luigi's restaurant - a must to dine!! We loved the food...awesome. Pier 2 has a great Mud Slide (drink, of course) Yummy and ya gotta ride the Sky Wheel. What a view and if you dare, the sling shot looks wild.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jim2545
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

OK on short notice

Older motel that needed some work, had new paint and that was about it. Pool was not very clean and first floor had an odd odor, glad we were on 7. It was right on the beach though, we only had to walk about 50 ft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
allie719
Business
columbus ohio
Sep 2, 2011

great vacation

The hotel was great if you don't plan on spending a lot of time there. Small but comfortable for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Abuelo's at Broadway at the Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BS552
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Old Hotel

Bad experience. Very old. No airconditioner in hallways. Dirty rooms. Could not get towels after the first day. Had to use our beach towel to dry off. Hot tub water had a foul odor from old water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joey jojo
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Great location

found the staff 2 be very helpful. The pool was very dirty. But 4 price and location it's a great deal. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk on the beach! Check it out. All the clubs and bars at one spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy Beach
Business
Kentucky, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Great Room

Wasn't the most modern hotel, but we had everything we needed. Room wasn't cleaned until late afternoon, but that was ok because we stayed on the beach the majority of the day. Staff was very friendly. Parking was decent, maybe not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top