$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
West Haven, CT
Oct 27, 2011

Not So Great

The hotel adverstised on the sign that it was 'NEWLY RENNOVATED". I couldn't tell. The room was clean, but the decor was very dated. The bathroom was outdated as well. The shower/tub was old and there was mold inside the shower handle, I took a shower with my flip flops on! the slip guard mat in the tub was old and dingy. I came out of the shower only to be greeted by what the front desk manager said was a "Palmetto Bug".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to have lunch at Sea Captain's House. Their she-crab soup and broiled scallops are the BEST!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arti
Couples
Tampa, Florida
Oct 26, 2011

Great oceanfront

My wife and I had a fifth floor oceanfront room with a balcony giving an unencumbered ocean and beach view. Excellent maid service. Good front desk help. Excellent parking. Good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street: Lulu's restaurant, weekend breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very friendly.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner73
Family
Cumberland, MD, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Good Value

Great for the price, great location. Would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tata1234
Couples
chicago
Oct 24, 2011

Good location /not superbclean/hotel is old/

Good location. There are several good places to eat close by. Hotel is not to clean- very old for USA standards. However hotel is on the beach. We had beautiful view from our room. Shopping in near by-2 miles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the beach and good places to eat!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey Lee
Friends
Islip, NY
Oct 23, 2011

Absolutely wonderful vacation!!

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at this hotel. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, I made very good use of the lazy river, pool, and indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, the staff was friendly and helpful, I really would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to vacation in Myrtle Beach. I'm definitely planning on going again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
laurenw843
Family
summerville, sc
Oct 14, 2011

okay not the greatest

Pool and spa gross, little restraunt closed ad I think cleaning lady stole 2 beers but other than that had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bummz is a great little bar for a drink or a yummy cheeseburger. Pleasant easy going staff and easy on your wallet, not like other places. Less than a half of a mile!!!!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rozia
Couples
Martinez, GA, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Last chance get away

Check-in was at best poor service. Roaches in room. Poor parking. Lack of care for the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bare Foot Landing.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HEZZ
Couples
Lugoff, SC, USA
Oct 5, 2011

ROOM NOT AS DECRIBED ON LINE

THERE WAS A GOOD VIEW TO OCEAN AND ROOM WAS OK BUT NOTHING SPECIAL. NO HAIR DRYER NO IRON OR IROINING BOARD AS WAS IN THE WRITE UP. THE ROOM HAD A COFFEE MAKER BUT NO COFFEE. I HAVE STAYED IN LOTS OF MOTELS/HOTELS OVER THE YEARS AND THIS IS A FIRST. ONE OF THE PLASTIC CHAIRS WAS BROKEN AND THE TWO DID NOT MATCH. THE TUB FLOOR FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO FALL OUT. THE WOOD AROUND THE SINK WAS BROKEN AND STICKING OUT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CCU dad
Couples
Commerce Township, MI, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Not what I expected!!!!!!!!

We were generally disappointed in our room. It was like being back in the 70's at least the paint job was. Very noisy plumbing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simple
Family
Goldsboro, NC, USA
Oct 1, 2011

OK DEAL!!

The hotel was ok for the price and the staff was friendly. The location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top