$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
walksalot
Business
montana
Oct 28, 2011

business trip

No coffee anywhere in motel. Had to ask for soap, shampoo every day. One VERY unfriendly desk worker that made the whole motel seem even more shabby than the place already was. Would not recommend except for the location by the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary47
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Oct 27, 2011

Perfect location

Love the proximity to Boardwalk and Pier 14. Hotel room was clean, bed comfortable, cafe on site was already closed (mid Oct) and wish hotel had an exercise room for rainy days. Will definitaly go back in early Nov. Pier 14 restaurant closed day after thanksgiving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier 14 restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Haven, CT
Oct 27, 2011

Not So Great

The hotel adverstised on the sign that it was 'NEWLY RENNOVATED". I couldn't tell. The room was clean, but the decor was very dated. The bathroom was outdated as well. The shower/tub was old and there was mold inside the shower handle, I took a shower with my flip flops on! the slip guard mat in the tub was old and dingy. I came out of the shower only to be greeted by what the front desk manager said was a "Palmetto Bug".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to have lunch at Sea Captain's House. Their she-crab soup and broiled scallops are the BEST!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arti
Business
Tampa, Florida
Oct 26, 2011

Great oceanfront

My wife and I had a fifth floor oceanfront room with a balcony giving an unencumbered ocean and beach view. Excellent maid service. Good front desk help. Excellent parking. Good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street: Lulu's restaurant, weekend breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner73
Business
Cumberland, MD, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Good Value

Great for the price, great location. Would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tata1234
Business
chicago
Oct 24, 2011

Good location /not superbclean/hotel is old/

Good location. There are several good places to eat close by. Hotel is not to clean- very old for USA standards. However hotel is on the beach. We had beautiful view from our room. Shopping in near by-2 miles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the beach and good places to eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey Lee
Business
Islip, NY
Oct 23, 2011

Absolutely wonderful vacation!!

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at this hotel. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, I made very good use of the lazy river, pool, and indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, the staff was friendly and helpful, I really would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to vacation in Myrtle Beach. I'm definitely planning on going again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
laurenw843
Business
summerville, sc
Oct 14, 2011

okay not the greatest

Pool and spa gross, little restraunt closed ad I think cleaning lady stole 2 beers but other than that had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bummz is a great little bar for a drink or a yummy cheeseburger. Pleasant easy going staff and easy on your wallet, not like other places. Less than a half of a mile!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rozia
Business
Martinez, GA, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Last chance get away

Check-in was at best poor service. Roaches in room. Poor parking. Lack of care for the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bare Foot Landing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NVIG
Business
Pueblo West, CO, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Adequate

No onsite facilities for meals. Shopping eateries and beach within 2-3 blocks to walking distance. Hotel was still under renovation. Staff friendly. Shower not fully functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THREE RESTRAUNTS NON FORMAL NEARBY, FOOD GOOD. STARBUCKS NEARBY. NO IN HOUSE DINNING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top