$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
370 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great for couples

The hotel was ocean front!! Perfect access to the beach !!! The rooms decor was a warm and beachy... See full review

  • Rustyboy
  • Jul 14, 2014
The Sandcastle Resort at the Pavilion is a 241-unit oceanfront hotel perfectly located for easy access to all local attractions. We are located only eight blocks from the famous Myrtle Beach Pavilion so you can walk to all the fun and adventure that awaits you there! We are only a few blocks from the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, as well, and are only one and a half miles from Broadway at the Beach, where you'll find fabulous restaurants, unique shops, and a host of great attractions such as Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock Cafe, Ripley's Aquarium and The IMAX Theater. Our 241 units are composed of newly renovated oceanfront and side-view suites and rooms with large number of oceanfront efficiencies. Our amenities include an outdoor pool, endless river and kiddie pool and also an indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. For your dining needs we have an on-site restaurant featuring an excellent breakfast and lunch menu and while you are at the pool we have seasonal poolside cabana bar for all your refreshment needs. Minumum age of 25 to book and checkin on all reservations. Must be 25 years of age to book reservations and check in at the hotel.

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (370)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katbob
Adena, OH, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Girls Get-A-Way

A bit disappointed that they did not supply coffee. There was a coffee pot, no coffee or filters, no ironing board but with a deposit you could go down and get one from the front desk. Even though we were in a non-smoking room, there was a cigarette butt on the floor by my bed. Walls were paper thin and you could hear everyone. Location was great and we had an awesome TV in the bedroom. They had plenty of towels and wash clothes in the room and they left enough soap and shampoo for the 3 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denaco
Rochester, NY, USA
Sep 14, 2011

SandCastle for cheap Vacation

It is not the best staying at the hotel, but I would give it a nice, sweet D for over all. There is a lot of things that is needed to be upgraded, as such, comforter on bed was itchy. It is very cheap and make from plastic stuff. And their water at hotel smells like the beach, and they got to do something about the smell in the bathroom and water, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
in love with my husband
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

our trip

We got to check in an hour before time, was a very nice room. The beds could have been a little softer but we had fresh clean towels and our room cleaned without asking. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

get there early so the wait wont be to long.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve870911
Lynchburg, VA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Good Price, but room needed help.

The hotel was under renovation. I assume that was the reason it was rent 2 nights get one free. Our room had not yet been renovated, it may have been privately owned. The carpet and flooring needed replacing, and there were definitely lighting issues. One of the beds was sandy. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt; maybe the sheets were clean, but the washing machine had a lot of sand in it. The staff was helpful. The amenites are minimal for an oceanfront resort, but they are fine for a 3-4 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

River City Cafe 21st Ave North. The best burgers in Myrtle Beach!! Starbucks right up the street as well.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in nc
Raleigh, NC, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Couples retreat

not at all impressed I would spend a couple of extra dollars and go somewhere else. The parking was a pain we had to park in the deck 2 streets over a little sketchy the main hallway was very dark even in the day and it smelled. The elevator needed cleaning the 7 th floor didn't have air conditioning in the hallway the room smelled felt dirty I didn't notice any renovations other than an ugly coat of paint over everything and failed to change the nasty black and rusty plumbing cover for toilet. The bedding was chintzy and felt unclean. it's the kind of place where even though you shower you still feel dirty. Even the bugs there didn't want to stay cause they surprised us when we got home on our dirty laundry need I say more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend Huffman helicopters we took a tour from the sky it was alot of fun

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chellebell
Augusta, GA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

A little get away

Me and my best friend take a trip to Myrtle Beach every year. We got an oceanfront room right on the beach.. Overall the trip was a success. However, there is some maintaince issues they need to work out.. There lazy river was missing so many tiles it looked kind of ghetto. The rooms were nice, the beds could have been a little more comfortable but the pillows made up for it. It is walking distance to just about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop by Lulu's cafe for breakfast.. they have the best pancakes :)

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CynMar
Indiana, PA
Sep 7, 2011

R & R couple getaway

The hotel room was very nice, except for the bed mattress, could have been more comfortable, springs were popping when we moved around. Very spacious, liked the fridge and microwave. Would have liked an iron, iron board and full lenght mirror, but not a deal breaker. Within walking distance to shops, amusements, dining and of course, THE OCEAN!!! Next visit we want ocean view...had a wonderful time, will definetly return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Luigi's restaurant - a must to dine!! We loved the food...awesome. Pier 2 has a great Mud Slide (drink, of course) Yummy and ya gotta ride the Sky Wheel. What a view and if you dare, the sling shot looks wild.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jim2545
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

OK on short notice

Older motel that needed some work, had new paint and that was about it. Pool was not very clean and first floor had an odd odor, glad we were on 7. It was right on the beach though, we only had to walk about 50 ft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
allie719
columbus ohio
Sep 2, 2011

great vacation

The hotel was great if you don't plan on spending a lot of time there. Small but comfortable for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Abuelo's at Broadway at the Beach

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BS552
Virginia, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Old Hotel

Bad experience. Very old. No airconditioner in hallways. Dirty rooms. Could not get towels after the first day. Had to use our beach towel to dry off. Hot tub water had a foul odor from old water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search