Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$33
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 23, 2016

Hard as a ROCK!

Would not recommend Thu, Jun 28, 2012
The beds in this hotel wannabe are as hard as sleeping on the floor! I recently broke my back & the minute I sat on the bed, I knew I was in for a LONG night,. I immediately called the front desk & asked for a softer bed, but was told they were all alike. I ended up folding both bedspreads & putting them under the bottom sheet. Hotel itself is old & needs upgrading . Room had a very strange smell. Wish I had read the reviews before I booked. Won't happen again. The only thing this MOTEL has going for it is it's location!

| Smoky Mountains Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

special vacation trip

Would recommend Thu, Jun 28, 2012
This was first trip to Myrtle Beach SC area. The best part of trip was the location of hotel.It's right in the middle of everything & also right on the beach.The pool with its lazy river & regular pool was great for the kids & adults alike. The Boardwalk & Piers along the beach with all the food venues & Arcades & shops were wonderful. Also not to far from hotel is the Broadway venue.Will have to make another trip to see things we didn't get to see the 1st time.

| FL Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

we had bugs in our room

Would not recommend Wed, Jun 27, 2012
The first night we were there we saw a bug on the wall and killed it. The third night we were there we saw three more of the same kind of bug, one on the bed and two on the nightstand. The rest of our one week stay i was too paranoid of bugs being in the bed with me to sleep. I don't know what kind of bugs they were, but they were gross looking enough to make me not want to share a room with them. One good part of the hotel stay was that the front desk staff was all very nice and helpful. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Money saver

two blocks away from the hotel there is a piggly wiggly grocery store, so you can save money on buying some food instead of always eating out.

| Buffalo, NY, USA Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Great Time

Would recommend Tue, Jun 26, 2012
My friends and I had a great time! The price was awesome for this hotel! Perfect location, great staff, and the room was decent.

| Columbus, Ohio Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

sandcastle

Would not recommend Mon, Jun 25, 2012
This hotel is old and not very clean but it is located in a good location on the beach.

| Warner Robins, GA, USA Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Family vacation Myrtle beach 2012

Would recommend Thu, Jun 14, 2012
Overall the stay was good....biggest complaint I would have is the parking situation and the elevators were so slow....need more than one....had some problems getting room cleaned but they did OK after it was brought to their attention

| Bedford, Virginia Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Weekend getaway

Would recommend Mon, Jun 4, 2012
The location is great. I enjoyed my stay at the Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion. The staff was friendly and the rooms were ok. I'd go back and stay again!

Dining

Anywhere along the strip is good!

| Atlanta, GA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

We were very satisfied

Would recommend Sun, Jun 3, 2012
We were very happy with the sandcastle. We made last minute Plans due to other travel problems, and everything turned out great. At check in, an on site Italian restaurant was recommended and was excellent! We ate there twice for dinner and twice for breakfast. Only negative with the room was the small kitchen and limited space for preparing meals. We feel this was great value for the price. Right on the beach with nice pools too.

| Plymouth MA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Terrible weekend to go

Would not recommend Tue, May 29, 2012
The hotel itself was basically what I expected. The pool was fine, and the room was plain, but clean. It was right on the beach, which was nice. The only problem (and it was a huge problem) was that we went Memorial Weekend, which happens to also be "Black Bike Week" (their name not mine) in Myrtle. Now, I am in no way racist, but being called "white folk" everywhere we went and having engines revving until 5:30 in the morning was a bit much. Some of the restaurants and bars close at 9 during this weekend because of the violence and theft that they experienced last year. The scariest incident happened when I was in our hotel parking lot trying to find a parking space at about 9 at night. Two guys started walking around my car, which was fine as I had no reason to be suspicious. Then I realize one of them has their hand on a gun in his waistband. My girlfriend was inside the hotel asking where else we could park at the time, so I immediately pulled out of the lot and called her to tell her not to go back over there. It was definitely a scary situation and I absolutely do not recommend going to Myrtle during Memorial Day Weekend, especially not with kids. Now, I'm sure that this hotel is fine during any other weekend and it really isn't their fault, but multiple bar tenders and taxi drivers were surprised that neither the travel site nor the hotel called, emailed or in some way notified us of the events going on that weekend.

| Arlington, VA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Older

Would not recommend Tue, May 29, 2012
The location was great but the rooms were old and less than standard in my opinion. The outside pool looked nice but was freezing cold. The indoor pool was as hot as the jacuzzi! I would not stay again. For the money there are better places. The lobby and pool look updated but the rooms are pretty out of date. Fairly clean but just old.

Dining

Pier 14 is a short walk from here and was very nice to sit out and eat on the deck. Great food!

| Lexington, KY Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5