$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Marilyn
Business
Bedford, Virginia
Jun 14, 2012

Family vacation Myrtle beach 2012

Overall the stay was good....biggest complaint I would have is the parking situation and the elevators were so slow....need more than one....had some problems getting room cleaned but they did OK after it was brought to their attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mz. H.
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 4, 2012

Weekend getaway

The location is great. I enjoyed my stay at the Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion. The staff was friendly and the rooms were ok. I'd go back and stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere along the strip is good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blade man
Business
Plymouth MA
Jun 3, 2012

We were very satisfied

We were very happy with the sandcastle. We made last minute Plans due to other travel problems, and everything turned out great. At check in, an on site Italian restaurant was recommended and was excellent! We ate there twice for dinner and twice for breakfast. Only negative with the room was the small kitchen and limited space for preparing meals. We feel this was great value for the price. Right on the beach with nice pools too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jsoule6
Business
Arlington, VA
May 29, 2012

Terrible weekend to go

The hotel itself was basically what I expected. The pool was fine, and the room was plain, but clean. It was right on the beach, which was nice. The only problem (and it was a huge problem) was that we went Memorial Weekend, which happens to also be "Black Bike Week" (their name not mine) in Myrtle. Now, I am in no way racist, but being called "white folk" everywhere we went and having engines revving until 5:30 in the morning was a bit much. Some of the restaurants and bars close at 9 during this weekend because of the violence and theft that they experienced last year. The scariest incident happened when I was in our hotel parking lot trying to find a parking space at about 9 at night. Two guys started walking around my car, which was fine as I had no reason to be suspicious. Then I realize one of them has their hand on a gun in his waistband. My girlfriend was inside the hotel asking where else we could park at the time, so I immediately pulled out of the lot and called her to tell her not to go back over there. It was definitely a scary situation and I absolutely do not recommend going to Myrtle during Memorial Day Weekend, especially not with kids. Now, I'm sure that this hotel is fine during any other weekend and it really isn't their fault, but multiple bar tenders and taxi drivers were surprised that neither the travel site nor the hotel called, emailed or in some way notified us of the events going on that weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AWal
Business
Lexington, KY
May 29, 2012

Older

The location was great but the rooms were old and less than standard in my opinion. The outside pool looked nice but was freezing cold. The indoor pool was as hot as the jacuzzi! I would not stay again. For the money there are better places. The lobby and pool look updated but the rooms are pretty out of date. Fairly clean but just old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier 14 is a short walk from here and was very nice to sit out and eat on the deck. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walt baby love
Business
greer sc
Apr 4, 2012

GREAT TIME!!!!!

IT WAS GREAT ROOM WAS AWESOME WE WERE ON THE TOP FLOOR AND GREAT VEIWS WONDERFULL POOLS AND THE HOT TUB WAS AWESOME WITH A VEIW AND BAR AWESOME WE PARKED WHEN WE GOT THERE AND DIDNT HAVE TO USE THE CAR AT ALL TILL WE LEFT WITH GAS PRICES THE WAY WE ARE THEIR LOCATION IS WITH IN WALKING DISTANCE OF THE BEST OF MYRTLE BEACH AND TRY THE SHY WHELL ITS AWESOME

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ride the sling shot its a blast!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandpyB
Business
Fuquay Varina NC
Mar 17, 2012

Great weekend getaway

Just right for going to an event held nearby. Busy and everything you could want or need is nearby. Parking can by a problem at times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
Business
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kattt
Business
Wilmington NC
Jan 16, 2012

Not as described online

The hotel needed upgrading; the room and bathroom needed to be cleaned thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Good Location

The only real positive was the location.The staff was not friendly ,seemed put out that we were there. Required a $10.00 deposit for a hairdryer that was worth about $5.00 retail , no coffee provided. Hallway noise was heard in the room as if the door was open. Wind or some type of noise was coming from the exhaust fan in the bathroom. Bathroom size was extremely small barely accomodating one person. I normally do not complain about anything but I will never stay there again. We normally travel to Myrtle Beach 4 times a year for wekend get aways. We try to stay somewhere different each time chose SandCastle because of location to boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plenty of fine dining & shopping & golf available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top