$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
370 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great for couples

The hotel was ocean front!! Perfect access to the beach !!! The rooms decor was a warm and beachy... See full review

  • Rustyboy
  • Jul 14, 2014
The Sandcastle Resort at the Pavilion is a 241-unit oceanfront hotel perfectly located for easy access to all local attractions. We are located only eight blocks from the famous Myrtle Beach Pavilion so you can walk to all the fun and adventure that awaits you there! We are only a few blocks from the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, as well, and are only one and a half miles from Broadway at the Beach, where you'll find fabulous restaurants, unique shops, and a host of great attractions such as Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock Cafe, Ripley's Aquarium and The IMAX Theater. Our 241 units are composed of newly renovated oceanfront and side-view suites and rooms with large number of oceanfront efficiencies. Our amenities include an outdoor pool, endless river and kiddie pool and also an indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. For your dining needs we have an on-site restaurant featuring an excellent breakfast and lunch menu and while you are at the pool we have seasonal poolside cabana bar for all your refreshment needs. Minumum age of 25 to book and checkin on all reservations. Must be 25 years of age to book reservations and check in at the hotel.

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (370)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chappy12
iowa city iowa
Nov 21, 2011

my sister loved her bday vacation

I brought my sister who just turned 14 out to myrtle beach for the weekend and she loved the beach front/ocean view. we were in the middle of everything and we both enjoyed our stay, thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

its only 4 miles from the hotel on kings highway north but we would recommend the flimangio

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. A.
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Comfortable

Rooom was nice... Older building... oceanview was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ajay N
Buffalo, NY, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Myrtle in November

I would assume the area around this hotel is more lively during peak season but the first weekend of November there is NOTHING open after 10pm anywhere near this hotel. The hotel itself is what you would expect from a 3star hotel: ok beds, small bathrooms, and ok service. Nothing special but nothing too bad either. Recommend for a cheap get away or maybe it is better during summer months?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is the only area that seemed to have anywhere worth while to be in after 10pm.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
quila
Columbia, SC, USA
Nov 6, 2011

getoway

Beds where very hard. Just like sleepying on the floor. They give you a coffee maker but no coffee for it. Had to go to the lobby to get ice and 2nd floor for drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tonia
Columbia, SC, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Great Getaway

For the price, the room was clean, needs updating, but the balcony had a true ocean view - very very nice, staff was friendly and helpful - location was great - parking was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deb ann
Business
Canada
Nov 1, 2011

Business travel

The ad said newly renovated and it wasn't. The only new thing was a carpet and apparently it was recently painted. The pillows were old and lumpy, the lighting was dim and the TV was in need of and update. Although a coffee pot was provided there were no proper paper cups only small plastic drinking cups which were far too hot to handle. The towels were paper thin and over all it was a dingy, dark room. I believe that it is mis-represented in the ad and an upsetting disappointment. I stayed 2 nights and the maid came in and threw the spread back on the bed-the sheets weren't even tucked in I would not reccommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Location was great but nothing else

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
walksalot
Business
montana
Oct 28, 2011

business trip

No coffee anywhere in motel. Had to ask for soap, shampoo every day. One VERY unfriendly desk worker that made the whole motel seem even more shabby than the place already was. Would not recommend except for the location by the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Haven, CT
Oct 27, 2011

Not So Great

The hotel adverstised on the sign that it was 'NEWLY RENNOVATED". I couldn't tell. The room was clean, but the decor was very dated. The bathroom was outdated as well. The shower/tub was old and there was mold inside the shower handle, I took a shower with my flip flops on! the slip guard mat in the tub was old and dingy. I came out of the shower only to be greeted by what the front desk manager said was a "Palmetto Bug".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to have lunch at Sea Captain's House. Their she-crab soup and broiled scallops are the BEST!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary47
Fayetteville, NC
Oct 27, 2011

Perfect location

Love the proximity to Boardwalk and Pier 14. Hotel room was clean, bed comfortable, cafe on site was already closed (mid Oct) and wish hotel had an exercise room for rainy days. Will definitaly go back in early Nov. Pier 14 restaurant closed day after thanksgiving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier 14 restaurant

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arti
Tampa, Florida
Oct 26, 2011

Great oceanfront

My wife and I had a fifth floor oceanfront room with a balcony giving an unencumbered ocean and beach view. Excellent maid service. Good front desk help. Excellent parking. Good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street: Lulu's restaurant, weekend breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very friendly.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search