$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J.D.
Business
Raleigh
Jul 27, 2012

Wow Ridiculous

I called to book 2 rooms for 2 nights and was told i could not because they only have rooms for 3 nights not two...my response well, i only NEED two nights. theirs: "sorry, ma'am...CLICK" so because im a working adult and only have two nights to take my family on a mini vacation i cant stay here... will never try again! hope your experience is more pleasant :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TimN
Business
Cary, NC
Jul 23, 2012

3 Star is correct rating

Older hotel with average everthing EXCEPT one...The restaurant food (italian) is terrific!!! The breakfast boufet at $6.95 including coffee is also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

food (italian) is fabulous and reasonably priced.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gmaangie
Business
OHIO
Jul 11, 2012

MOST HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Bulldoze this hotel, rebuild a new one! Fire everybody that works there for being so rude and inconsiderate, especially the housekeeping staff due to they don't know the meaning of the word clean!Our vacation was like an extremely horrible never ending nightmare!!!We wouldn't allow our dogs to stay there, let alone us being not so smart and staying the night there, we felt filthy dirty and couldn't wait to get out of there! My husband had a heart attack a month and a half ago and the elevator stopped working,he had to endure 4 flights of stairs in the heated stairwells. The hallways were hot as can be, smelled like urine and our room smelled just as bad! This hotel was like a cheap dive. We haven't had a vacation in over 20 years, and thought that this experience in Myrtle Beach at your hotel would be a wonderful one, instead I cried and wished I had never came, and my husband was extremely disappointed as well, he felt very bad, like it was his fault and I was never going to forgive him for this, blaming himself. But we were both to blame, we didn't do enough research into this hotel and we should've known better! After reading some of the reviews, in which there were a few good ones, we were giving this hotel the benefit of doubt, the pictures sure looked good, but they were probably from 20 years ago when this hotel first opened!! Well I guess we all live and learn,at least we weren't at a total loss. I spoke with the manager who refunded the rest of our money for the other days we had planned on staying and then all I got was "I'm Sorry". That's pretty bad! So we immediately packed up and headed back home a (12 Hr ride) to Ohio. We will never make this mistake again! Shame on all of you for taking advantage of people and for false advertisement!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moneysaving Beachgoer
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 5, 2012

weekend getaway

Everyone was friendly and helpful. first time we had been there on vacation. Plenty of things to do within walking distance , lots of restaurants, places to eat, and Piggly Wiggly was only 2 blocks for those going on a budget like we did. There is the SkyWheel, the Boardwalk which has lots of family friendly things to do and there were free concerts at Plyler Park next to the Skywheel which is all within 6 min walking distance to the hotel. We had a side ocean view room which was good- you could see the ocean to the left and to the right the street. the pool and the endless river were not packed which was nice. We parked the car in their parking deck and left it their for the whole weekend since we didnt need it since we could walk everywhere.They do not serve breakfast so we went grocery shopping and ate breakfast and lunch in the room to save money, we tried the Ultimate California Pizza- it was great! The beach is nice and we didnt have to spend alot of money! Overall, a good vacation and nice hotel for a last minute trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You might want to buy stuff for breakfast and lunch at the grocery store since they dont serve breakfast and then you can try out the different restaurants at nite.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mom
Business
Johnsonville, NY
Jul 2, 2012

The Much Needed Mother/Daughter Get-A-Way

After having a horrible year of doctors, hospitals & chemo for my Mom, I promised that we would go away for a few days to wherever she wanted to go and she chose Myrtle Beach. The Sandcastle is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Everything was nice & clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We swam in the pool, used the lazy river & Mom went into the hot tub (she loved it). We shopped at the outlets, saw 2 shows & the Italian Restaurant next door was wonderful. Lulu's Cafe across the street - is a must. A wonderful place to come back to in the future. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a brochure with coupons that we used.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TonyNj1234
Business
New jersey
Jul 2, 2012

Needs serious updating

The rooms were very old the bathroom door got stuck twice with some one inside and took forever to get them out. Also the bar at the pool ripped us off spent 35$ with a receipt to prove it and they charged my credit card $150!! Horrible experience with that ... Pool & beach was nice that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Untrusted
Business
Augusta, Georgia
Jul 2, 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel...

Unfortunately it was packed, but only had one elevator. We waited 20 mins for the elevator because we didn't want to lug our bags down the stairs. They played kids movies until 11:30pm at the pool that we could hear over the air conditioner - we were on the 5th floor! Hair in the sink, sand in the tub, empty Advil bottle and pop cans under the bed. It wasn't even that good of a price. It is within walking distance to the ferriswheel, Ripley's, etc. I won't be back. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steve from uncc
Business
york, sc
Jul 1, 2012

it's ok

the hotel needs some updating to the interior. It's a good value for being right on the beach and is in walking distance to a lot of restaurants and activities. The beds weren't overly comfortable and the cleaning staff seemed to be there just to replace the dirty towels and make the beds. I don't think they vacummed the floors in the room while we were there. The TV in the room was kind of small and there isn't a hair dryer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan xsn
Business
Duluth, GA
Jun 29, 2012

Terrible !! Dont Go Here !

Worst service ever. Do Not stay here. DO NOT GO IN THE POOLS>>>>>You cannot go in the pools because they bleach out your swim suit first time in. They do not care and say their signs posted advise "swim at your own risk" That doesnt mean they should ruin your clothes. They said "we dont care." The manager is never available and they dont compensate after ruining your swim suit. Beware dont go here. The fire marshal was there at check out trying to find a maintenance mgr to fix the leaking sprinklers as well no safety here. Staff is totally rude. Supposedly remodeled. NOT. a coat of paint peeling does not make a remodel. mold in bathrooms. disgusting place. We were in the main hotel with ocean view. leaky ac on balconys drip all over the place. pools were way over chlorinated to the point it made our skin itchy and burned ruined brand new suits. Made a complaint filled out their report was told a manager would call me back after I tried to call back several days in a row. They said "we dont care." Well that is the theme of their place they dont care. and they will tell you that. Point blank. Do not go here. terrible attitudes and service sux.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SmokyMtnGirl
Business
Smoky Mountains
Jun 28, 2012

Hard as a ROCK!

The beds in this hotel wannabe are as hard as sleeping on the floor! I recently broke my back & the minute I sat on the bed, I knew I was in for a LONG night,. I immediately called the front desk & asked for a softer bed, but was told they were all alike. I ended up folding both bedspreads & putting them under the bottom sheet. Hotel itself is old & needs upgrading . Room had a very strange smell. Wish I had read the reviews before I booked. Won't happen again. The only thing this MOTEL has going for it is it's location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top