$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
593 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great for couples

The hotel was ocean front!! Perfect access to the beach !!! The rooms decor was a warm and beachy... See full review

  • Rustyboy
  • Jul 14, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (593)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
593 out of 593
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandpyB
Fuquay Varina NC
Mar 17, 2012

Great weekend getaway

Just right for going to an event held nearby. Busy and everything you could want or need is nearby. Parking can by a problem at times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kattt
Wilmington NC
Jan 16, 2012

Not as described online

The hotel needed upgrading; the room and bathroom needed to be cleaned thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, NC, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Good Location

The only real positive was the location.The staff was not friendly ,seemed put out that we were there. Required a $10.00 deposit for a hairdryer that was worth about $5.00 retail , no coffee provided. Hallway noise was heard in the room as if the door was open. Wind or some type of noise was coming from the exhaust fan in the bathroom. Bathroom size was extremely small barely accomodating one person. I normally do not complain about anything but I will never stay there again. We normally travel to Myrtle Beach 4 times a year for wekend get aways. We try to stay somewhere different each time chose SandCastle because of location to boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plenty of fine dining & shopping & golf available

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RCINSC
Lancaster, SC 29720, USA
Jan 4, 2012

EH!

This is a very unremarkable Myrtle Beach Hotel, but it served it's purpose nicely for New Years 2012. The beds were uncomfortable, the TV was old and small, they didn't clean the room while we were there and there was hair in the tub and toilet that really grossed me out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TarHeel8311
Haw River, NC, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great family vacation!!

My overall stay was great and very affordable. I would def stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reecie86
Clemson, SC, USA
Jan 3, 2012

New Yrs Getaway for two

The hotel itself could use some serious upgrades. Not worth the money at all. The cleaning lady was great but the front desk staff sucked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MCT1
New Hampshire, USA
Nov 27, 2011

lacking on all counts

staff did not clean room every day did not get more soap when bar was used up or more shampoo no hair dryer unless you wanted to rent one no internet staff not happy in appearance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chappy12
iowa city iowa
Nov 21, 2011

my sister loved her bday vacation

I brought my sister who just turned 14 out to myrtle beach for the weekend and she loved the beach front/ocean view. we were in the middle of everything and we both enjoyed our stay, thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

its only 4 miles from the hotel on kings highway north but we would recommend the flimangio

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. A.
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Comfortable

Rooom was nice... Older building... oceanview was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top