$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Untrusted
Couples
Augusta, Georgia
Jul 2, 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel...

Unfortunately it was packed, but only had one elevator. We waited 20 mins for the elevator because we didn't want to lug our bags down the stairs. They played kids movies until 11:30pm at the pool that we could hear over the air conditioner - we were on the 5th floor! Hair in the sink, sand in the tub, empty Advil bottle and pop cans under the bed. It wasn't even that good of a price. It is within walking distance to the ferriswheel, Ripley's, etc. I won't be back. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steve from uncc
Couples
york, sc
Jul 1, 2012

it's ok

the hotel needs some updating to the interior. It's a good value for being right on the beach and is in walking distance to a lot of restaurants and activities. The beds weren't overly comfortable and the cleaning staff seemed to be there just to replace the dirty towels and make the beds. I don't think they vacummed the floors in the room while we were there. The TV in the room was kind of small and there isn't a hair dryer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan xsn
Family
Duluth, GA
Jun 29, 2012

Terrible !! Dont Go Here !

Worst service ever. Do Not stay here. DO NOT GO IN THE POOLS>>>>>You cannot go in the pools because they bleach out your swim suit first time in. They do not care and say their signs posted advise "swim at your own risk" That doesnt mean they should ruin your clothes. They said "we dont care." The manager is never available and they dont compensate after ruining your swim suit. Beware dont go here. The fire marshal was there at check out trying to find a maintenance mgr to fix the leaking sprinklers as well no safety here. Staff is totally rude. Supposedly remodeled. NOT. a coat of paint peeling does not make a remodel. mold in bathrooms. disgusting place. We were in the main hotel with ocean view. leaky ac on balconys drip all over the place. pools were way over chlorinated to the point it made our skin itchy and burned ruined brand new suits. Made a complaint filled out their report was told a manager would call me back after I tried to call back several days in a row. They said "we dont care." Well that is the theme of their place they dont care. and they will tell you that. Point blank. Do not go here. terrible attitudes and service sux.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SmokyMtnGirl
Family
Smoky Mountains
Jun 28, 2012

Hard as a ROCK!

The beds in this hotel wannabe are as hard as sleeping on the floor! I recently broke my back & the minute I sat on the bed, I knew I was in for a LONG night,. I immediately called the front desk & asked for a softer bed, but was told they were all alike. I ended up folding both bedspreads & putting them under the bottom sheet. Hotel itself is old & needs upgrading . Room had a very strange smell. Wish I had read the reviews before I booked. Won't happen again. The only thing this MOTEL has going for it is it's location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
silly florida grandma
Family
FL
Jun 28, 2012

special vacation trip

This was first trip to Myrtle Beach SC area. The best part of trip was the location of hotel.It's right in the middle of everything & also right on the beach.The pool with its lazy river & regular pool was great for the kids & adults alike. The Boardwalk & Piers along the beach with all the food venues & Arcades & shops were wonderful. Also not to far from hotel is the Broadway venue.Will have to make another trip to see things we didn't get to see the 1st time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
elocin
Couples
Buffalo, NY, USA
Jun 27, 2012

we had bugs in our room

The first night we were there we saw a bug on the wall and killed it. The third night we were there we saw three more of the same kind of bug, one on the bed and two on the nightstand. The rest of our one week stay i was too paranoid of bugs being in the bed with me to sleep. I don't know what kind of bugs they were, but they were gross looking enough to make me not want to share a room with them. One good part of the hotel stay was that the front desk staff was all very nice and helpful. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

two blocks away from the hotel there is a piggly wiggly grocery store, so you can save money on buying some food instead of always eating out.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuff
Friends
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 26, 2012

Great Time

My friends and I had a great time! The price was awesome for this hotel! Perfect location, great staff, and the room was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cutigs81
Couples
Warner Robins, GA, USA
Jun 25, 2012

sandcastle

This hotel is old and not very clean but it is located in a good location on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Marilyn
Family
Bedford, Virginia
Jun 14, 2012

Family vacation Myrtle beach 2012

Overall the stay was good....biggest complaint I would have is the parking situation and the elevators were so slow....need more than one....had some problems getting room cleaned but they did OK after it was brought to their attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mz. H.
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jun 4, 2012

Weekend getaway

The location is great. I enjoyed my stay at the Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion. The staff was friendly and the rooms were ok. I'd go back and stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere along the strip is good!

Back to menu Return to top