$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TD TS
Business
Greenville, SC
Oct 2, 2012

Overnight Stay

The staff were wonderful! The hotel really does need some major updating, however the room was clean. The view from my room was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Land Shark's

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Jay Beach
Business
Rochester, IN
Sep 25, 2012

Well you get what you pay for!!

My wife and I took a three night vacation to Myrtle Beach. We spent 2 nights at a more expensive 4 star hotel, but the 3rd night being a Friday that hotel was double the price. So I chose to stay at a less expensive property. As the saying goes you get what you pay for. The room was dirty. I found pubes in the tub. The chairs in the room were filthy. The beds were very uncomfortable. But all in all we just wanted one more night on the beach, so that is what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Crabby Mikes buffet in Surfside Beach. Well worth the short drive, and all you can eat with crab legs for $26.99

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MissH
Business
Greensboro, NC
Sep 24, 2012

old beach hotel

Dirty carpet, no iron/board. Bugs in room. Will not stay again. Staff extemely friendly:) Location great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delaware Mama B
Business
Georgetown, DE
Sep 18, 2012

Great family fun!

The hotel itself was great - the room was clean, location wonderful, and price pretty good. The cleaning staff were lovely and very accommodating. The older gentleman (there was a young guy and middle aged guy) at the front desk Friday was disorganized and easily distracted. Woman in front of me had to repeat her name 4 times because he would ask for it then not listen for answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bettie484
Business
Raleigh
Sep 17, 2012

Roaches

I killed or drowned several roaches in kitchen and bathroom. The new frig extended 2 feet into walkway because it was too tall to fit under cabinet. Hotel needs renovations. I will not stay there again. The only good thing was entertainment at the pool (Reggae band) on Saturday afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mammy's is a good place to eat.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SanjaySharma
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Very Bad as Everything in Single Room - Kitchen, 2 Queen Beds, Very Small table and chairs

When we booked the hotel then we were very excited about the room, location and the space in the rooms that is there in the hotel websites and other booking web sites but actually there is no space in the room as Everything in Single Room - Kitchen, 2 Queen Beds, Very Small table and chairs, very very small bathroom and very small balcony. Fridge handle was broken. Kitchen and bathroom are in front of each other and no space at all. Hence I would recommend that if you are a group of more than 2 people don’t think about this hotel and also its costly and not worth it at all as far as our previous trip to Panama City beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MacaBoo
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 3, 2012

Terrible, Unclean, and Too Expensive (But on the Beach)

The hotel was horrible. The rooms smelled. The rooms were small and were dark. They only had small lamps, and only a few of those worked. They were rusted and stained. The bathroom had mildew on the ceiling and near door. What they called updated was the terrible textured beige paint and they did not remove fixtures when they did so. The paint was on lampshades and cords. Floor felt damp. AC leaked from the balcony above and apparently had the same issue. The comforters were thin and stiff... rough to the skin. The TV was about 15 years old and was 19". We requested a non smoking room and it smelled as if they sprayed heavy air freshiner and it was not a pleasant smell. So strong it burned our throats until we got use to it. There was not a hair dryer, an iron, nor a closet. Oh an NO SECURITY, all doors were unlocked and no key required at all times of day and night. Easy access to pool... even for unsupervised children. The pool had a low gate and easy handle to go in..very risky. The worst part... the Pillow Case with a BLOOD stain on it. They just gave us a new pillow and said sorry. At most I would rate this a 1.5 and the .5 and the 1 is for the ocean view and beach location. On to a positive not. The pool was ok and the View was nice. Being on the ocean was nice and the location was great. With in walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SkyWheel is awesome!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dr01420
Business
Fitchburg Ma
Aug 23, 2012

Great location but needs some work

Well for starters the hallways smelt funny, our fridge leaked water because it was off and it smelled bad and left our room smelling funny and when i reported it to the office no one came. You could feel the springs in the beds, I ordered extra pillows and they only had one avalible and I had to go get it. The tv was old and blocky, there was no hair drier the furniture was worn and one of our dresser drawers were broken. The bathrooms were not that big or inviting! it was not the best hotel experiance i had the place needs a make over, the location and pools were the nicest part of the hotel but thats about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short drive yo Broadway on the beach and right on the strip of the board walk!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennyP72
Business
New York, NY
Aug 21, 2012

Good hotel

Hotel was a little dated but great for quick getaway. Very close to the beach! Cleaning service was a little delayed in the morning. Other than that not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
peluche
Business
virginia
Aug 6, 2012

super

firsthing good personal assist quikly Ididn't wait long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top