$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delaware Mama B
Business
Georgetown, DE
Sep 18, 2012

Great family fun!

The hotel itself was great - the room was clean, location wonderful, and price pretty good. The cleaning staff were lovely and very accommodating. The older gentleman (there was a young guy and middle aged guy) at the front desk Friday was disorganized and easily distracted. Woman in front of me had to repeat her name 4 times because he would ask for it then not listen for answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bettie484
Business
Raleigh
Sep 17, 2012

Roaches

I killed or drowned several roaches in kitchen and bathroom. The new frig extended 2 feet into walkway because it was too tall to fit under cabinet. Hotel needs renovations. I will not stay there again. The only good thing was entertainment at the pool (Reggae band) on Saturday afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mammy's is a good place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SanjaySharma
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Very Bad as Everything in Single Room - Kitchen, 2 Queen Beds, Very Small table and chairs

When we booked the hotel then we were very excited about the room, location and the space in the rooms that is there in the hotel websites and other booking web sites but actually there is no space in the room as Everything in Single Room - Kitchen, 2 Queen Beds, Very Small table and chairs, very very small bathroom and very small balcony. Fridge handle was broken. Kitchen and bathroom are in front of each other and no space at all. Hence I would recommend that if you are a group of more than 2 people don’t think about this hotel and also its costly and not worth it at all as far as our previous trip to Panama City beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MacaBoo
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 3, 2012

Terrible, Unclean, and Too Expensive (But on the Beach)

The hotel was horrible. The rooms smelled. The rooms were small and were dark. They only had small lamps, and only a few of those worked. They were rusted and stained. The bathroom had mildew on the ceiling and near door. What they called updated was the terrible textured beige paint and they did not remove fixtures when they did so. The paint was on lampshades and cords. Floor felt damp. AC leaked from the balcony above and apparently had the same issue. The comforters were thin and stiff... rough to the skin. The TV was about 15 years old and was 19". We requested a non smoking room and it smelled as if they sprayed heavy air freshiner and it was not a pleasant smell. So strong it burned our throats until we got use to it. There was not a hair dryer, an iron, nor a closet. Oh an NO SECURITY, all doors were unlocked and no key required at all times of day and night. Easy access to pool... even for unsupervised children. The pool had a low gate and easy handle to go in..very risky. The worst part... the Pillow Case with a BLOOD stain on it. They just gave us a new pillow and said sorry. At most I would rate this a 1.5 and the .5 and the 1 is for the ocean view and beach location. On to a positive not. The pool was ok and the View was nice. Being on the ocean was nice and the location was great. With in walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SkyWheel is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dr01420
Business
Fitchburg Ma
Aug 23, 2012

Great location but needs some work

Well for starters the hallways smelt funny, our fridge leaked water because it was off and it smelled bad and left our room smelling funny and when i reported it to the office no one came. You could feel the springs in the beds, I ordered extra pillows and they only had one avalible and I had to go get it. The tv was old and blocky, there was no hair drier the furniture was worn and one of our dresser drawers were broken. The bathrooms were not that big or inviting! it was not the best hotel experiance i had the place needs a make over, the location and pools were the nicest part of the hotel but thats about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short drive yo Broadway on the beach and right on the strip of the board walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennyP72
Business
New York, NY
Aug 21, 2012

Good hotel

Hotel was a little dated but great for quick getaway. Very close to the beach! Cleaning service was a little delayed in the morning. Other than that not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
peluche
Business
virginia
Aug 6, 2012

super

firsthing good personal assist quikly Ididn't wait long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J.D.
Business
Raleigh
Jul 27, 2012

Wow Ridiculous

I called to book 2 rooms for 2 nights and was told i could not because they only have rooms for 3 nights not two...my response well, i only NEED two nights. theirs: "sorry, ma'am...CLICK" so because im a working adult and only have two nights to take my family on a mini vacation i cant stay here... will never try again! hope your experience is more pleasant :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TimN
Business
Cary, NC
Jul 23, 2012

3 Star is correct rating

Older hotel with average everthing EXCEPT one...The restaurant food (italian) is terrific!!! The breakfast boufet at $6.95 including coffee is also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

food (italian) is fabulous and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gmaangie
Business
OHIO
Jul 11, 2012

MOST HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Bulldoze this hotel, rebuild a new one! Fire everybody that works there for being so rude and inconsiderate, especially the housekeeping staff due to they don't know the meaning of the word clean!Our vacation was like an extremely horrible never ending nightmare!!!We wouldn't allow our dogs to stay there, let alone us being not so smart and staying the night there, we felt filthy dirty and couldn't wait to get out of there! My husband had a heart attack a month and a half ago and the elevator stopped working,he had to endure 4 flights of stairs in the heated stairwells. The hallways were hot as can be, smelled like urine and our room smelled just as bad! This hotel was like a cheap dive. We haven't had a vacation in over 20 years, and thought that this experience in Myrtle Beach at your hotel would be a wonderful one, instead I cried and wished I had never came, and my husband was extremely disappointed as well, he felt very bad, like it was his fault and I was never going to forgive him for this, blaming himself. But we were both to blame, we didn't do enough research into this hotel and we should've known better! After reading some of the reviews, in which there were a few good ones, we were giving this hotel the benefit of doubt, the pictures sure looked good, but they were probably from 20 years ago when this hotel first opened!! Well I guess we all live and learn,at least we weren't at a total loss. I spoke with the manager who refunded the rest of our money for the other days we had planned on staying and then all I got was "I'm Sorry". That's pretty bad! So we immediately packed up and headed back home a (12 Hr ride) to Ohio. We will never make this mistake again! Shame on all of you for taking advantage of people and for false advertisement!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top