$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
209 reviews
Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff... See full review

  • yulaw
  • Sep 3, 2013
married couple vacation

We have stayed at this location for 3 years straight, it is exactly what you would expect from an... See full review

  • Kimberly Tigerfan
  • Aug 19, 2014
South Beach paradise with ocean views

The Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach is suitable for singles, couples and families. The resort is just a short distance away from all of the activities that make Myrtle Beach such a special and attractive vacation spot. Over 100 golf courses are located in the area as well as a wide range of water sport venues. There are many excellent restaurants, shopping outlets and amusement parks within a short distance of the resort.  Many swimming pools, Jacuzzis, kiddies' pools, the endless river ride, beach activities, whirlpools and seasonal poolside cabanas all tempt guests to extend their vacation. Nighttime activities include dancing at the local nightclubs, and dining at restaurants such as the Sandcastle South Cafe (seasonal), and the Oceans 22 Lounge.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Condominium style suites
  • Pools and Jacuzzis for the whole family
  • Sandcastle South Cafe and Oceans 22 Lounge
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Warm, inviting and airy are just a few words that describe the guest rooms at the Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach. With its beach location, this hotel offers several different categories of rooms including an Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency Room that features two queen-size beds, a TV, a kitchen, a microwave, a stove, and a private balcony. The Executive Suite has separate sleeping and sitting areas. The amenities include two queen-sized beds, a night table, a closet, a flat screen TV, a dresser, and adequate appliances in the kitchen, including a full size refrigerator, sink and all utensils. All of the suites have kitchens with microwave ovens. The standard Oceanfront Room is equipped with a TV, a refrigerator and a microwave oven.  It also has a private balcony.

Recreation

Patrons of all ages at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach float on inner tubes in the endless river, wade in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi. A children's program staves off boredom with classes like face painting and sunglass making. Guests pull up chairs at Sandcastle South Café and the poolside cabana bar, which are open seasonally and tempt with their fresh cocktails and access to warm breezes. Oceans 22 Lounge sets the scene for oceanfront dining.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
Things To Do:
  • Pirates Watch Adventure Golf (0.6 miles/0.97 km)
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (1.3 miles/2.09 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.8 miles/2.90 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion  (2.2 miles/3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not  (2.3 miles/3.7 km)
  • Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament  (3.3 miles/5.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (3.6 miles/5.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • As of Dec. 1, the hotel will no longer offer smoking rooms as part of an effort to become a completely non-smoking resort as of Jan. 1, 2011.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6681 -78.9077
Area served
Myrtle Beach / Grand Strand Area
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency
2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony. Remodeled in 2007. This type non smoking
Executive Suite
Enter in bedroom-privacy door to kitchen, also bath and privacy door to sitting room. Bedroom has 2 queen beds, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, Stainless Steel appliances in kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils, sitting room, flat screen TV, fold out sofa, small table & chair, double wall bed, 3 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking
Hotel - Suite
C - Oceanfront Suite - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Private Balcony, Stove
Hotel - Efficiency
A - Oceanfront Efficiency - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
B - Oceanfront Room - 2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Executive King
Stainless Steel appliances in Kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils. 1 king bed, fold out couch, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, small table & chairs, 2 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Dining

Ocean's 22
On Property Lounge - Seasonal.
Cafe 22
On Property Dining - Seasonal
Cabana Bar
On property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MJ SUPPER FRIEND
MYRTLE BEACH S.C
Apr 15, 2014

NOT TO HAPPY !!!!

HAD NO AIR UNIT WAS BROKE NO EXAUSE FAN IN BATH ROOM,,,LAMP SHADEDS NASTY MATTRESS OUT OF DATE...STAFF TALKING ABOUT ONE A NOTHER IN A BAD MATTER..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winston-Salem, NC
Aug 2, 2010

very disappointed

[...]The staff was extrememly rude saying we had no reservation, and therefore we had no room. Other customers were coming to the office repeatedly for towels and sheets, and toilet paper. [...]they gave us a room. The room was dirty, hair and toothpaste in the sink, hair in the fridge, and on the stove. Tiny worms in the kitchan and bath sinks. Toenails in the carpet. And the toilet was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 14, 2007

Nightmare hotel

The hotel was old and dated as well as unclean. The hotel staff were the rudest group I have ever had the misfortune to have to deal with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kentucky
Aug 6, 2010

Unpleasant Check Out Experience

The staff urgently want us to be out of the room(upon check out) by 11am.We were already packing our things and preparing for a checkout but we can't make it by 11am,so we requested to extend for an hour.To our surprise,the staff want us out by 11,pronto!What a poor customer service they have even if you're 1 hour late check out...Sandcastle Hotel?Don't ever think on booking to this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tatyana36
Columbia, SC, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Never Again

The staff at check in-out desk were not friendly at All (morning crew 082711 and 082811). I will never stay there again. No shower curtain liner in shower. Lazy river not clean...Inside pool had too much chlorine in it....You know you put alot of chlorine in there when you have a sign saying Garmets may turn color...Swelled like a chemistry lab. On a positive note I did enjoy the Ocean Front view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Wild Water and Wheels....Lots of fun!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Would not wish this on anyone!

This hotel eoom was very bad, the blanket in the room should had been trashed months ago. The staff was fairly good, but the check in was poor. The check tried to get me booked on a tour, I explained I been on the road for 8 hours and would check later. I walked into the room and they were calling on the phone about the same thing. The carpet looked like it had never been shampoo and the room needed a good cleaning from one to the other. I will not every stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
We Just Love the Beach
Charlotte, NC
Sep 3, 2013

Great location - Needs Improvement

While the location is ideal, they have an issue with roaches. Originally assigned to room 714, upon entering and turning on the light, roaches in the kitchen area. Re-assigned to room 711, next morning, roaches in the kitchen. Will never stay at this place again. Carpet was filthy. Staff acted indifferent when we spoke to them about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jun 11, 2007

Disgusting...

It was filthy! The carpet was a dark green but looked more black and it was sticky..I had white socks on and they turned black on the bottom after just a few minutes. The room smelled bad and there were cigarette burns in the drapes and bedspread of our non-smoking room. The bedspread smelled and looked dirty so I took it off the bed to find black hairs on the pillows. And when I sat on the bed it was like the flinstones it was hard as a rock! I didn't even know a mattress like that existed. And the toilet looked dirty with brown in the bottom needing to be flushed. Ewww! The bathroom fan had about an inch or more of dust caked on it and there was black crud smeared on the wall. The tub was filthy...everything was filthy! We got in the elevator to find a large peice of half-eaten chicken in the floor. Yes chicken! And the sign to tell you which floors to go for ice etc. was duct-taped to the elevator. Also there was a pretty nasty curse word carved into the cover the goes over the numbers. If that makes sense. I never did go into the small pool but I attempted to go into one of the 2 hot tubs. They were dirty and smelled bad, even had cigarette buds floating around in them. It was a terrible experience, I actually cried. Only thing good to say is it was inexpensive with a great view of the beach. Check-in staff were friendly and it was a descent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

We did not try the restaurant in the hotel since the hotel was so dirty. There were many restaurants close by but we mostly ate at Broadway at the Beach. Senor Frog's was really good with the best Queso ever! We also ate at the Japanese Steak House there and it was excellent! I think it is named Yamato.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jul 30, 2007

Very dissapointing

I booked this hotel for a time of relaxation with my daughter before she returned back to school. Upon arrival the lobby was pretty nice, however the room i was given was a different story. The room was very outdated, very few ammenities, not even directions on how to use the phone. Antiquated A/C that made you either freeze or be too hot. The carpet was grose and we immediately took off the bedspreads as they looked dirty. The beds were like sleeping on concrete blocks. The only plus i can give it is that the sound from other rooms was not apparent, however we did listen to the constant use of the ice machine. The pools were dirty and the lazy river was taken over by out of control kids jumping in over the top of you....it was dangerous. We did not receive maid service on the first day after i had called 3x inquiring as to when they might come. Upon arriving back that night about 11 p.m., we discovered no one ever came. I complained, but got nothing but some fresh towels. All i can say is that if you stay here, don't get your expectations up. Its not at all what i consider to be a resort property and desperately needs a facelift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice to know that a cafeteria and several fast food restaraunts are only a couple of blocks away. Nice walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ccanne
Michigan
Jul 30, 2011

Rude and poor service, lousy view

When I checked in the girl gave me my room keys and told me my room #. When I asked which direction my room was once on the 3rd floor she told me simply, I don't know just park on the 3rd floor. I had been told the room had a pull out couch so I brought my nephew and niece with me but when I arrive I found it didn't have one. When I went to the desk the old woman waiting on me was the rudest I've ever encountered at any hotel I've stayed in. She kept saying I didn't ask for a pull out couch. I in turn replied I didn't ask for one because they told me it came with one, why would I ask for one. I didn't have to ask for a TV because they said it came with one, and indeed it did. Why would I ask for the pull out couch? I asked her what she could do to help resolve me with the problem and she just kept saying over and over that I didn't request a pull out couch. I requested a roll away cot and I was told they don't provide them there. I was told there was nothing they could do for me. I wanted to cancel my stay there but was told I'd be charged $240.00 if I did. I had to go purchase a blow up mattress for the kids to sleep on. The phone didn't work in the room, we had to have them come fix it. The light by the bed didn't work, I found it was unplugged. I found a womans bathing suit under the bed and a sock next to the TV stand. I stayed in room 301 and the view was blocked by the trees which were at the level of the balcony and blocked by rooms 202, 302 which stuck up about 15 foot farther than ours which completely obstructed the view to the left. There was a building to the right which obstructed the view to the right. When I went to check out I asked for a receipt and the girl simply said "no". Confused I asked again and she replied "no". I asked why I couldn't be given a receipt and another girl came over and said she was sorry, what I should have been told was because I paid for the room through [...]I would have to contact them for the receipt. Overall, I was very disappointed with my entire experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search