$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
man of God
Business
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Family Vacation`

The hotel itself was average but the location and room cleanliness was Excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining because there are so many choices. The attractions have phamplets all over the place and plus you are given a book once you check into the hotel.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OWTF
Business
Lexington, KY
Aug 2, 2011

Average Beach

Cleaning staff needed direction. Looked as though they only made beds and gave clean towels. Matress poor and dirty along with blanket between sheet and matress. Room did not match pictures [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ccanne
Business
Michigan
Jul 30, 2011

Rude and poor service, lousy view

When I checked in the girl gave me my room keys and told me my room #. When I asked which direction my room was once on the 3rd floor she told me simply, I don't know just park on the 3rd floor. I had been told the room had a pull out couch so I brought my nephew and niece with me but when I arrive I found it didn't have one. When I went to the desk the old woman waiting on me was the rudest I've ever encountered at any hotel I've stayed in. She kept saying I didn't ask for a pull out couch. I in turn replied I didn't ask for one because they told me it came with one, why would I ask for one. I didn't have to ask for a TV because they said it came with one, and indeed it did. Why would I ask for the pull out couch? I asked her what she could do to help resolve me with the problem and she just kept saying over and over that I didn't request a pull out couch. I requested a roll away cot and I was told they don't provide them there. I was told there was nothing they could do for me. I wanted to cancel my stay there but was told I'd be charged $240.00 if I did. I had to go purchase a blow up mattress for the kids to sleep on. The phone didn't work in the room, we had to have them come fix it. The light by the bed didn't work, I found it was unplugged. I found a womans bathing suit under the bed and a sock next to the TV stand. I stayed in room 301 and the view was blocked by the trees which were at the level of the balcony and blocked by rooms 202, 302 which stuck up about 15 foot farther than ours which completely obstructed the view to the left. There was a building to the right which obstructed the view to the right. When I went to check out I asked for a receipt and the girl simply said "no". Confused I asked again and she replied "no". I asked why I couldn't be given a receipt and another girl came over and said she was sorry, what I should have been told was because I paid for the room through [...]I would have to contact them for the receipt. Overall, I was very disappointed with my entire experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte nc
Jul 26, 2011

Good and bad

The hotel is very basic, no frills or extras. The room looked old, the curtains and bedspreads were fraying, the carpet almost threadbare. Some of the outlets didn't work, the beds were hard and they didn't even give you a blanket, just the sheet and thin bedspread. The elevators were extremely slow and the hallways and elevators were often dirty and littered with trash. They did not enforce any rules with the children, and there were unsupervised teens in the outside pool and hot tubs in the wee hours of the morning even though the pool supposed to close at 10. Also alcohol was openly present usually. The beach was ok and overall it was fairly quiet for the most part, but I really would not consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte north carolina
Jul 22, 2011

Would not recommend

We took a 3 night stay over the weekend at the Sandcastle - the south one. It could really use some renovation, the curtians, carpet and bedding were old and frayed. walls are very thin- you can hear other guests talking and making noise. The beach was good, and the resturant was convienent, but elevators slow, and everything just seems run down and dirty. For the price- which is not budget at all, would recommend you look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 6, 2011

average stay

Older building with older furniture, dirty carpet, tiny kitchen. It was absolutely great to have an ocean front room (all room are with ocean view!). For the price we paid I was expecting more (it ws the 4th of July weekend though). Don't think I'll come back unless the prices are twice smaller. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chevellelady
Business
Central, Michigan
Jun 24, 2011

Pictures were not of the room I got

The good: I was pleased with the location of this hotel, I perfer the south end of Mrytle beach. The north end is great during the day but way to loud for sleeping at night. Free on site parking. The front desk lady was very pleasant and helpful. No bed bugs, what a relief. The bad: The room smelled of smoke and the walls, door and light shades were covered in nicotine. The hotel claims they are smoke free.Table, desser and night stand were dirty. The light shades were also dusty. The shower curtain was dirty and ripped. The towels were thin and no longer as white as they should have been. The last time the room was painted they painted over the door hinges and electrical outlets, puts a cheap feel to the place. The hotel doors open to the outside, which I dislike, gives a motel feel. Only 3 ice machines for the whole building and only 1 of the 3 was working. Pepsi machine took my money. Hallways to room were always dirty as was the elevators. Pool side tiki bar was only open a couple of hours. I counted 10 lazy river tubes and 3 were ripped. Kids waiting for someone to give one up. The lady at the front desk said the hotel was 12 yrs old but looked to be at least 25. I would not suggest this place unless you get a really great price and dont mind the cheap motel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Jimmy buffets Margaritaville at Broadway on the Beach. Great food, drinks and entertainment. Margaritas at the outside bar a little pricy.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg, SC
Jun 14, 2011

Great room for the price

Most of the rooms have been recently updated with granite countertops, new carpet, nice furniture, and plasma TV's. The bathroom even had a little plasma TV in there too! The kitchen in the efficiency is small but very functional. The appliances were all stainless steel and the refrigerator was a good size. Be prepared to wash dishes though because there is a $50.00 fine for dishes left in the sink. The parking garage is a challenge for larger vehicles such as SUV's and trucks and only goes up to the 6th floor. However, there seems to be plenty of spaces and the garage is on-site instead of across the street. The bed was nice and comfy and the breakfast buffet is delicious (but a little pricey...about $10pp with drink). The location is a little further south on the boulevard than I prefer but it's only about 10 minutes to everything. Overall, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamston, NC
Jun 12, 2011

Wonderful stay. Loved the view.

WE used the pools, walked on the beach, went to a show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lambertville, MI
May 26, 2011

Good deal

The hotel is on South Beach so it's a little further away from the main area. However, it was clean and the staff were friendly. The only thing was that restuarants and shops were really not in walking distance. The hotel restaurant was fair. However for the price it was a great deal! Nothing like being on the beach and this it is:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top