$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bahash
Business
Taylorsville, NC, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Weekend Getaway!

My wife and I arrived Friday 10/07/11 and everything was fair with the room. Did not look like the room that Orbitz showed me, but was an ok room. Was oceanfront as all the rooms there were. The beds were very hard. Bathroom was so small that 2 people could not hardly be in there together at the same time. A group on teenagers arrived Sat morning and the trouble started from there. We were on the 7th floor and could hear them yelling from the 3rd and 4th floors most of the day and night. We asked the management to calm them, but they did not want to get involved as my wife and I did not matter money wise compared to this group. I will never stay at this place again and advise you to choose wisely! We left on Monday Oct 10th and were never so glad to be back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suri
Business
Kentucky, USA
Oct 8, 2011

very good

this is a good hotel.this is a good hotel.this is a good hotel.this is a good hotel.this is a good hotel.this is a good hotel.this is a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pennstate mom
Business
Nutley, NJ
Oct 3, 2011

Myrtle Beach Family Getaway

Great location, beautiful oceanview room, Sparkling pool and hot tubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlanta Traveler
Business
Forsyth, Georgia
Oct 2, 2011

Great Family Hotel

Older pool but clean. Clean Room. Staff was nice. Great experience. Always had towels. The hotel was very busy so getting ice was a challenge but the weekend during Labor Day was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gulf Stream Cafe. Nice dinning experience. About 12 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stretch
Business
Canada
Oct 1, 2011

Filthy

Our room was dirty and smelled like stale smoke and urine. We slept in our clothes on top of the bedding and couldn't wait to leave in the morning. We had paid for it before we arrived, otherwise we would never have stayed there!. T

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michgolfer
Business
Michigan, USA
Sep 29, 2011

nice time

we stayed an entire week, very enjoyable stay overall. the good: you can get discounts at the front desk for shows and attractions. the room was clean, except for a couple of bleach stains on the carpet. amazing oceanfront view, the attached parking garage was very nice. The morning front desk staff was more than willing to offer advice about area attractions and discounts. the bad: the afternoon and night time frontdesk staff did not offer much help, or seem to want to offer any info. they simply pointed at the rack of brochures. the resort did not offer a complimentary breakfast, you had to pay for it, which is ridiculous. i would advise to eat some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

check on prices with the hotel front desk, they generally get tickets cheaper to shows and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve011
Business
Rock Hill, S.C.
Sep 27, 2011

Good Value!

Overall, a very pleasant stay. The location is great and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't dine at the Liberty Seafood Buffet on King's Highway. It's less expensive but there's a reason for that. Very small buffet and some of the choices were not very good. We recommend the Giant Crab Seafood Buffet. The best for the price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Relaxing Getaway

Great location, perfect on the beach and beautiful view. A lot of the amenities were closed due to hurricane Irene. They were very understanding as we arrive a day late. I would recommend this for families and for relaxing getaways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Starflyt
Business
Virginia
Sep 10, 2011

A nice place to stay

We have stayed at The Sandcastle several times in the past six years, and every time has been satisfactory. The staff is courteous and friendly, the hotel is adequately clean, and the value is very good. The only problem was that we will not return on Labor Day Weekend, Myrtle Beach was full of rude people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Capt George's, the best seafood buffet in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Myrtle Beach
Business
Upstate NY
Sep 6, 2011

Had a GREAT Vacation

The hotel was clean, updated, and in a BEAUTIFUL location. The waterfalls near the lobby ramp are an excellent touch to the outside decor. The pools were crystal clear and the three jacuzzis were so relaxing! I would have hoped that some sort of breakfast would be included with the room rates, but it was only open on 2 days of our stay and was added cost. The food was delicious however. The views from the balcony were breathtaking. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pirate's Voyage is a must see! a little expensive, but worth every penny. My daughters, 9,8,3, loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top