$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
We Just Love the Beach
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 3, 2013

Great location - Needs Improvement

While the location is ideal, they have an issue with roaches. Originally assigned to room 714, upon entering and turning on the light, roaches in the kitchen area. Re-assigned to room 711, next morning, roaches in the kitchen. Will never stay at this place again. Carpet was filthy. Staff acted indifferent when we spoke to them about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Q's
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Aug 26, 2013

Anniversary getaway

The rooms were not very clean. The bathroom was even worse and the tub needed a major overhaul and cleaning. Many things needed to be repaired such as the lamps had no top to keep lampshade in place, the knob on the sliding door to outside was broken, the ice machines only worked on two floors and were rusty, many days only one to two elevators were working, the televisions are the old analog, the kitchen was horrible in that the fridge was one sided and moved when opened, the microwave needed cleaning. No pens or pencils in rooms. Had to go to front desk for a pen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Photoshootr
Business
Virginia
Aug 13, 2013

Not bad for a last minute booking

Not a bad deal, everything was pretty much as I expected for the rate received. Overall average hotel, beds weren't that comfortable, but considering we got an oceanfront room at last minute for a weekend, we didn't care much. Loved the view. Will stay again if higher quality locations are unavailable. Nothing to really complain about, well except, if you like pizza, do not order from the restaraunt. LOL However, this is a family hotel, good place for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many little eateries within walking distance, other hotels had restaraunts open to the public. The location was not in the middle of all the happenings in the area, could be a plus depending on your preference.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation mommy
Business
south carolina
Jul 2, 2013

Family Vacation

Our room wasn't very clean. We had our 2 year old and we had to clean many areas of the room that weren't clean. The floors were dirty. There was a big burnt piece of carpet in the room. The hole is black carpet and it felt awful when we stepped into it. The floor wasn't vacuumed well. The floor wasn't cleaned properly with a mop because dirt/trash was left behind. It felt like something was biting us in the room. We found long pieces of hair in certain places. The tv didn't have a tv guide so we had to go though many channels to watch something. Sometimes the tv had static. We had to get the mirror and tv cleaned the first night because they weren't cleaned properly at all. The bathroom smelled like urine. The carpet felt like it's never deep cleaned. They didn't have enough of the luggage carriers. So on our last day we had to carry everything to our car. Some of the workers were nice. Sometimes when I called the front desk they seemed like they didn't want to be there. The housekeeper was very nice but I was unhappy with the room. Long walk to attractions. Needless to say...we won't EVER stay here again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Purple One SC
Business
South Carolina
Jul 1, 2013

Ok Accommodations

The hotel staff was friendly but the hotel itself is in great need of repair. The elevators were terrible and made loud noises and the wait to get on was long. The picture you see on the website is definitely what you see in person. I really expected better. Overall, I would say it was a fair price we paid for what we received. We brought our own disinfectant for the bathroom and pillows from home so we were fine. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I love the distance to getting to restaurants and shopping spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dale89
Business
Ohio
Jun 26, 2013

Good for the price and location

Room was clean, hallways/elevators not so much. Parking garage small and turns are hard to maneuver. Arrived early and gave the hotel staff our cell number number and asked them to call when our room was ready. They never called. Only stayed one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy Boy FF
Business
Ocala, Florida
Jun 24, 2013

Great time had by all

This was a very enjoyable experience. Would go back there again (in fact we plan on it). Staff was attentive and polite the room while your average hotel room was clean and well kept. Also this was my first time utilizing your service will recommend you to anyone who travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flycuteprincess
Business
United States
Jun 18, 2013

great location for beach fun

Super friendly staff. EXCELLENT BALCONY VIEW OF OCEAN!! Nice amount of pools. Definite beach hotel only. Remote for tv was missing batteries. Near airport-$7 cab ride. Id definetly stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask front desk for bag of toiletries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IWAS
Business
MYRTLE BEACH, S.C.
Jun 18, 2013

good for family

the restaurant did no have enough staff. breakfast was not good. food was COLD. MICROWAVE WAS DIRTY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT GO TO THE RESTAURANT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daddy Travels
Business
Piedmont, North Carolina
Jun 15, 2013

Nice family vacation

Stayed at the Sandcastle before. Average Myrtle Beach resort. Nice lazy river. A larger outdoor pool would have been great. During summer vacation season, it's tough to move around the pool. Didn't have that problem when I was there in September. The indoor pool was loaded with chlorine. My eyes started burning the minute I opened the door. Overall a pleasant stay. Would probably go back for a third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top