$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
211 reviews
Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff... See full review

  • yulaw
  • Sep 3, 2013
okay!

Okay ! No continental breakfast! Did not have a good time! The other side of the street was... See full review

  • deez2butz
  • Nov 29, 2014
South Beach paradise with ocean views

The Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach is suitable for singles, couples and families. The resort is just a short distance away from all of the activities that make Myrtle Beach such a special and attractive vacation spot. Over 100 golf courses are located in the area as well as a wide range of water sport venues. There are many excellent restaurants, shopping outlets and amusement parks within a short distance of the resort.  Many swimming pools, Jacuzzis, kiddies' pools, the endless river ride, beach activities, whirlpools and seasonal poolside cabanas all tempt guests to extend their vacation. Nighttime activities include dancing at the local nightclubs, and dining at restaurants such as the Sandcastle South Cafe (seasonal), and the Oceans 22 Lounge.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Condominium style suites
  • Pools and Jacuzzis for the whole family
  • Sandcastle South Cafe and Oceans 22 Lounge
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Warm, inviting and airy are just a few words that describe the guest rooms at the Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach. With its beach location, this hotel offers several different categories of rooms including an Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency Room that features two queen-size beds, a TV, a kitchen, a microwave, a stove, and a private balcony. The Executive Suite has separate sleeping and sitting areas. The amenities include two queen-sized beds, a night table, a closet, a flat screen TV, a dresser, and adequate appliances in the kitchen, including a full size refrigerator, sink and all utensils. All of the suites have kitchens with microwave ovens. The standard Oceanfront Room is equipped with a TV, a refrigerator and a microwave oven.  It also has a private balcony.

Recreation

Patrons of all ages at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach float on inner tubes in the endless river, wade in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi. A children's program staves off boredom with classes like face painting and sunglass making. Guests pull up chairs at Sandcastle South Café and the poolside cabana bar, which are open seasonally and tempt with their fresh cocktails and access to warm breezes. Oceans 22 Lounge sets the scene for oceanfront dining.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
Things To Do:
  • Pirates Watch Adventure Golf (0.6 miles/0.97 km)
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (1.3 miles/2.09 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.8 miles/2.90 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion  (2.2 miles/3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not  (2.3 miles/3.7 km)
  • Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament  (3.3 miles/5.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (3.6 miles/5.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • As of Dec. 1, the hotel will no longer offer smoking rooms as part of an effort to become a completely non-smoking resort as of Jan. 1, 2011.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency
2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony. Remodeled in 2007. This type non smoking
Executive Suite
Enter in bedroom-privacy door to kitchen, also bath and privacy door to sitting room. Bedroom has 2 queen beds, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, Stainless Steel appliances in kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils, sitting room, flat screen TV, fold out sofa, small table & chair, double wall bed, 3 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking
Hotel - Suite
C - Oceanfront Suite - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Private Balcony, Stove
Hotel - Efficiency
A - Oceanfront Efficiency - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
B - Oceanfront Room - 2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Executive King
Stainless Steel appliances in Kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils. 1 king bed, fold out couch, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, small table & chairs, 2 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Dining

Ocean's 22
On Property Lounge - Seasonal.
Cafe 22
On Property Dining - Seasonal
Cabana Bar
On property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikes2679
Business
King, nc
Mar 18, 2014

Great stay

Other than the weather, everything else was great. They let me check in early and had no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Patricks trailer park aka myrtle manor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well Rested Mommy
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Mar 4, 2014

Great getaway

My hotel stay was pleasnt. The heat didnt work the first night. They offered to move me to another roombut i declined. They fixed it the following morning. The hotel staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shiver me Pinchers
Business
Rhode Island
Feb 3, 2014

Very accommodating

Good location, staff was very nice to deal with. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tay and Ky
Business
south carolina
Jan 29, 2014

our winter stay

The staff were good to deal with, and the pools seemed clean. The room was in order and they kept clean towels in there. Online it said the room we had was updated in 2007, it seemed to me that it was time to do that again... We never saw online where the lounge would be closed during off season. So it was a let downsince that was a reason we booked there. There was also a loud group of kids in the pool from a whole different hotel. All in all we would probably stay there again, but those were our disappointments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rbodiker
Business
Ohio
Jan 25, 2014

Off-Season Stay

Stayed for three nights mid-week. It was very empty yet they still placed me ocean side for no extra charge. Loved the view even if it was too cold to enjoy the balcony. No breakfast options (nor a continental breakfast) though that is certainly not a deal breaker. All room amenities were average for a mid-grade hotel. Not stellar, but clean and furnished and those are two of the most important considerations in my opinion. Location is central in the Myrtle Beach area so everything that Ocean Blvd. and King's Hwy had to offer were never very far. In warm weather, it is a beautiful, active location in which you could walk to many family friendly activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Book online and registration is super fast. I've been to many hotels and that was the fastest registration I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CliffSfromWV
Business
Charleston WV
Jan 14, 2014

Would have been ok review but........

Fire alarm went off the first morning we were there at 5:30, 6:10 and 6:25AM. We spoke to a employee and he stated that it has been an ongoing issue the last few weeks due to moisture. The alarm went off a few more times during the stay. Would have been nice to have been warned when we checked in, instead we had the pleasure of being scared early the next morning and getting to walk down 8 flights of stairs that were wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yulaw
Business
South Caroina
Sep 3, 2013

Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff was courteous. Definitely will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
We Just Love the Beach
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 3, 2013

Great location - Needs Improvement

While the location is ideal, they have an issue with roaches. Originally assigned to room 714, upon entering and turning on the light, roaches in the kitchen area. Re-assigned to room 711, next morning, roaches in the kitchen. Will never stay at this place again. Carpet was filthy. Staff acted indifferent when we spoke to them about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Q's
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Aug 26, 2013

Anniversary getaway

The rooms were not very clean. The bathroom was even worse and the tub needed a major overhaul and cleaning. Many things needed to be repaired such as the lamps had no top to keep lampshade in place, the knob on the sliding door to outside was broken, the ice machines only worked on two floors and were rusty, many days only one to two elevators were working, the televisions are the old analog, the kitchen was horrible in that the fridge was one sided and moved when opened, the microwave needed cleaning. No pens or pencils in rooms. Had to go to front desk for a pen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Photoshootr
Business
Virginia
Aug 13, 2013

Not bad for a last minute booking

Not a bad deal, everything was pretty much as I expected for the rate received. Overall average hotel, beds weren't that comfortable, but considering we got an oceanfront room at last minute for a weekend, we didn't care much. Loved the view. Will stay again if higher quality locations are unavailable. Nothing to really complain about, well except, if you like pizza, do not order from the restaraunt. LOL However, this is a family hotel, good place for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many little eateries within walking distance, other hotels had restaraunts open to the public. The location was not in the middle of all the happenings in the area, could be a plus depending on your preference.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top