$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Aug 23, 2009

Good value!

When we arrived, they had given us the wrong type of room from what the picture showed on Orbitz Web. All we had to do is tell them at the front desk, and they took care of it right away. They even upgraded us!! The staff worked hard everyday to keep the place clean and did a great job! Having the kitchen was a big plus too! I will visit this hotel again! It worked great for the 6 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
Aug 20, 2009

Very good...relaxing and convenient

Check in was at first not pleasant as my room wasn't ready after getting off a long plane ride. I waited a few hours but found relaxation and some good food in hotel restaurant. The rooms were gorgeous; offering oceanfront accom and waking up to the sound of the surf and steps on white sands made my trip extra enjoyable not to mention my fabulous tan! The best part of trip was the sunsets and all the activities all in one place...within a a 10 minute drive of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portsmouth, ri
Aug 20, 2009

family friendly oceanfront

Great hotel for families. Pools, lazy river, beach right outside the door. Rooms clean but slightly dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in Market Commons far superior than many of the chain restaurants. Short drive from hotel and less conjested

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
upstate sc
Aug 16, 2009

buying cheap and getting cheap

went there for weekend holiday before school for the kids. the room was supposed to be smoke free but one could not avoid the strong odor of cigarette smoke once we opened the door. the room itself was generally neat and clean. however, it appeared quite worn and in need of updating. the check-in process itself was a breeze. parking was excellent but an occasional person was loitering in the parking deck. the lazy river was good as was beach access but a lot of the guests were rowdy, prompting us to "evacuate" the pool rather early twice. we could not find a "do not disturb" sign to hang outside the door so one morning we were quite surprised by housekeeping entering without even knocking or serving notice. check out was also a breeze. many nearby restaurants was a plus. in summary, i would not return to that resort. it is, however, a cheap place for a beach front hotel and is generally clean if you can stand the smell of cigarette smoke for a supposedly "smoke free" room. if you can stomach that and the sometimes rowdy guests then it probably is a good value. this is a true case of getting what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kissimmee, Fl
Aug 4, 2009

Nice vacation

Overall a nice hotel, with a wonderfull pool area and beach. Pool side cabana bar was very convient, but missing music (live or just radio), which some other hotels had. Room was nice but a little on the small side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MT Sidney, VA
Jul 27, 2009

A++++

great place/kids love the pools & lazy river

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If not a people person not recommended/great for family.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bodie Family
Business
Ninety Six SC
Jul 26, 2009

wonderful week-end @ Myrtle Beach SC

We had a wonderful time! Everyone was helpful at the hotel. Rooms were clean and roomy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
king_of_none
Business
sc
Jul 20, 2009

Was a good place to relax!

Just not the cleanest place as far as the facilities as I would like!There was a dirty bandaid on the chair back (a blind person could see) that was not just looked over!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tonya4u
Business
gaffney sc
Jul 20, 2009

relaxing getaway

our stay was relaxing, enjoyed ourselves... i was just looking for a fitness room that they didn't have but over all i enjoyed it.. compared to other trips, our hotel on this trip was soooo clean...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jul 7, 2009

4th of July Trip

Hotel was very crowded (but...it was the 4th of July Week!!). Room was clean and well maintained. The pool was often overly full. But, the lazy river seemed to have room most of the time (the lazy river is in a shaded area). Large beach. Overall pleasant experience. For the price, a nice hotel. Would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining early has huge advantages. Not only is the cost often lower, the waiting lines were often very long if we didn't go out to eat before 5:30pm.

Back to menu Return to top