$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Oct 14, 2010

Great Weekend

We went to the beach and programs at the Conference Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro,NC
Oct 12, 2010

excellent accomodations!!!

Very clean rooms and the staff was efficient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chief and Spirit
Business
Pikeville, NC
Oct 5, 2010

Great hotel!

Usually me and my husband are die-hard campers and would never consider staying in a hotel but this trip we decided to give it a try. I found this hotel online and after reading the reviews we thought we would stay there. I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised.The staff was very nice, the room was very clean and we had no problems getting extra towels. The only thing I would recommend would be if you are going there to be sure to take extra coffee, if you want more than two cups, and condiments if you use the kitchen because they don't supply that in the kitchen. We really enjoyed our stay there and are planning on staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I have to say that if you want a wonderful place to eat try Damon's which is located 9 blocks from the hotel. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner, and are open late. The food is excellent and the staff is very friendly. The prices are reasonable and you get a wonderful ocean view while you eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N.J.
Oct 5, 2010

Quiet location. Mediocre cleaning

Off season - Oct 1 - that area of Myrtle Beach has nothing open. Buses do run to take you to Mrytle Beach North. No towel availability for the ocean or pools. Sand chairs are locked on beach without access. As a 1 night stay it was OK. 10 minutes to the airport - a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus in off season to get to any open stores, restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Oct 4, 2010

"family getaway"

I was able to get some much needed rest while the other family members enjoyed the pool/beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hollywoodgirl
Business
hollywood
Oct 4, 2010

You get what you pay for.

the employees were EXTREMELY friendly. we asked for a renovated room based on previous comments. if we did get a renovated room i would hate to see what a not renovated room looked like. the room had a funny smell to it. however, the suite fair in size with a full kitchen and was ocean front. for the money we paid, we couldn't expect much more. if you stay there knowing its not a fancy place then its great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, ga
Oct 2, 2010

Great for getaway

Room as a king suite....kitchen was small especially the sink, but we did not cook so it was not big deal. Had some bad weather and rain was blown under the windows and they came in first thing the next morning and cleaned it up. Left my camera in the room when we checked out and they did not find it, but let me go back to the room and i was able to locate it, which was GREAT~!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster SC
Sep 30, 2010

Clean nice room, very reasonable price.

We were there for a weekend getaway as a couple! Everything was perfect including the weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dedad-Carter
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 27, 2010

Better Than Expected

It was definitely better than expected! Very clean rooms, parking was great, there is a deck right there attached to the hotel. Checking in was super fast and easy--we got an oceanfront efficiency on the 14th floor, with a great view. The pools were nice and clean and there was someone out there cleaning them every morning. Poolside bar opened up on the weekends. The room was a little musty because the air wasn't on right when we got there, so we just got some air fresheners from the store and it was alot better once we got some air going in there. The kitchen was just enough, the fridge was big enough for all of our stuff. The beds were comfy, we had two queens...nice because we had company come down towards the end of our trip. Wish there would have been a gym, and wireless but it wasn't something we just had to have. TV was dated, but got pretty good channels. No DVD player. Cleaning ladies were nice, and came every morning about mid-morning. Was in a nice location, close to alot of good restaurants. There was a cafe in the hotel but we didn't try it because it was only open until 11am, and we're late wakers. No complaints really, just an average couple with low expectations, and we were pleasantly surprised we found a nice/cheap hotel in a quieter part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your money on places that aren't good! Best places to eat for your money: 1.)River City Cafe $-10/person 2.)Dirty Don's Oyster Bar $10/person 3.)Yamato-Japanese Restaraunt $$ - $20/person 4.)Original Benjamin's Seafood Buffett $$$-$30/person 5.)Drunken Jacks $$$ -$30/person

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sc
Sep 27, 2010

not very happy

This was probably the worse hotel I have stayed in so far. The bed was hard and pillows were awful. The place looked old and dirty. The floor was wet from a broken air conditioner and the hotel did not send someone to fix it until the next day. Needless to say the place smelled like mildew. I am disappointed. Worse yet, one of the staff members spoke about one of my family members in a very demeaning way within ear shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top