Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
341 reviews
Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff... See full review

  • yulaw
  • Sep 3, 2013
Stay for scsdc

Cold But had a Good stay .We Park next to room,had a good experience See full review

  • wfrdal
  • Jan 29, 2013
South Beach paradise with ocean views

The Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach is suitable for singles, couples and families. The resort is just a short distance away from all of the activities that make Myrtle Beach such a special and attractive vacation spot. Over 100 golf courses are located in the area as well as a wide range of water sport venues. There are many excellent restaurants, shopping outlets and amusement parks within a short distance of the resort.  Many swimming pools, Jacuzzis, kiddies' pools, the endless river ride, beach activities, whirlpools and seasonal poolside cabanas all tempt guests to extend their vacation. Nighttime activities include dancing at the local nightclubs, and dining at restaurants such as the Sandcastle South Cafe (seasonal), and the Oceans 22 Lounge.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Condominium style suites
  • Pools and Jacuzzis for the whole family
  • Sandcastle South Cafe and Oceans 22 Lounge
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Warm, inviting and airy are just a few words that describe the guest rooms at the Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach. With its beach location, this hotel offers several different categories of rooms including an Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency Room that features two queen-size beds, a TV, a kitchen, a microwave, a stove, and a private balcony. The Executive Suite has separate sleeping and sitting areas. The amenities include two queen-sized beds, a night table, a closet, a flat screen TV, a dresser, and adequate appliances in the kitchen, including a full size refrigerator, sink and all utensils. All of the suites have kitchens with microwave ovens. The standard Oceanfront Room is equipped with a TV, a refrigerator and a microwave oven.  It also has a private balcony.

Recreation

Patrons of all ages at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach float on inner tubes in the endless river, wade in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi. A children's program staves off boredom with classes like face painting and sunglass making. Guests pull up chairs at Sandcastle South Café and the poolside cabana bar, which are open seasonally and tempt with their fresh cocktails and access to warm breezes. Oceans 22 Lounge sets the scene for oceanfront dining.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
Things To Do:
  • Pirates Watch Adventure Golf (0.6 miles/0.97 km)
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (1.3 miles/2.09 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.8 miles/2.90 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion  (2.2 miles/3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not  (2.3 miles/3.7 km)
  • Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament  (3.3 miles/5.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (3.6 miles/5.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • As of Dec. 1, the hotel will no longer offer smoking rooms as part of an effort to become a completely non-smoking resort as of Jan. 1, 2011.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency
2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony. Remodeled in 2007. This type non smoking
Executive Suite
Enter in bedroom-privacy door to kitchen, also bath and privacy door to sitting room. Bedroom has 2 queen beds, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, Stainless Steel appliances in kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils, sitting room, flat screen TV, fold out sofa, small table & chair, double wall bed, 3 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking
Hotel - Suite
C - Oceanfront Suite - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Private Balcony, Stove
Hotel - Efficiency
A - Oceanfront Efficiency - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
B - Oceanfront Room - 2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Executive King
Stainless Steel appliances in Kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils. 1 king bed, fold out couch, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, small table & chairs, 2 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

33.6681 -78.9077
Area served
Myrtle Beach / Grand Strand Area
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Dining

Ocean's 22
On Property Lounge - Seasonal.
Cafe 22
On Property Dining - Seasonal
Cabana Bar
On property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (341)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
341 out of 341
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte nc
Jul 26, 2011

Good and bad

The hotel is very basic, no frills or extras. The room looked old, the curtains and bedspreads were fraying, the carpet almost threadbare. Some of the outlets didn't work, the beds were hard and they didn't even give you a blanket, just the sheet and thin bedspread. The elevators were extremely slow and the hallways and elevators were often dirty and littered with trash. They did not enforce any rules with the children, and there were unsupervised teens in the outside pool and hot tubs in the wee hours of the morning even though the pool supposed to close at 10. Also alcohol was openly present usually. The beach was ok and overall it was fairly quiet for the most part, but I really would not consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte nc
Jul 26, 2011

Good and bad

The hotel is very basic, no frills or extras. The room looked old, the curtains and bedspreads were fraying, the carpet almost threadbare. Some of the outlets didn't work, the beds were hard and they didn't even give you a blanket, just the sheet and thin bedspread. The elevators were extremely slow and the hallways and elevators were often dirty and littered with trash. They did not enforce any rules with the children, and there were unsupervised teens in the outside pool and hot tubs in the wee hours of the morning even though the pool supposed to close at 10. Also alcohol was openly present usually. The beach was ok and overall it was fairly quiet for the most part, but I really would not consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte north carolina
Jul 22, 2011

Would not recommend

We took a 3 night stay over the weekend at the Sandcastle - the south one. It could really use some renovation, the curtians, carpet and bedding were old and frayed. walls are very thin- you can hear other guests talking and making noise. The beach was good, and the resturant was convienent, but elevators slow, and everything just seems run down and dirty. For the price- which is not budget at all, would recommend you look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte north carolina
Jul 22, 2011

Would not recommend

We took a 3 night stay over the weekend at the Sandcastle - the south one. It could really use some renovation, the curtians, carpet and bedding were old and frayed. walls are very thin- you can hear other guests talking and making noise. The beach was good, and the resturant was convienent, but elevators slow, and everything just seems run down and dirty. For the price- which is not budget at all, would recommend you look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brownstown, MI
Jul 19, 2011

Dream Turned Nightmare

We looked for a beachfront hotel with activities for our children and thought we found what we wanted at Sandcastle. From the street, the hotel looked promising. However looks were definitely decieving! [...] Once I went to see what the room condition was, I was very disappointed with the cleanliness and freshness of the suite. There was peeling paint, dirty bath surrounds and carpet, Dingy bed linens and stained furniture. Needless to say we got our money back and ran like the wind! I would never recommend anyone stays in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jul 6, 2011

average stay

Older building with older furniture, dirty carpet, tiny kitchen. It was absolutely great to have an ocean front room (all room are with ocean view!). For the price we paid I was expecting more (it ws the 4th of July weekend though). Don't think I'll come back unless the prices are twice smaller. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jul 6, 2011

average stay

Older building with older furniture, dirty carpet, tiny kitchen. It was absolutely great to have an ocean front room (all room are with ocean view!). For the price we paid I was expecting more (it ws the 4th of July weekend though). Don't think I'll come back unless the prices are twice smaller. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chevellelady
Central, Michigan
Jun 24, 2011

Pictures were not of the room I got

The good: I was pleased with the location of this hotel, I perfer the south end of Mrytle beach. The north end is great during the day but way to loud for sleeping at night. Free on site parking. The front desk lady was very pleasant and helpful. No bed bugs, what a relief. The bad: The room smelled of smoke and the walls, door and light shades were covered in nicotine. The hotel claims they are smoke free.Table, desser and night stand were dirty. The light shades were also dusty. The shower curtain was dirty and ripped. The towels were thin and no longer as white as they should have been. The last time the room was painted they painted over the door hinges and electrical outlets, puts a cheap feel to the place. The hotel doors open to the outside, which I dislike, gives a motel feel. Only 3 ice machines for the whole building and only 1 of the 3 was working. Pepsi machine took my money. Hallways to room were always dirty as was the elevators. Pool side tiki bar was only open a couple of hours. I counted 10 lazy river tubes and 3 were ripped. Kids waiting for someone to give one up. The lady at the front desk said the hotel was 12 yrs old but looked to be at least 25. I would not suggest this place unless you get a really great price and dont mind the cheap motel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Jimmy buffets Margaritaville at Broadway on the Beach. Great food, drinks and entertainment. Margaritas at the outside bar a little pricy.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chevellelady
Central, Michigan
Jun 24, 2011

Pictures were not of the room I got

The good: I was pleased with the location of this hotel, I perfer the south end of Mrytle beach. The north end is great during the day but way to loud for sleeping at night. Free on site parking. The front desk lady was very pleasant and helpful. No bed bugs, what a relief. The bad: The room smelled of smoke and the walls, door and light shades were covered in nicotine. The hotel claims they are smoke free.Table, desser and night stand were dirty. The light shades were also dusty. The shower curtain was dirty and ripped. The towels were thin and no longer as white as they should have been. The last time the room was painted they painted over the door hinges and electrical outlets, puts a cheap feel to the place. The hotel doors open to the outside, which I dislike, gives a motel feel. Only 3 ice machines for the whole building and only 1 of the 3 was working. Pepsi machine took my money. Hallways to room were always dirty as was the elevators. Pool side tiki bar was only open a couple of hours. I counted 10 lazy river tubes and 3 were ripped. Kids waiting for someone to give one up. The lady at the front desk said the hotel was 12 yrs old but looked to be at least 25. I would not suggest this place unless you get a really great price and dont mind the cheap motel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Jimmy buffets Margaritaville at Broadway on the Beach. Great food, drinks and entertainment. Margaritas at the outside bar a little pricy.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spartanburg, SC
Jun 14, 2011

Great room for the price

Most of the rooms have been recently updated with granite countertops, new carpet, nice furniture, and plasma TV's. The bathroom even had a little plasma TV in there too! The kitchen in the efficiency is small but very functional. The appliances were all stainless steel and the refrigerator was a good size. Be prepared to wash dishes though because there is a $50.00 fine for dishes left in the sink. The parking garage is a challenge for larger vehicles such as SUV's and trucks and only goes up to the 6th floor. However, there seems to be plenty of spaces and the garage is on-site instead of across the street. The bed was nice and comfy and the breakfast buffet is delicious (but a little pricey...about $10pp with drink). The location is a little further south on the boulevard than I prefer but it's only about 10 minutes to everything. Overall, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top