$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
209 reviews
Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff... See full review

  • yulaw
  • Sep 3, 2013
married couple vacation

We have stayed at this location for 3 years straight, it is exactly what you would expect from an... See full review

  • Kimberly Tigerfan
  • Aug 19, 2014
South Beach paradise with ocean views

The Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach is suitable for singles, couples and families. The resort is just a short distance away from all of the activities that make Myrtle Beach such a special and attractive vacation spot. Over 100 golf courses are located in the area as well as a wide range of water sport venues. There are many excellent restaurants, shopping outlets and amusement parks within a short distance of the resort.  Many swimming pools, Jacuzzis, kiddies' pools, the endless river ride, beach activities, whirlpools and seasonal poolside cabanas all tempt guests to extend their vacation. Nighttime activities include dancing at the local nightclubs, and dining at restaurants such as the Sandcastle South Cafe (seasonal), and the Oceans 22 Lounge.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Condominium style suites
  • Pools and Jacuzzis for the whole family
  • Sandcastle South Cafe and Oceans 22 Lounge
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Warm, inviting and airy are just a few words that describe the guest rooms at the Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach. With its beach location, this hotel offers several different categories of rooms including an Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency Room that features two queen-size beds, a TV, a kitchen, a microwave, a stove, and a private balcony. The Executive Suite has separate sleeping and sitting areas. The amenities include two queen-sized beds, a night table, a closet, a flat screen TV, a dresser, and adequate appliances in the kitchen, including a full size refrigerator, sink and all utensils. All of the suites have kitchens with microwave ovens. The standard Oceanfront Room is equipped with a TV, a refrigerator and a microwave oven.  It also has a private balcony.

Recreation

Patrons of all ages at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach float on inner tubes in the endless river, wade in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi. A children's program staves off boredom with classes like face painting and sunglass making. Guests pull up chairs at Sandcastle South Café and the poolside cabana bar, which are open seasonally and tempt with their fresh cocktails and access to warm breezes. Oceans 22 Lounge sets the scene for oceanfront dining.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
Things To Do:
  • Pirates Watch Adventure Golf (0.6 miles/0.97 km)
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (1.3 miles/2.09 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.8 miles/2.90 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion  (2.2 miles/3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not  (2.3 miles/3.7 km)
  • Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament  (3.3 miles/5.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (3.6 miles/5.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • As of Dec. 1, the hotel will no longer offer smoking rooms as part of an effort to become a completely non-smoking resort as of Jan. 1, 2011.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6681 -78.9077
Area served
Myrtle Beach / Grand Strand Area
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency
2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony. Remodeled in 2007. This type non smoking
Executive Suite
Enter in bedroom-privacy door to kitchen, also bath and privacy door to sitting room. Bedroom has 2 queen beds, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, Stainless Steel appliances in kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils, sitting room, flat screen TV, fold out sofa, small table & chair, double wall bed, 3 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking
Hotel - Suite
C - Oceanfront Suite - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Private Balcony, Stove
Hotel - Efficiency
A - Oceanfront Efficiency - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
B - Oceanfront Room - 2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Executive King
Stainless Steel appliances in Kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils. 1 king bed, fold out couch, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, small table & chairs, 2 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Dining

Ocean's 22
On Property Lounge - Seasonal.
Cafe 22
On Property Dining - Seasonal
Cabana Bar
On property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Christiansburg, Va
May 10, 2011

da bomb

The staff was courteous and helpful. The place was spotless. The pools and hot tub temps were divine. Made for a great getaway....can't wait to do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger Outlet Mall Bring your credit card

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
durham,North Carolina
May 8, 2011

fabulous get away

We swam and enjoyed the amneties.We wished that the hotel would provide beach towels but for the most part our stay was enjoyable.The daily room service was excellent and the room was clean.We had a great ocean view. This trip was fantastic like the previous trips we took.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, New York
Apr 26, 2011

Good time, not what we expceted!

We went for a week before Easter, it was a good vacation and the hotel was good too. However, when we viewed the room on the internet we thought that we were getting a separate bedroom/living room. When we got there we were in one room: kitchen/ bedroom with no separation or living room. It was difficult because my kids can not go to sleep with TV on. Had to go outside while they fell asleep. Check into exactly what room you are getting before you book. The outdoor pool/hot tubs were great. The indoor pool and hot tubs were over chlorinated and it was difficult to use at night due to the smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to a great resturant: Angelo's. The steak was great and had great early bird prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte NC
Apr 17, 2011

Good hotel for great price

The hotel was great, however we stayed the weekend of April 15th so it was pretty chilly while we were there and couldn't enjoy much of the outdoor amenities other than the jacuzzi. Great location and beautiful view from the balcony. I've stayed here previously with my family about 8 or 9 years ago and was impressed with the upkeep it was still in great condition. We did have to wait awhile at the front desk to check in...person at front desk was on the phone for a good 5-10 min while us and another couple waited to check in. The only other complaint would be the restaurant closed at 11am? which seemed like a weird time being it's right during lunch we were starving and wanted a quick bite to eat while laying on the beach. Other than that our room was very clean and we were able to make breakfast and lunch in our room and go out for dinners...saved a lot of money. We did go during off season so our room price was very good, I happily have no serious complaints and recommend this hotel to others...me and my boyfriend are already talking about coming to stay again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't have any really helpful hints other than saving money by making breakfast in the room, love having the kitchen in there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lex.,SC
Apr 13, 2011

up in smoke,almost

nice view of the ocean,room was clean,hard beds,good location,but the fire alarm on our floor was not working. There was a fire in the laundry room and an employee of the hotel had to beat on our door to let us know. Hope they get it repaired soon. PS:We nearly had to beg for extra blankets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
dayton, Ohio
Apr 13, 2011

What The Heck..

the room smelled like mildew,the sheet had a hole and the pillowcase had makeup on it.. couldnt get any extra pillows..the front desk was not friendly, after 2pm had to take my own dirty towels to the front desk to exchange for more,the lazy river was under the hotel in the garage,it was always cold because it wasnt in the sun..same for the hot tubs..the only thing bearable was we had a nice housekeeper,[...]!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

took helicopter ride! awesome..recommend it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K.Smith
Charlottesville, Va.
Apr 12, 2011

Spring Break 11

This was a pleasant experience. The hotel staff were mostly polite and helpful, the rooms were clean although a little outdated. The kids really enjoyed the option of an indoor and outdoor pool since it was still to cold to go swimming in the ocean. The location was fairly convenient, only a short drive to the boardwalk and Family Kingdom amusement park. Only issue I had was the bathrooms were not stocked with shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste etc. Had to go ask at the desk for them each day. Parking garage was attached to the hotel so we did not have to carry luggage across a busy street. Overall I was fairly satisfied for the price as this was a last minute reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
High Point NC
Apr 11, 2011

Sandcastle resort

The rooms are too small for two people. We found ourselves walking all over each other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LeslieandFaye
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 10, 2011

Disappointing Stay

Upon arrival we were told there had just been a couple in our room, but "they weren't in it long, so it shouldn't be too messed up." There was urin in our toilet and mascara stains on our pillows. There was a terrible mildew smell in the bathroom and the fridge was old and dirty. We had to go buy candles to make the room smell better because it had an old musty odor to it. The toilet ran all night keeping us awake. We had to bring down our wet towels to the front desk in order to get some new ones. We were told that housekeeping leaves at 2:00...apparently customer service ends at that time too. We had to request toilet paper on two separate occasions. The girl at the front desk was really rude. The lazy river is actually in the parking garage and was dirty...it needed a paint job. If the room wasn't already paid for, we would have left and paid to stay in another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LeslieandFaye
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 10, 2011

Disappointing Stay

Upon arrival we were told there had just been a couple in our room, but "they weren't in it long, so it shouldn't be too messed up." There was urin in our toilet and mascara stains on our pillows. There was a terrible mildew smell in the bathroom and the fridge was old and dirty. We had to go buy candles to make the room smell better because it had an old musty odor to it. The toilet ran all night keeping us awake. We had to bring down our wet towels to the front desk in order to get some new ones. We were told that housekeeping leaves at 2:00...apparently customer service ends at that time too. We had to request toilet paper on two separate occasions. The girl at the front desk was really rude. The lazy river is actually in the parking garage and was dirty...it needed a paint job. If the room wasn't already paid for, we would have left and paid to stay in another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search