$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wfrdal
simpsonville,sc
Jan 29, 2013

Stay for scsdc

Cold But had a Good stay .We Park next to room,had a good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brownstown, MI
Jul 19, 2011

Dream Turned Nightmare

We looked for a beachfront hotel with activities for our children and thought we found what we wanted at Sandcastle. From the street, the hotel looked promising. However looks were definitely decieving! [...] Once I went to see what the room condition was, I was very disappointed with the cleanliness and freshness of the suite. There was peeling paint, dirty bath surrounds and carpet, Dingy bed linens and stained furniture. Needless to say we got our money back and ran like the wind! I would never recommend anyone stays in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 6, 2011

average stay

Older building with older furniture, dirty carpet, tiny kitchen. It was absolutely great to have an ocean front room (all room are with ocean view!). For the price we paid I was expecting more (it ws the 4th of July weekend though). Don't think I'll come back unless the prices are twice smaller. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chevellelady
Business
Central, Michigan
Jun 24, 2011

Pictures were not of the room I got

The good: I was pleased with the location of this hotel, I perfer the south end of Mrytle beach. The north end is great during the day but way to loud for sleeping at night. Free on site parking. The front desk lady was very pleasant and helpful. No bed bugs, what a relief. The bad: The room smelled of smoke and the walls, door and light shades were covered in nicotine. The hotel claims they are smoke free.Table, desser and night stand were dirty. The light shades were also dusty. The shower curtain was dirty and ripped. The towels were thin and no longer as white as they should have been. The last time the room was painted they painted over the door hinges and electrical outlets, puts a cheap feel to the place. The hotel doors open to the outside, which I dislike, gives a motel feel. Only 3 ice machines for the whole building and only 1 of the 3 was working. Pepsi machine took my money. Hallways to room were always dirty as was the elevators. Pool side tiki bar was only open a couple of hours. I counted 10 lazy river tubes and 3 were ripped. Kids waiting for someone to give one up. The lady at the front desk said the hotel was 12 yrs old but looked to be at least 25. I would not suggest this place unless you get a really great price and dont mind the cheap motel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Jimmy buffets Margaritaville at Broadway on the Beach. Great food, drinks and entertainment. Margaritas at the outside bar a little pricy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg, SC
Jun 14, 2011

Great room for the price

Most of the rooms have been recently updated with granite countertops, new carpet, nice furniture, and plasma TV's. The bathroom even had a little plasma TV in there too! The kitchen in the efficiency is small but very functional. The appliances were all stainless steel and the refrigerator was a good size. Be prepared to wash dishes though because there is a $50.00 fine for dishes left in the sink. The parking garage is a challenge for larger vehicles such as SUV's and trucks and only goes up to the 6th floor. However, there seems to be plenty of spaces and the garage is on-site instead of across the street. The bed was nice and comfy and the breakfast buffet is delicious (but a little pricey...about $10pp with drink). The location is a little further south on the boulevard than I prefer but it's only about 10 minutes to everything. Overall, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamston, NC
Jun 12, 2011

Wonderful stay. Loved the view.

WE used the pools, walked on the beach, went to a show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lambertville, MI
May 26, 2011

Good deal

The hotel is on South Beach so it's a little further away from the main area. However, it was clean and the staff were friendly. The only thing was that restuarants and shops were really not in walking distance. The hotel restaurant was fair. However for the price it was a great deal! Nothing like being on the beach and this it is:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harleyville SC
May 19, 2011

it was a great getaway!

the stay was great. the rooms are all on the ocean front it was right on the beach very nice stay. everyone was nice. thanks for a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drewc577
Business
Albemarle, NC
May 16, 2011

Great hotel for a GREAT Price

The hotel was great, as always. [...]Booked it online, printed confirmation, checked in at the hotel and the vacation began. Not 1 hold up or delay checking in! And the best part [...]saved us $160 on the room!!! Will def be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Noizy Oyster on Kings HWY, AWESOME crab legs, and steamed oysters. The owners are from Maryland, so you know they know seafood!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Christiansburg, Va
May 10, 2011

da bomb

The staff was courteous and helpful. The place was spotless. The pools and hot tub temps were divine. Made for a great getaway....can't wait to do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger Outlet Mall Bring your credit card

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
durham,North Carolina
May 8, 2011

fabulous get away

We swam and enjoyed the amneties.We wished that the hotel would provide beach towels but for the most part our stay was enjoyable.The daily room service was excellent and the room was clean.We had a great ocean view. This trip was fantastic like the previous trips we took.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top