Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
208 reviews
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort

Just ok. Able to relax. Family enjoyed the pools, the free DVD and putt-putt. The bathroom left a... See full review

  • Coupon Lady
  • Aug 18, 2015
Good for the money

Stayed here at a colder time of the season. A lot of things closed down in the area. Outdoor heated... See full review

  • Andrew S.
  • Aug 4, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach is suitable for singles, couples and families. The resort is just a short distance away from all of the activities that make Myrtle Beach such a special and attractive vacation spot. Over 100 golf courses are located in the area as well as a wide range of water sport venues. There are many excellent restaurants, shopping outlets and amusement parks within a short distance of the resort.  Indoor and outdoor pool, Jacuzzis, kiddies' pools, the endless river ride, beach activities, whirlpools and seasonal poolside cabanas all tempt guests to extend their vacation. Nighttime activities include dancing at the local nightclubs, and dining at restaurants such as the Sandcastle South Cafe (seasonal), and the Oceans 22 Lounge.

Rooms

Warm, inviting and airy are just a few words that describe the guest rooms at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach. With its beach location, this hotel offers several different categories of rooms including an Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency Room that features two queen-size beds, a TV, a kitchen, a microwave, a stove, and a private balcony. The Executive Suite has separate sleeping and sitting areas. The amenities include two queen-sized beds, a night table, a closet, a flat screen TV, a dresser, and adequate appliances in the kitchen, including a full size refrigerator, sink and all utensils. All of the suites have kitchens with microwave ovens. The standard Oceanfront Room is equipped with a TV, a refrigerator and a microwave oven.  It also has a private balcony.

Highlights
  • Condominium style suites
  • Pools and Jacuzzis for the whole family
  • Sandcastle South Cafe and Oceans 22 Lounge
Nearby attractions
  • Pirates Watch Adventure Golf (0.6 miles/0.97 km)
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (1.3 miles/2.09 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.8 miles/2.90 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion  (2.2 miles/3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not  (2.3 miles/3.7 km)
  • Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament  (3.3 miles/5.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (3.6 miles/5.8 km)
Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
Recreation

Patrons of all ages at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach float on inner tubes in the endless river, wade in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi. A children's program staves off boredom with classes like face painting and sunglass making. Guests pull up chairs at Sandcastle South Café and the poolside cabana bar, which are open seasonally and tempt with their fresh cocktails and access to warm breezes. Oceans 22 Lounge sets the scene for oceanfront dining.

Policies
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.
  • As of Dec. 1, the hotel will no longer offer smoking rooms as part of an effort to become a completely non-smoking resort as of Jan. 1, 2011.
  • Breakfast buffet is available at $7.99 USD per person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency
2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony. Remodeled in 2007. This type non smoking
Executive Suite
Enter in bedroom-privacy door to kitchen, also bath and privacy door to sitting room. Bedroom has 2 queen beds, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, Stainless Steel appliances in kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils, sitting room, flat screen TV, fold out sofa, small table & chair, double wall bed, 3 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking
Hotel - Suite
C - Oceanfront Suite - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Private Balcony, Stove
Hotel - Efficiency
A - Oceanfront Efficiency - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
B - Oceanfront Room - 2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Executive King
Stainless Steel appliances in Kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils. 1 king bed, fold out couch, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, small table & chairs, 2 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

33.6681 -78.9077
Area served
Myrtle Beach / Grand Strand Area
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Dining

Ocean's 22
On Property Lounge - Seasonal.
Cafe 22
On Property Dining - Seasonal
Cabana Bar
On property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Williamston, NC
Jun 12, 2011

Wonderful stay. Loved the view.

WE used the pools, walked on the beach, went to a show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Lambertville, MI
May 26, 2011

Good deal

The hotel is on South Beach so it's a little further away from the main area. However, it was clean and the staff were friendly. The only thing was that restuarants and shops were really not in walking distance. The hotel restaurant was fair. However for the price it was a great deal! Nothing like being on the beach and this it is:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Harleyville SC
May 19, 2011

it was a great getaway!

the stay was great. the rooms are all on the ocean front it was right on the beach very nice stay. everyone was nice. thanks for a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drewc577
Family
Albemarle, NC
May 16, 2011

Great hotel for a GREAT Price

The hotel was great, as always. [...]Booked it online, printed confirmation, checked in at the hotel and the vacation began. Not 1 hold up or delay checking in! And the best part [...]saved us $160 on the room!!! Will def be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Noizy Oyster on Kings HWY, AWESOME crab legs, and steamed oysters. The owners are from Maryland, so you know they know seafood!!!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Christiansburg, Va
May 10, 2011

da bomb

The staff was courteous and helpful. The place was spotless. The pools and hot tub temps were divine. Made for a great getaway....can't wait to do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger Outlet Mall Bring your credit card

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
durham,North Carolina
May 8, 2011

fabulous get away

We swam and enjoyed the amneties.We wished that the hotel would provide beach towels but for the most part our stay was enjoyable.The daily room service was excellent and the room was clean.We had a great ocean view. This trip was fantastic like the previous trips we took.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Buffalo, New York
Apr 26, 2011

Good time, not what we expceted!

We went for a week before Easter, it was a good vacation and the hotel was good too. However, when we viewed the room on the internet we thought that we were getting a separate bedroom/living room. When we got there we were in one room: kitchen/ bedroom with no separation or living room. It was difficult because my kids can not go to sleep with TV on. Had to go outside while they fell asleep. Check into exactly what room you are getting before you book. The outdoor pool/hot tubs were great. The indoor pool and hot tubs were over chlorinated and it was difficult to use at night due to the smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to a great resturant: Angelo's. The steak was great and had great early bird prices.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Charlotte NC
Apr 17, 2011

Good hotel for great price

The hotel was great, however we stayed the weekend of April 15th so it was pretty chilly while we were there and couldn't enjoy much of the outdoor amenities other than the jacuzzi. Great location and beautiful view from the balcony. I've stayed here previously with my family about 8 or 9 years ago and was impressed with the upkeep it was still in great condition. We did have to wait awhile at the front desk to check in...person at front desk was on the phone for a good 5-10 min while us and another couple waited to check in. The only other complaint would be the restaurant closed at 11am? which seemed like a weird time being it's right during lunch we were starving and wanted a quick bite to eat while laying on the beach. Other than that our room was very clean and we were able to make breakfast and lunch in our room and go out for dinners...saved a lot of money. We did go during off season so our room price was very good, I happily have no serious complaints and recommend this hotel to others...me and my boyfriend are already talking about coming to stay again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't have any really helpful hints other than saving money by making breakfast in the room, love having the kitchen in there.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lex.,SC
Apr 13, 2011

up in smoke,almost

nice view of the ocean,room was clean,hard beds,good location,but the fire alarm on our floor was not working. There was a fire in the laundry room and an employee of the hotel had to beat on our door to let us know. Hope they get it repaired soon. PS:We nearly had to beg for extra blankets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K.Smith
Family
Charlottesville, Va.
Apr 12, 2011

Spring Break 11

This was a pleasant experience. The hotel staff were mostly polite and helpful, the rooms were clean although a little outdated. The kids really enjoyed the option of an indoor and outdoor pool since it was still to cold to go swimming in the ocean. The location was fairly convenient, only a short drive to the boardwalk and Family Kingdom amusement park. Only issue I had was the bathrooms were not stocked with shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste etc. Had to go ask at the desk for them each day. Parking garage was attached to the hotel so we did not have to carry luggage across a busy street. Overall I was fairly satisfied for the price as this was a last minute reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top