$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
208 reviews
Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff... See full review

  • yulaw
  • Sep 3, 2013
married couple vacation

We have stayed at this location for 3 years straight, it is exactly what you would expect from an... See full review

  • Kimberly Tigerfan
  • Aug 19, 2014
South Beach paradise with ocean views

The Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach is suitable for singles, couples and families. The resort is just a short distance away from all of the activities that make Myrtle Beach such a special and attractive vacation spot. Over 100 golf courses are located in the area as well as a wide range of water sport venues. There are many excellent restaurants, shopping outlets and amusement parks within a short distance of the resort.  Many swimming pools, Jacuzzis, kiddies' pools, the endless river ride, beach activities, whirlpools and seasonal poolside cabanas all tempt guests to extend their vacation. Nighttime activities include dancing at the local nightclubs, and dining at restaurants such as the Sandcastle South Cafe (seasonal), and the Oceans 22 Lounge.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Condominium style suites
  • Pools and Jacuzzis for the whole family
  • Sandcastle South Cafe and Oceans 22 Lounge
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Warm, inviting and airy are just a few words that describe the guest rooms at the Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach. With its beach location, this hotel offers several different categories of rooms including an Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency Room that features two queen-size beds, a TV, a kitchen, a microwave, a stove, and a private balcony. The Executive Suite has separate sleeping and sitting areas. The amenities include two queen-sized beds, a night table, a closet, a flat screen TV, a dresser, and adequate appliances in the kitchen, including a full size refrigerator, sink and all utensils. All of the suites have kitchens with microwave ovens. The standard Oceanfront Room is equipped with a TV, a refrigerator and a microwave oven.  It also has a private balcony.

Recreation

Patrons of all ages at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach float on inner tubes in the endless river, wade in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi. A children's program staves off boredom with classes like face painting and sunglass making. Guests pull up chairs at Sandcastle South Café and the poolside cabana bar, which are open seasonally and tempt with their fresh cocktails and access to warm breezes. Oceans 22 Lounge sets the scene for oceanfront dining.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
Things To Do:
  • Pirates Watch Adventure Golf (0.6 miles/0.97 km)
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (1.3 miles/2.09 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.8 miles/2.90 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion  (2.2 miles/3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not  (2.3 miles/3.7 km)
  • Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament  (3.3 miles/5.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (3.6 miles/5.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • As of Dec. 1, the hotel will no longer offer smoking rooms as part of an effort to become a completely non-smoking resort as of Jan. 1, 2011.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6681 -78.9077
Area served
Myrtle Beach / Grand Strand Area
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency
2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony. Remodeled in 2007. This type non smoking
Executive Suite
Enter in bedroom-privacy door to kitchen, also bath and privacy door to sitting room. Bedroom has 2 queen beds, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, Stainless Steel appliances in kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils, sitting room, flat screen TV, fold out sofa, small table & chair, double wall bed, 3 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking
Hotel - Suite
C - Oceanfront Suite - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Private Balcony, Stove
Hotel - Efficiency
A - Oceanfront Efficiency - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
B - Oceanfront Room - 2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Executive King
Stainless Steel appliances in Kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils. 1 king bed, fold out couch, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, small table & chairs, 2 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Dining

Ocean's 22
On Property Lounge - Seasonal.
Cafe 22
On Property Dining - Seasonal
Cabana Bar
On property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GottM
Clover SC
Oct 21, 2011

Great getaway.

The resort was great. The rooms were very nice and the staff was great. My family and I have found a new place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michgolfer
Michigan, USA
Sep 29, 2011

nice time

we stayed an entire week, very enjoyable stay overall. the good: you can get discounts at the front desk for shows and attractions. the room was clean, except for a couple of bleach stains on the carpet. amazing oceanfront view, the attached parking garage was very nice. The morning front desk staff was more than willing to offer advice about area attractions and discounts. the bad: the afternoon and night time frontdesk staff did not offer much help, or seem to want to offer any info. they simply pointed at the rack of brochures. the resort did not offer a complimentary breakfast, you had to pay for it, which is ridiculous. i would advise to eat some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

check on prices with the hotel front desk, they generally get tickets cheaper to shows and attractions.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve011
Rock Hill, S.C.
Sep 27, 2011

Good Value!

Overall, a very pleasant stay. The location is great and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't dine at the Liberty Seafood Buffet on King's Highway. It's less expensive but there's a reason for that. Very small buffet and some of the choices were not very good. We recommend the Giant Crab Seafood Buffet. The best for the price!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Relaxing Getaway

Great location, perfect on the beach and beautiful view. A lot of the amenities were closed due to hurricane Irene. They were very understanding as we arrive a day late. I would recommend this for families and for relaxing getaways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Starflyt
Virginia
Sep 10, 2011

A nice place to stay

We have stayed at The Sandcastle several times in the past six years, and every time has been satisfactory. The staff is courteous and friendly, the hotel is adequately clean, and the value is very good. The only problem was that we will not return on Labor Day Weekend, Myrtle Beach was full of rude people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Capt George's, the best seafood buffet in town.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Myrtle Beach
Upstate NY
Sep 6, 2011

Had a GREAT Vacation

The hotel was clean, updated, and in a BEAUTIFUL location. The waterfalls near the lobby ramp are an excellent touch to the outside decor. The pools were crystal clear and the three jacuzzis were so relaxing! I would have hoped that some sort of breakfast would be included with the room rates, but it was only open on 2 days of our stay and was added cost. The food was delicious however. The views from the balcony were breathtaking. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pirate's Voyage is a must see! a little expensive, but worth every penny. My daughters, 9,8,3, loved it!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tatyana36
Columbia, SC, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Never Again

The staff at check in-out desk were not friendly at All (morning crew 082711 and 082811). I will never stay there again. No shower curtain liner in shower. Lazy river not clean...Inside pool had too much chlorine in it....You know you put alot of chlorine in there when you have a sign saying Garmets may turn color...Swelled like a chemistry lab. On a positive note I did enjoy the Ocean Front view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Wild Water and Wheels....Lots of fun!!!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed traveller
NC
Aug 29, 2011

Horribly misleading, and not worth the money!

Booked based on the information that there was a hotel, bar and tiki bar on site. They were CLOSED the entire time we were there. Not even opened for breakfast so for 3 meals a day we had to load up the kids and spend a fortune on food and drinks! Apparently they are opened based on occupancy. We were very disappointed this information was not disclosed to us before booking the room. Too much Chlorine in the pools, water in bathtub wouldn't drain, room smelled like mold and fresh paint, elevators smelled like a stinky locker room. The beach was beautiful and location was fine. Would book further north next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Non-existent. The "activities" that were advertised for the kids were not going on. Couldn't use the lazy river w/out a tube (too windy for them to bring tubes out), and the restaurant, bar and tiki bar by the pool were not in service. (Major aspects to choosing a hotel). We definitely found this to be FAR from a "Resort"!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
man of God
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Family Vacation`

The hotel itself was average but the location and room cleanliness was Excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining because there are so many choices. The attractions have phamplets all over the place and plus you are given a book once you check into the hotel.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OWTF
Lexington, KY
Aug 2, 2011

Average Beach

Cleaning staff needed direction. Looked as though they only made beds and gave clean towels. Matress poor and dirty along with blanket between sheet and matress. Room did not match pictures [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ccanne
Michigan
Jul 30, 2011

Rude and poor service, lousy view

When I checked in the girl gave me my room keys and told me my room #. When I asked which direction my room was once on the 3rd floor she told me simply, I don't know just park on the 3rd floor. I had been told the room had a pull out couch so I brought my nephew and niece with me but when I arrive I found it didn't have one. When I went to the desk the old woman waiting on me was the rudest I've ever encountered at any hotel I've stayed in. She kept saying I didn't ask for a pull out couch. I in turn replied I didn't ask for one because they told me it came with one, why would I ask for one. I didn't have to ask for a TV because they said it came with one, and indeed it did. Why would I ask for the pull out couch? I asked her what she could do to help resolve me with the problem and she just kept saying over and over that I didn't request a pull out couch. I requested a roll away cot and I was told they don't provide them there. I was told there was nothing they could do for me. I wanted to cancel my stay there but was told I'd be charged $240.00 if I did. I had to go purchase a blow up mattress for the kids to sleep on. The phone didn't work in the room, we had to have them come fix it. The light by the bed didn't work, I found it was unplugged. I found a womans bathing suit under the bed and a sock next to the TV stand. I stayed in room 301 and the view was blocked by the trees which were at the level of the balcony and blocked by rooms 202, 302 which stuck up about 15 foot farther than ours which completely obstructed the view to the left. There was a building to the right which obstructed the view to the right. When I went to check out I asked for a receipt and the girl simply said "no". Confused I asked again and she replied "no". I asked why I couldn't be given a receipt and another girl came over and said she was sorry, what I should have been told was because I paid for the room through [...]I would have to contact them for the receipt. Overall, I was very disappointed with my entire experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search