$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
341 reviews
Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff... See full review

  • yulaw
  • Sep 3, 2013
Stay for scsdc

Cold But had a Good stay .We Park next to room,had a good experience See full review

  • wfrdal
  • Jan 29, 2013
South Beach paradise with ocean views

The Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach is suitable for singles, couples and families. The resort is just a short distance away from all of the activities that make Myrtle Beach such a special and attractive vacation spot. Over 100 golf courses are located in the area as well as a wide range of water sport venues. There are many excellent restaurants, shopping outlets and amusement parks within a short distance of the resort.  Many swimming pools, Jacuzzis, kiddies' pools, the endless river ride, beach activities, whirlpools and seasonal poolside cabanas all tempt guests to extend their vacation. Nighttime activities include dancing at the local nightclubs, and dining at restaurants such as the Sandcastle South Cafe (seasonal), and the Oceans 22 Lounge.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Condominium style suites
  • Pools and Jacuzzis for the whole family
  • Sandcastle South Cafe and Oceans 22 Lounge
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Warm, inviting and airy are just a few words that describe the guest rooms at the Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach. With its beach location, this hotel offers several different categories of rooms including an Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency Room that features two queen-size beds, a TV, a kitchen, a microwave, a stove, and a private balcony. The Executive Suite has separate sleeping and sitting areas. The amenities include two queen-sized beds, a night table, a closet, a flat screen TV, a dresser, and adequate appliances in the kitchen, including a full size refrigerator, sink and all utensils. All of the suites have kitchens with microwave ovens. The standard Oceanfront Room is equipped with a TV, a refrigerator and a microwave oven.  It also has a private balcony.

Recreation

Patrons of all ages at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach float on inner tubes in the endless river, wade in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi. A children's program staves off boredom with classes like face painting and sunglass making. Guests pull up chairs at Sandcastle South Café and the poolside cabana bar, which are open seasonally and tempt with their fresh cocktails and access to warm breezes. Oceans 22 Lounge sets the scene for oceanfront dining.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
Things To Do:
  • Pirates Watch Adventure Golf (0.6 miles/0.97 km)
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (1.3 miles/2.09 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.8 miles/2.90 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion  (2.2 miles/3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not  (2.3 miles/3.7 km)
  • Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament  (3.3 miles/5.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (3.6 miles/5.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • As of Dec. 1, the hotel will no longer offer smoking rooms as part of an effort to become a completely non-smoking resort as of Jan. 1, 2011.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency
2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony. Remodeled in 2007. This type non smoking
Executive Suite
Enter in bedroom-privacy door to kitchen, also bath and privacy door to sitting room. Bedroom has 2 queen beds, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, Stainless Steel appliances in kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils, sitting room, flat screen TV, fold out sofa, small table & chair, double wall bed, 3 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking
Hotel - Suite
C - Oceanfront Suite - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Private Balcony, Stove
Hotel - Efficiency
A - Oceanfront Efficiency - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
B - Oceanfront Room - 2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Executive King
Stainless Steel appliances in Kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils. 1 king bed, fold out couch, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, small table & chairs, 2 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6681 -78.9077
Area served
Myrtle Beach / Grand Strand Area
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Dining

Ocean's 22
On Property Lounge - Seasonal.
Cafe 22
On Property Dining - Seasonal
Cabana Bar
On property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (341)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
341 out of 341
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CliffSfromWV
Charleston WV
Jan 14, 2014

Would have been ok review but........

Fire alarm went off the first morning we were there at 5:30, 6:10 and 6:25AM. We spoke to a employee and he stated that it has been an ongoing issue the last few weeks due to moisture. The alarm went off a few more times during the stay. Would have been nice to have been warned when we checked in, instead we had the pleasure of being scared early the next morning and getting to walk down 8 flights of stairs that were wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yulaw
South Caroina
Sep 3, 2013

Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff was courteous. Definitely will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
We Just Love the Beach
Charlotte, NC
Sep 3, 2013

Great location - Needs Improvement

While the location is ideal, they have an issue with roaches. Originally assigned to room 714, upon entering and turning on the light, roaches in the kitchen area. Re-assigned to room 711, next morning, roaches in the kitchen. Will never stay at this place again. Carpet was filthy. Staff acted indifferent when we spoke to them about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Q's
Raleigh, North Carolina
Aug 26, 2013

Anniversary getaway

The rooms were not very clean. The bathroom was even worse and the tub needed a major overhaul and cleaning. Many things needed to be repaired such as the lamps had no top to keep lampshade in place, the knob on the sliding door to outside was broken, the ice machines only worked on two floors and were rusty, many days only one to two elevators were working, the televisions are the old analog, the kitchen was horrible in that the fridge was one sided and moved when opened, the microwave needed cleaning. No pens or pencils in rooms. Had to go to front desk for a pen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Photoshootr
Virginia
Aug 13, 2013

Not bad for a last minute booking

Not a bad deal, everything was pretty much as I expected for the rate received. Overall average hotel, beds weren't that comfortable, but considering we got an oceanfront room at last minute for a weekend, we didn't care much. Loved the view. Will stay again if higher quality locations are unavailable. Nothing to really complain about, well except, if you like pizza, do not order from the restaraunt. LOL However, this is a family hotel, good place for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many little eateries within walking distance, other hotels had restaraunts open to the public. The location was not in the middle of all the happenings in the area, could be a plus depending on your preference.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation mommy
south carolina
Jul 2, 2013

Family Vacation

Our room wasn't very clean. We had our 2 year old and we had to clean many areas of the room that weren't clean. The floors were dirty. There was a big burnt piece of carpet in the room. The hole is black carpet and it felt awful when we stepped into it. The floor wasn't vacuumed well. The floor wasn't cleaned properly with a mop because dirt/trash was left behind. It felt like something was biting us in the room. We found long pieces of hair in certain places. The tv didn't have a tv guide so we had to go though many channels to watch something. Sometimes the tv had static. We had to get the mirror and tv cleaned the first night because they weren't cleaned properly at all. The bathroom smelled like urine. The carpet felt like it's never deep cleaned. They didn't have enough of the luggage carriers. So on our last day we had to carry everything to our car. Some of the workers were nice. Sometimes when I called the front desk they seemed like they didn't want to be there. The housekeeper was very nice but I was unhappy with the room. Long walk to attractions. Needless to say...we won't EVER stay here again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Purple One SC
South Carolina
Jul 1, 2013

Ok Accommodations

The hotel staff was friendly but the hotel itself is in great need of repair. The elevators were terrible and made loud noises and the wait to get on was long. The picture you see on the website is definitely what you see in person. I really expected better. Overall, I would say it was a fair price we paid for what we received. We brought our own disinfectant for the bathroom and pillows from home so we were fine. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I love the distance to getting to restaurants and shopping spots.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dale89
Ohio
Jun 26, 2013

Good for the price and location

Room was clean, hallways/elevators not so much. Parking garage small and turns are hard to maneuver. Arrived early and gave the hotel staff our cell number number and asked them to call when our room was ready. They never called. Only stayed one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy Boy FF
Ocala, Florida
Jun 24, 2013

Great time had by all

This was a very enjoyable experience. Would go back there again (in fact we plan on it). Staff was attentive and polite the room while your average hotel room was clean and well kept. Also this was my first time utilizing your service will recommend you to anyone who travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IWAS
MYRTLE BEACH, S.C.
Jun 18, 2013

good for family

the restaurant did no have enough staff. breakfast was not good. food was COLD. MICROWAVE WAS DIRTY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT GO TO THE RESTAURANT

Back to menu Return to top