$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moma Dukes
Durham.NC
Apr 16, 2012

celebration

Always stay here, Best for your bucks I have found. Every room oceanfront. That's Awesome.!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sena
Business
Durham, NC
May 26, 2009

Wonderful Stay

It is in a great location on S. Ocean Blvd. I was able to rest easy at night and wake up to a fantastic view of the beach each morning. We were there during "Bike Week", so the police had one side of the street blocked off, but that was a minor inconvenience and had nothing to do with the hotel itself. I liked having a kitchen in the unit, but there was no counter space, which was very prohibitive. Also, there wasn't any WiFi in the hotel, so I couldn't get onto the Internet. I was on the 12th floor, which didn't have an ice machine or vending machines. At first I was a little bummed, but I was able to make ice in my room (we had a full-sized refrigerator) and we bought drinks at a local store. Overall it was a great stay and I will consider staying here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out Broadway at the Beach; there are shops and restaurants and you can buy food to feed to the catfish. If you go, be sure to walk around before feeding the catfish -- some of the machines charge $.50 and some charge $.25. It's fun to watch the fish fight for the food. But watch out for the ducks, they steal the food from the catfish!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of two great kiddos
Business
NC
May 26, 2009

good location for the price

We went on a bad weekend (it was bike week). Not really a family friendly weekend at the beach as expected. But overall the hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were nice for the price. We will try this hotel again on a better weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandfather Kenny
Business
Columbia, SC
May 26, 2009

all ocean front rooms

The south end of Myrtle Beach is a very nice area, less traffic, the easy to get in and out of the hotel.  Our room was spotless, we had a great time, our 3 year old grandson enjoyed the pools and just worn himself out. For the price of our stay, it was an outstanding value. We will go back and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We go to Broadway at the Beach for a wide slection for dining and down to Murrells Inlet for seafood. We always get good food at either areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 24, 2009

Nice Hotel, Good Location, Great Rate

Took an Oceanfront Suite that included a Kitchenette. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. This is clearly not a new hotel but it is well maintained. There is a private access to the beach since it is an oceanfront hotel. The view out of the balcony is great. We got a room with 2 Queen Beds. It also had an extra bed that folds into the wall. There were 2 TVs, one in each room. The kitchenette had everything needed to cook meals. The hotel has a restaurant - which we did not visit since we ate in - a nice lobby, a swimming pool, couple of jacuzzis and some watersports for kids. It has a lot of lounge chairs by the pool and another bunch of them facing the ocean. There is also a little bar by the pool that offers cocktails and stuff. I got the room for an Orbitz rate of $90.00 per night - a very reasonable rate. Altogether, a very pleasant hotel for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRS. BLACKSTOCK
Business
SUMTER, SC
May 24, 2009

EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!

IT WAS MORE THAN WHAT I EXPECTED IT TO BE, I NEVER BOOKED A ROOM ONLINE,AND I MUST SAY I WAS VERY PLEASED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

THE HOTEL CAFE HAD VERY MODEST PRICES

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
May 19, 2009

great place

They got all the basics taken care of, and the Endless River was a unique and fun activity. (It's a pool in a long loop with a current that moves you along.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SupermanSC
Business
Camden, SC
May 14, 2009

Best Service 2

Awesome. had a minor problem with reservation but it was fixed in a timely manner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dora great wife
Business
augusta ga
May 11, 2009

fantastic birthday getaway

Had a very good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
May 10, 2009

Sandcastle Resort

The hotel was ocean view, that was great. The staff weren't friendly at all, ask a question and they acted like they had a attitude. I would only travel back to this hotel if I got a very great room rate again. I went with my two children (2 and under), the rooms really weren't kid friendly, but they had a great 1 ft heated pool for kids. They have 2 pools, a water river, two hot tubs, and lots of chairs to lay out in. They also have a resteraunt, but it only serves lunch and breakfest, and you can forget asking about a menu. Another thing I didn't like, they told my son he wasn't allowed in the resteraunt because he didn't have shoes on!!! A 18 month old!!! You aren't allowed to walk to the pool, or around the hotel in bathing suits, have to be covered up, when it is ocean front and of course everybody is going to the beach. Next time, I would prefer a more laid back place and and more kid friendly place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

They have this great place called joe's pizza. They delieved to my hotel and I got a large pizza and 10 wings for only 21.00!!! I recieved a flyer from the downstairs tourist lady who hands out all kinds of flyers with great visiting ideas and coupons and so much more. She is very nice, and very kid friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rhondafaye
Business
Rock Hill, SC
May 4, 2009

good trip

The kids had fun in the pool. It was nice having a heated pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top