$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 4, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
210 reviews
Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff... See full review

  • yulaw
  • Sep 3, 2013
married couple vacation

We have stayed at this location for 3 years straight, it is exactly what you would expect from an... See full review

  • Kimberly Tigerfan
  • Aug 19, 2014
South Beach paradise with ocean views

The Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach is suitable for singles, couples and families. The resort is just a short distance away from all of the activities that make Myrtle Beach such a special and attractive vacation spot. Over 100 golf courses are located in the area as well as a wide range of water sport venues. There are many excellent restaurants, shopping outlets and amusement parks within a short distance of the resort.  Many swimming pools, Jacuzzis, kiddies' pools, the endless river ride, beach activities, whirlpools and seasonal poolside cabanas all tempt guests to extend their vacation. Nighttime activities include dancing at the local nightclubs, and dining at restaurants such as the Sandcastle South Cafe (seasonal), and the Oceans 22 Lounge.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Condominium style suites
  • Pools and Jacuzzis for the whole family
  • Sandcastle South Cafe and Oceans 22 Lounge
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Warm, inviting and airy are just a few words that describe the guest rooms at the Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach. With its beach location, this hotel offers several different categories of rooms including an Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency Room that features two queen-size beds, a TV, a kitchen, a microwave, a stove, and a private balcony. The Executive Suite has separate sleeping and sitting areas. The amenities include two queen-sized beds, a night table, a closet, a flat screen TV, a dresser, and adequate appliances in the kitchen, including a full size refrigerator, sink and all utensils. All of the suites have kitchens with microwave ovens. The standard Oceanfront Room is equipped with a TV, a refrigerator and a microwave oven.  It also has a private balcony.

Recreation

Patrons of all ages at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach float on inner tubes in the endless river, wade in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi. A children's program staves off boredom with classes like face painting and sunglass making. Guests pull up chairs at Sandcastle South Café and the poolside cabana bar, which are open seasonally and tempt with their fresh cocktails and access to warm breezes. Oceans 22 Lounge sets the scene for oceanfront dining.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
Things To Do:
  • Pirates Watch Adventure Golf (0.6 miles/0.97 km)
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (1.3 miles/2.09 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.8 miles/2.90 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion  (2.2 miles/3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not  (2.3 miles/3.7 km)
  • Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament  (3.3 miles/5.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (3.6 miles/5.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • As of Dec. 1, the hotel will no longer offer smoking rooms as part of an effort to become a completely non-smoking resort as of Jan. 1, 2011.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6681 -78.9077
Area served
Myrtle Beach / Grand Strand Area
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency
2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony. Remodeled in 2007. This type non smoking
Executive Suite
Enter in bedroom-privacy door to kitchen, also bath and privacy door to sitting room. Bedroom has 2 queen beds, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, Stainless Steel appliances in kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils, sitting room, flat screen TV, fold out sofa, small table & chair, double wall bed, 3 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking
Hotel - Suite
C - Oceanfront Suite - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Private Balcony, Stove
Hotel - Efficiency
A - Oceanfront Efficiency - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
B - Oceanfront Room - 2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Executive King
Stainless Steel appliances in Kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils. 1 king bed, fold out couch, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, small table & chairs, 2 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Dining

Ocean's 22
On Property Lounge - Seasonal.
Cafe 22
On Property Dining - Seasonal
Cabana Bar
On property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 210
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenn N Mel
Business
Bloomington, IN
Aug 8, 2014

First time Myrtle Beach vacay

The pictures for this hotel are very misleading. This hotel's furnishings are extremely outdated. Our fridge was rusted on the outside. There were marks all over the walls. I paid way too much for this room. I only stayed because it was clean and the view was beautiful. The front desk personnel was decent except for a guy who worked nights. He never knew an answer to any question and set up out room keys to expire a day early. Housekeeping left our door open after cleaning. DO NOT book through O, I was overcharged for room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything was close and easy to find

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CliffSfromWV
Business
Charleston WV
Jan 14, 2014

Would have been ok review but........

Fire alarm went off the first morning we were there at 5:30, 6:10 and 6:25AM. We spoke to a employee and he stated that it has been an ongoing issue the last few weeks due to moisture. The alarm went off a few more times during the stay. Would have been nice to have been warned when we checked in, instead we had the pleasure of being scared early the next morning and getting to walk down 8 flights of stairs that were wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yulaw
Business
South Caroina
Sep 3, 2013

Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff was courteous. Definitely will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
We Just Love the Beach
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 3, 2013

Great location - Needs Improvement

While the location is ideal, they have an issue with roaches. Originally assigned to room 714, upon entering and turning on the light, roaches in the kitchen area. Re-assigned to room 711, next morning, roaches in the kitchen. Will never stay at this place again. Carpet was filthy. Staff acted indifferent when we spoke to them about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation mommy
Business
south carolina
Jul 2, 2013

Family Vacation

Our room wasn't very clean. We had our 2 year old and we had to clean many areas of the room that weren't clean. The floors were dirty. There was a big burnt piece of carpet in the room. The hole is black carpet and it felt awful when we stepped into it. The floor wasn't vacuumed well. The floor wasn't cleaned properly with a mop because dirt/trash was left behind. It felt like something was biting us in the room. We found long pieces of hair in certain places. The tv didn't have a tv guide so we had to go though many channels to watch something. Sometimes the tv had static. We had to get the mirror and tv cleaned the first night because they weren't cleaned properly at all. The bathroom smelled like urine. The carpet felt like it's never deep cleaned. They didn't have enough of the luggage carriers. So on our last day we had to carry everything to our car. Some of the workers were nice. Sometimes when I called the front desk they seemed like they didn't want to be there. The housekeeper was very nice but I was unhappy with the room. Long walk to attractions. Needless to say...we won't EVER stay here again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Purple One SC
Business
South Carolina
Jul 1, 2013

Ok Accommodations

The hotel staff was friendly but the hotel itself is in great need of repair. The elevators were terrible and made loud noises and the wait to get on was long. The picture you see on the website is definitely what you see in person. I really expected better. Overall, I would say it was a fair price we paid for what we received. We brought our own disinfectant for the bathroom and pillows from home so we were fine. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I love the distance to getting to restaurants and shopping spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy Boy FF
Business
Ocala, Florida
Jun 24, 2013

Great time had by all

This was a very enjoyable experience. Would go back there again (in fact we plan on it). Staff was attentive and polite the room while your average hotel room was clean and well kept. Also this was my first time utilizing your service will recommend you to anyone who travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flycuteprincess
Business
United States
Jun 18, 2013

great location for beach fun

Super friendly staff. EXCELLENT BALCONY VIEW OF OCEAN!! Nice amount of pools. Definite beach hotel only. Remote for tv was missing batteries. Near airport-$7 cab ride. Id definetly stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask front desk for bag of toiletries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daddy Travels
Business
Piedmont, North Carolina
Jun 15, 2013

Nice family vacation

Stayed at the Sandcastle before. Average Myrtle Beach resort. Nice lazy river. A larger outdoor pool would have been great. During summer vacation season, it's tough to move around the pool. Didn't have that problem when I was there in September. The indoor pool was loaded with chlorine. My eyes started burning the minute I opened the door. Overall a pleasant stay. Would probably go back for a third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wfrdal
Business
simpsonville,sc
Jan 29, 2013

Stay for scsdc

Cold But had a Good stay .We Park next to room,had a good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top