$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Myrtle Beach
Business
Upstate NY
Sep 6, 2011

Had a GREAT Vacation

The hotel was clean, updated, and in a BEAUTIFUL location. The waterfalls near the lobby ramp are an excellent touch to the outside decor. The pools were crystal clear and the three jacuzzis were so relaxing! I would have hoped that some sort of breakfast would be included with the room rates, but it was only open on 2 days of our stay and was added cost. The food was delicious however. The views from the balcony were breathtaking. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pirate's Voyage is a must see! a little expensive, but worth every penny. My daughters, 9,8,3, loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tatyana36
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Never Again

The staff at check in-out desk were not friendly at All (morning crew 082711 and 082811). I will never stay there again. No shower curtain liner in shower. Lazy river not clean...Inside pool had too much chlorine in it....You know you put alot of chlorine in there when you have a sign saying Garmets may turn color...Swelled like a chemistry lab. On a positive note I did enjoy the Ocean Front view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Wild Water and Wheels....Lots of fun!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed traveller
Business
NC
Aug 29, 2011

Horribly misleading, and not worth the money!

Booked based on the information that there was a hotel, bar and tiki bar on site. They were CLOSED the entire time we were there. Not even opened for breakfast so for 3 meals a day we had to load up the kids and spend a fortune on food and drinks! Apparently they are opened based on occupancy. We were very disappointed this information was not disclosed to us before booking the room. Too much Chlorine in the pools, water in bathtub wouldn't drain, room smelled like mold and fresh paint, elevators smelled like a stinky locker room. The beach was beautiful and location was fine. Would book further north next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Non-existent. The "activities" that were advertised for the kids were not going on. Couldn't use the lazy river w/out a tube (too windy for them to bring tubes out), and the restaurant, bar and tiki bar by the pool were not in service. (Major aspects to choosing a hotel). We definitely found this to be FAR from a "Resort"!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
man of God
Business
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Family Vacation`

The hotel itself was average but the location and room cleanliness was Excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining because there are so many choices. The attractions have phamplets all over the place and plus you are given a book once you check into the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OWTF
Business
Lexington, KY
Aug 2, 2011

Average Beach

Cleaning staff needed direction. Looked as though they only made beds and gave clean towels. Matress poor and dirty along with blanket between sheet and matress. Room did not match pictures [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ccanne
Business
Michigan
Jul 30, 2011

Rude and poor service, lousy view

When I checked in the girl gave me my room keys and told me my room #. When I asked which direction my room was once on the 3rd floor she told me simply, I don't know just park on the 3rd floor. I had been told the room had a pull out couch so I brought my nephew and niece with me but when I arrive I found it didn't have one. When I went to the desk the old woman waiting on me was the rudest I've ever encountered at any hotel I've stayed in. She kept saying I didn't ask for a pull out couch. I in turn replied I didn't ask for one because they told me it came with one, why would I ask for one. I didn't have to ask for a TV because they said it came with one, and indeed it did. Why would I ask for the pull out couch? I asked her what she could do to help resolve me with the problem and she just kept saying over and over that I didn't request a pull out couch. I requested a roll away cot and I was told they don't provide them there. I was told there was nothing they could do for me. I wanted to cancel my stay there but was told I'd be charged $240.00 if I did. I had to go purchase a blow up mattress for the kids to sleep on. The phone didn't work in the room, we had to have them come fix it. The light by the bed didn't work, I found it was unplugged. I found a womans bathing suit under the bed and a sock next to the TV stand. I stayed in room 301 and the view was blocked by the trees which were at the level of the balcony and blocked by rooms 202, 302 which stuck up about 15 foot farther than ours which completely obstructed the view to the left. There was a building to the right which obstructed the view to the right. When I went to check out I asked for a receipt and the girl simply said "no". Confused I asked again and she replied "no". I asked why I couldn't be given a receipt and another girl came over and said she was sorry, what I should have been told was because I paid for the room through [...]I would have to contact them for the receipt. Overall, I was very disappointed with my entire experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte nc
Jul 26, 2011

Good and bad

The hotel is very basic, no frills or extras. The room looked old, the curtains and bedspreads were fraying, the carpet almost threadbare. Some of the outlets didn't work, the beds were hard and they didn't even give you a blanket, just the sheet and thin bedspread. The elevators were extremely slow and the hallways and elevators were often dirty and littered with trash. They did not enforce any rules with the children, and there were unsupervised teens in the outside pool and hot tubs in the wee hours of the morning even though the pool supposed to close at 10. Also alcohol was openly present usually. The beach was ok and overall it was fairly quiet for the most part, but I really would not consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte north carolina
Jul 22, 2011

Would not recommend

We took a 3 night stay over the weekend at the Sandcastle - the south one. It could really use some renovation, the curtians, carpet and bedding were old and frayed. walls are very thin- you can hear other guests talking and making noise. The beach was good, and the resturant was convienent, but elevators slow, and everything just seems run down and dirty. For the price- which is not budget at all, would recommend you look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brownstown, MI
Jul 19, 2011

Dream Turned Nightmare

We looked for a beachfront hotel with activities for our children and thought we found what we wanted at Sandcastle. From the street, the hotel looked promising. However looks were definitely decieving! [...] Once I went to see what the room condition was, I was very disappointed with the cleanliness and freshness of the suite. There was peeling paint, dirty bath surrounds and carpet, Dingy bed linens and stained furniture. Needless to say we got our money back and ran like the wind! I would never recommend anyone stays in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 6, 2011

average stay

Older building with older furniture, dirty carpet, tiny kitchen. It was absolutely great to have an ocean front room (all room are with ocean view!). For the price we paid I was expecting more (it ws the 4th of July weekend though). Don't think I'll come back unless the prices are twice smaller. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top