$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
212 reviews
Great room for the family

Excellent room for my family of 6. We had more than enough room. The rooms were clean, the staff... See full review

  • yulaw
  • Sep 3, 2013
Nice

Very Nice for the money. Clean room and very nice and relaxing veiw. See full review

  • cdcarroll
  • Dec 19, 2014
South Beach paradise with ocean views

The Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach is suitable for singles, couples and families. The resort is just a short distance away from all of the activities that make Myrtle Beach such a special and attractive vacation spot. Over 100 golf courses are located in the area as well as a wide range of water sport venues. There are many excellent restaurants, shopping outlets and amusement parks within a short distance of the resort.  Many swimming pools, Jacuzzis, kiddies' pools, the endless river ride, beach activities, whirlpools and seasonal poolside cabanas all tempt guests to extend their vacation. Nighttime activities include dancing at the local nightclubs, and dining at restaurants such as the Sandcastle South Cafe (seasonal), and the Oceans 22 Lounge.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Condominium style suites
  • Pools and Jacuzzis for the whole family
  • Sandcastle South Cafe and Oceans 22 Lounge
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Warm, inviting and airy are just a few words that describe the guest rooms at the Myrtle Beach Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach. With its beach location, this hotel offers several different categories of rooms including an Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency Room that features two queen-size beds, a TV, a kitchen, a microwave, a stove, and a private balcony. The Executive Suite has separate sleeping and sitting areas. The amenities include two queen-sized beds, a night table, a closet, a flat screen TV, a dresser, and adequate appliances in the kitchen, including a full size refrigerator, sink and all utensils. All of the suites have kitchens with microwave ovens. The standard Oceanfront Room is equipped with a TV, a refrigerator and a microwave oven.  It also has a private balcony.

Recreation

Patrons of all ages at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach float on inner tubes in the endless river, wade in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi. A children's program staves off boredom with classes like face painting and sunglass making. Guests pull up chairs at Sandcastle South Café and the poolside cabana bar, which are open seasonally and tempt with their fresh cocktails and access to warm breezes. Oceans 22 Lounge sets the scene for oceanfront dining.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
Things To Do:
  • Pirates Watch Adventure Golf (0.6 miles/0.97 km)
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (1.3 miles/2.09 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.8 miles/2.90 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion  (2.2 miles/3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not  (2.3 miles/3.7 km)
  • Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament  (3.3 miles/5.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (3.6 miles/5.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • As of Dec. 1, the hotel will no longer offer smoking rooms as part of an effort to become a completely non-smoking resort as of Jan. 1, 2011.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach Rooms

Oceanfront Deluxe Efficiency
2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony. Remodeled in 2007. This type non smoking
Executive Suite
Enter in bedroom-privacy door to kitchen, also bath and privacy door to sitting room. Bedroom has 2 queen beds, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, Stainless Steel appliances in kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils, sitting room, flat screen TV, fold out sofa, small table & chair, double wall bed, 3 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking
Hotel - Suite
C - Oceanfront Suite - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Private Balcony, Stove
Hotel - Efficiency
A - Oceanfront Efficiency - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
B - Oceanfront Room - 2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Executive King
Stainless Steel appliances in Kitchen with stove/oven, sink, full size refrigerator, microwave, all utensils. 1 king bed, fold out couch, night table, dresser, closet, Flat Screen TV, small table & chairs, 2 telephones, and private balcony. Remodeled in 2008. This type non smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.6 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Dining

Ocean's 22
On Property Lounge - Seasonal.
Cafe 22
On Property Dining - Seasonal
Cabana Bar
On property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 212
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jcgh
Business
Greensboro, nc
Oct 14, 2014

decent value

For what we paid the room was adequate. Nothing special or ideal, but clean enough and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob 28748
Business
North Carolina
Sep 4, 2014

Great Trip

Everyone involved with our stay was super !. I have nothing bad to say, would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberly Tigerfan
Business
Greer,South Carolina
Aug 19, 2014

married couple vacation

We have stayed at this location for 3 years straight, it is exactly what you would expect from an oceanfront hotel on the south side of Myrtle Beach. The cabana bar at the pool is great, they also had a grill set up this year with hot dogs,hamburgers,chicken sandwiches, and salads. They had karaoke on Friday and Saturday night at the pool. I moved from a place on the strip to the Sandcastle at the end of the week, and Shay at the front desk was great and let me move a few of my perishable items into their employee fridge so I wouldn't lose my stuff until check-in. Great customer service! They also accommodated us when we decided to stay another night and got it worked out in the same room. We love the Sandcastle South

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calvin2
Business
ohio
Jun 21, 2014

Awesome stay

Had great view of the Atlantic. Kept sliding balcony door open in the morning to hear the relaxing sound of the waves. Good value for an oceanfront room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rev and wife
Business
South Bend, IN
Apr 22, 2014

Excellent Family Value

We were there before the spring rush so we almost had the place to ourselves. Every room has a full ocean view from the room balconies while out the door on the other side you are outside and just about in your car. While we didn't use the pools other people said they were very nice. Just beyond the pool was the walkway to the beach which has nice sand for walking barefoot. The hotel is a nice distance away from the drain your pockets tourist stuff but close enough if you want it. Not a fancy place but nice and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take change for the parking meters if you drive to the main ocean attractions a mile up the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wendybeee
Business
Rockton, IL
Mar 30, 2014

Spring Break 2014

We went to Myrtle Beach for the 1st time and got a GREAT deal for airfare and hotel. We had a very nice time in spite of the weather being cold and rainy. The hotel is just average, which is what we expected, but the value was great and we loved that all rooms have oceanfront balconies and kitchenettes. The staff were all very nice and helpful. It wasn't glitzy by any means, but it didn't really appear to be anywhere in Myrtle Beach. Just casual and friendly and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are practically no restaurants on Ocean Blvd by this hotel and the hotel only serves breakfast. We ended up renting a car by the 3rd day. Dinner at Pier 14 on the boardwalk was incredibly good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamesbdrums
Business
Mt. Holly,NC
Mar 24, 2014

Get away weekend

Hotel was clean but indoor pool was closed........ Great location, great staff........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikes2679
Business
King, nc
Mar 18, 2014

Great stay

Other than the weather, everything else was great. They let me check in early and had no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Patricks trailer park aka myrtle manor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tay and Ky
Business
south carolina
Jan 29, 2014

our winter stay

The staff were good to deal with, and the pools seemed clean. The room was in order and they kept clean towels in there. Online it said the room we had was updated in 2007, it seemed to me that it was time to do that again... We never saw online where the lounge would be closed during off season. So it was a let downsince that was a reason we booked there. There was also a loud group of kids in the pool from a whole different hotel. All in all we would probably stay there again, but those were our disappointments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Q's
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Aug 26, 2013

Anniversary getaway

The rooms were not very clean. The bathroom was even worse and the tub needed a major overhaul and cleaning. Many things needed to be repaired such as the lamps had no top to keep lampshade in place, the knob on the sliding door to outside was broken, the ice machines only worked on two floors and were rusty, many days only one to two elevators were working, the televisions are the old analog, the kitchen was horrible in that the fridge was one sided and moved when opened, the microwave needed cleaning. No pens or pencils in rooms. Had to go to front desk for a pen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top