$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

3 stars
View map of 2207 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jun 28, 2009

Awesome getaway

Everything was all good and anything you needed was there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Not really close to the shopping centers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Au_naturale
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 25, 2009

Great Stay. Will go back!

The room was cleaned. The staff was friendly. The pool was clean. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 8, 2009

"Who cares about a clean room?"

The suites and executive room type is perfect for families with children. However, we had to go through 4 rooms before we could get settled in. 1st room had dirty sheets, 2nd needed to be vacuumed and the 3rd room had dirty sheets. What makes matters worse is that the staff didn't seem to care that the rooms were dirty or that I had to keep going from room to room to find one that met our satisfaction. They wound up checking us into the 2nd room that I helped the housekeeper clean before I woiuld let me toddler twins come into the room. Thanks to Orbitz for jumping in to intervene b/c without a clean room our 7 day vacation would have been ruined.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some of the buffets were severly overpriced. The food was good, but, who wants to pay $30 for a buffet???? You may as well go to a fine dining restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJCM
Business
PA
May 31, 2009

Nice hotel, friendly staff...

i loved this hotel, the only thing that i didnt like was the kithcen supplies..and slow draining shower drain. the kitchen pots and pans were not a non stick, so had to scrub pretty hard to get anything out of them,. and the drain was so slow, i could run a bath for my toddler and didnt have to worry bout it draining out before he was done. but the view from room was spectacular and the room was always tidy...would reccommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sena
Business
Durham, NC
May 26, 2009

Wonderful Stay

It is in a great location on S. Ocean Blvd. I was able to rest easy at night and wake up to a fantastic view of the beach each morning. We were there during "Bike Week", so the police had one side of the street blocked off, but that was a minor inconvenience and had nothing to do with the hotel itself. I liked having a kitchen in the unit, but there was no counter space, which was very prohibitive. Also, there wasn't any WiFi in the hotel, so I couldn't get onto the Internet. I was on the 12th floor, which didn't have an ice machine or vending machines. At first I was a little bummed, but I was able to make ice in my room (we had a full-sized refrigerator) and we bought drinks at a local store. Overall it was a great stay and I will consider staying here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out Broadway at the Beach; there are shops and restaurants and you can buy food to feed to the catfish. If you go, be sure to walk around before feeding the catfish -- some of the machines charge $.50 and some charge $.25. It's fun to watch the fish fight for the food. But watch out for the ducks, they steal the food from the catfish!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of two great kiddos
Business
NC
May 26, 2009

good location for the price

We went on a bad weekend (it was bike week). Not really a family friendly weekend at the beach as expected. But overall the hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were nice for the price. We will try this hotel again on a better weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandfather Kenny
Business
Columbia, SC
May 26, 2009

all ocean front rooms

The south end of Myrtle Beach is a very nice area, less traffic, the easy to get in and out of the hotel.  Our room was spotless, we had a great time, our 3 year old grandson enjoyed the pools and just worn himself out. For the price of our stay, it was an outstanding value. We will go back and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We go to Broadway at the Beach for a wide slection for dining and down to Murrells Inlet for seafood. We always get good food at either areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 24, 2009

Nice Hotel, Good Location, Great Rate

Took an Oceanfront Suite that included a Kitchenette. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. This is clearly not a new hotel but it is well maintained. There is a private access to the beach since it is an oceanfront hotel. The view out of the balcony is great. We got a room with 2 Queen Beds. It also had an extra bed that folds into the wall. There were 2 TVs, one in each room. The kitchenette had everything needed to cook meals. The hotel has a restaurant - which we did not visit since we ate in - a nice lobby, a swimming pool, couple of jacuzzis and some watersports for kids. It has a lot of lounge chairs by the pool and another bunch of them facing the ocean. There is also a little bar by the pool that offers cocktails and stuff. I got the room for an Orbitz rate of $90.00 per night - a very reasonable rate. Altogether, a very pleasant hotel for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRS. BLACKSTOCK
Business
SUMTER, SC
May 24, 2009

EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!

IT WAS MORE THAN WHAT I EXPECTED IT TO BE, I NEVER BOOKED A ROOM ONLINE,AND I MUST SAY I WAS VERY PLEASED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

THE HOTEL CAFE HAD VERY MODEST PRICES

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
May 19, 2009

great place

They got all the basics taken care of, and the Endless River was a unique and fun activity. (It's a pool in a long loop with a current that moves you along.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top