$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Reef Hotel

2 stars
2101 S.Ocean Blvd,, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
34 reviews
very cozy

it was very cozy, comfortable, every staff member was very helpful, and friendly. See full review

  • waiting to exhale
  • May 8, 2012
wonderful

The Reef Hotel was great! I would definately stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 30, 2007
Make plans now to treat your family to a great vacation at Myrtle Beach's fabulous REEF RESORT located on the South Beach. We're sure you will be delighted with the array of pools, family facilities and all oceanfront accommodations.
Every effort will be made to provide our guests comfortable surroundings and a family atmosphere so you can enjoy a very special family vacation together.
Guests to pay $3.75 on a daily basis as resort fee which covers pool and spa maintenance etc.. Single adults (18 - 25 years of age)are required to post a $250 cash security deposit at check in. The hotel does not provide irons, hairdryers or pool or beach towels. A $100.00 deposit is required for incidental charges on all reservations

Reef Hotel Rooms

3-I 2-Bedroom Suite
The room offers 2 Double beds (each in a separate bedroom) and 1 sleep sofa with cable/satellite TV, balcony, separate sitting area, climate control, air conditioning, internet access - dial-up, voice mail, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, range/oven, all cooking/eating utensils are provided wake-up calls, shower/tub combination, in-room safe, cribs (infant beds) available, smoking rooms.
4-J 1-Bedroom Suite
The room offers 2 Double beds and 1 sleep sofa with cable/satellite TV, balcony, separate sitting area, climate control, air conditioning, internet access - dial-up, voice mail, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, range-top/oven, all cooking/eating utensils are provided wake-up calls, shower/tub combination, in-room safe, cribs (infant beds) available, smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Reef Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6691 -78.9065
Area served
Myrtle Beach.
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport.(MYR)
Area description
Reef Hotel is located on the South end of Myrtle Beach. Reef Hotel is located at a distance of 2.5 miles from Myrtle Beach International Airport and driving time is approximately 10 minutes. We are within 5 miles of all major downtown attractions including Broadway at the Beacha nd the Pavillion.

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.5 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.7 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.5 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.9 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.7 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Reef Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jancamp00
NY
Apr 19, 2014

Really needs a revamp

I want to start by saying that every staff person I spoke to at this hotel was very helpful and friendly. The front desk people were professional. The pool cleaners did an excellent job keeping the pools and hot tub clean. Cleaning in this hotel left a lot to be desired. Areas around the ice machines on the 3rd floor were absolutely disgusting. Our bathroom had hairs from previous tenants. The stairway way dirty , if you preferred to use them instead of one of the two very slow elevators. Both of the beds were very comfortable . The very worn sofa sleeper was awful to sit on and worse to use for a bed. You know it's bad when teenagers complain. Another issue was the lack of privacy. Even though this was a suite, there were no doors on the bedroom. There was a constant line in front of the bathroom to use the only room that afforded any privacy. Other hotels I've stayed in in Myrtle Beach had bedroom doors. This did not. The infrastructure is old. Things are rusted under the paint and it needs a total overhaul. We really did enjoy its location on the beach but I will try a different hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buffyjean
NC
Dec 29, 2013

Off Season

Restaurant was closed due to off season. Hot tub was taped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lynnt
south Carolina
Mar 11, 2013

Good weekend get away

I took my daughter for her twenty first birthday. We did use the hot tubs and swimming pool. The rooms were big, but the furniture was out dated. The television piece on front was broke. They must have been remodeling with all the furniture that was sitting in the parking deck. But would I stay again. The answer would probably be yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
waiting to exhale
mrtyle beach
May 8, 2012

very cozy

it was very cozy, comfortable, every staff member was very helpful, and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diane1
Gaffney, SC, USA
Apr 2, 2012

great family room

The room layout was great and. the staff was minimum .Location was good, and the parking could be safer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

the aquarium

Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kate28
Bluffton, SC, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Family getaway

Great location. Good price for a last minute decision for a family getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Freebird
Charlottesville, Va
Sep 28, 2011

90% Great

I enjoyed my stay at The Reef Hotel except for two issues. 1) Somehow or another my reservation had been canceled by someone. However, the desk clerk was very helpful and finally got it straight. But I don't like spending 30 minutes trying to check in after driving for 7 hours. 2) There were no comfortable easy chairs in the room. There was a sleeper sofa and plenty of 'table chairs' but no soft, lean back in, put your feet up kind of chair, Other than those two issues, I have no complaints. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Freebird
Charlottesville, Va
Sep 28, 2011

90% Great

I enjoyed my stay at The Reef Hotel except for two issues. 1) Somehow or another my reservation had been canceled by someone. However, the desk clerk was very helpful and finally got it straight. But I don't like spending 30 minutes trying to check in after driving for 7 hours. 2) There were no comfortable easy chairs in the room. There was a sleeper sofa and plenty of 'table chairs' but no soft, lean back in, put your feet up kind of chair, Other than those two issues, I have no complaints. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lensman
Greenville, SC, USA
Sep 27, 2011

3 day weekend stay

The room was a bargin for the price, especially considering the location and the fact that it came with a suite and kitchen area. The room was clean but with the occasional stain on the carpet and some signs of wear-and-tear throughout the room. The condition was pretty much what one should expect for any ocean front hotel along the Myrtle Beach drag as these rooms tend to take a beating from sand, saltwater, and springbreak partygoers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Reef Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamaw
Charlotte, NC, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Family beach trip

My family and I really enjoyed our stay and will be staying with you again. The pool side entertainment was great and the overall experience was an enjoyable one. The staff could not have been any nicer and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Crabby Mikes is the best seafood in town and Angelos is the best Italian

Back to menu Return to top