$157 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elliottagain
Business
Boise, ID
Jul 19, 2011

Not the best, Not the worst

I was terrified of this hotel due to all the bad press this site gave it but it wasn't nearly as awful as people have said. You drive through a pretty rough area to get to it and it is true that the elevator situation is awkward. I had a bad knee but was able to walk the 8 flights of stairs down to check out, other elderly folks were livid about the 30 min wait. You get what you pay for here. It's a very dated hotel, not unclean but starting to look messy just from wear. We didn't have ANY problems with the staff, they look underpaid and overworked but they all greeted us everywhere we went. The couch sleeper was as uncomfortable as couch sleepers ever are...We stayed here because it was cheap and on the beach and that is what it came down to. The beach is amazing and the big selling point. There are a zillion other hotels just like it all along the beach, this entire area isn't going to be where you should stay if you are expecting 5 star hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium is fun but try and get the military discount if you can as the tickets are pricey.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Jul 19, 2011

Not a Palace for sure

Reviews had me terrified of this hotel after I booked it but our main concern was to be on the beach. The beach is amazing and the hotel sits right on it. Yes, the elevators are a hassle, check out early to avoid the rush. We waited 20 min and then walked down 8 flights to check out. The place itself is very dated, very 1980's and because it's so out dated, it looks shabby. We didn't have any trouble with the staff, they seemed overworked and underpaid but always polite. I probably wouldn't stay here again because I didn't like the area it was in. The breakfast is icky...if you can afford to go elsewhere, I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ripley's acquarium is kind of nice but spendy, get the military discount if you can, it reduces the price of a ticket from 20 bucks to about 5 and a half...

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
goldsboro nc
Jul 16, 2011

Not again

I was very disappointed by the pool. The pics of the pool area that were on the Internet does not show the real space. We could not get our room cleaned and the tv channels were coming in poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 12, 2011

great vacation!

view from the room was gorgeous & nice enough room to stay the week. Pools were nice and had a couple of jacuzzi's which were great relaxing way to the end the evening. Food at the hotel was horrible but luckily all restaurants and diners were good & close.Also, fitness room was a joke everything was broken but the saunas were usuable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

amazing seafood buffets & hungry howies had great pizza.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
klilly
Business
Mount Hope, WV
Jul 10, 2011

NEVER STAY AT THE PALACE RESORT

[...] Hotel worker using profanity in guest filled elevator, which there are only 3 of for 23 floors of rooms. Also, you have to take another elevator then to get to your car. Room was awful too. Was told it was one of the best they had, how sad. The breakfast was horrible as well. We tried it 2 times, then just went out each morning and paid so we could eat. Stayed at Myrtle for the last 7 years, worse vacation there ever, all due to the staff not helping and fixing a problem they made!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Amici's at broadway at the beach! GREAT FOOD and Quick service even when they were packed!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ill never stay there again
Business
Connecticut
Jul 5, 2011

Palace Resort

the customer service is in need of some serious training. trying to get breakfast every morning was a full inquisition. the elevators do not work properly and as a pregnant woman, was not thrilled to be walking three floors of the parking garage every day because that elevator only worked when it felt like it. the room had an awful musty smell that penetrated all our clothing. the bed was very uncomfortable. we checked out a day early. the hotel, as we were told, was only 35% full, yet they stuck us on the 18th floor so there was no way we could take the stairs even if we didnt feel like waiting upwards of 20 minutes, EVERY NIGHT for an elevator. oh, and a balcony? yeah right. two people couldn't even stand out there together. this is on a ANGLE OCEAN view room. I'm embarrassed to say i stayed at the palace resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 5, 2011

Fourth of July weekend @ the Palace

My friends and I rented two hotel rooms during our five night stay in Myrtle Beach. The staff at the hotel was very nice, and the facilities were decent. However, when we were checking out on our final day, we found that two dirty diapers had been thrown underneath the bed, and who knows how long they were there! That was pretty disgusting, but other than that the hotel was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
euron
Business
martinsville va
Jun 28, 2011

i love that beach !!!

my family enjoyed this hotel, the pool and beach the weather was perfect. we all wanted to turn around when we were leaving. should be back next time to enjoy vacation again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom with 5, 10, and 14 yr old!
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 25, 2011

MUST GO!!!!

The hotel was very clean and any staff we came in contact with were very friendly. It's not one of those hotels with all kind of kids activities or water parks and lazy rivers, but who needs that anyway? You have a beach and a million other things to do besides be around the hotel. The breakfast was great and for the adult time, drinks at the bar were very reasonable! We stayed in the angel oceanfront sun suite and the view was great. I've seen the reviews of the hotel and some weren't good at all. However, let me tell you the room we were in was very nice, and clean, and updated. We saw in a few other rooms and they were the same. I can't see how anyone could say they didn't enjoy their stay. I will certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone going there with or without kids!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Family Kingdom and it's water park are about a 15 min walk. 2nd ave pier about 20 min. The Boardwalk about 30 min. It's in about 10/15 min driving distance to everything. The beach is right out the back door!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
haleznm33
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 22, 2011

Excellent price! We saved hundreds.

We had a wonderful vacation. The hotel was a good choice for us. The room was clean, the staff was (for the most part) very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the view from our room and the location of the resort was great, close to all the shops, food, and fun. The Palace Resort was definitely a wonderful place to stay for the price we payed. The hotel also gives out the Vacation Member Benefits Card (VMB Card) which saves you a lot at local restaurants and businesses! Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have a sense of humor and are a fun, easy-going person, I would recommend eating at Dick's Last Resort. We had so much fun there. It's a short drive from the Palace Resort, but definitely worth the ride.

Back to menu Return to top