$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chevy Guy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 3, 2013

Wonderful place!

This was the third time we have stayed at the Palace and we really like it. The staff is pleasant and the rooms are very nice. Each room is like a timeshare and is decorated differently but they have all been clean and in good condition. One other reason we like the Palace is that they have a parking deck and I like keeping my car protected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leaving the ghetto
Business
Wichita, KS
Mar 28, 2013

This should be called "Ghetto Resort"

My husband, I and our 2 sons stayed in a 2 bedroom last summer. In our room the curtains were on backwards. I pulled a drawer out to put clothes in it and drawer fell out and landed on my foot. We had a <30" tube TV in our bedroom. The carpet throughout the suite was dirty and frayed. The boys' twin beds both had ripped comforters. One bed had to be fixed when we first got there as it was broken. Our bed was nothing but a slab of concrete and there were no extra pillows. No extra (non-ripped) comforters. When you sat on the couch you either sat in a hole or got poked by a spring. The decor was 1970's. The kitchen table looked like a garage sale special. The living room TV was a tube TV <20". The microwave and stove had burn marks. The counter-top was stained in the kitchen. The refrigerator was missing some shelves. The noise level wasn't too bad but we were on the 19th floor. Now for the rest of the resort....The only 2 elevators had a mind of their own. We never knew whether they were going to stop on the right floor or not. Plan on waiting 15 minutes for leaving and returning because of the elevators. The parking garage elevator was a little better which is good because you can never get a main level parking spot. The entryway was fairly clean and the staff at the front desk was nice, however the rest of the resort was dirty. The small fountain inside wasn't working and looked like it had not been updated since the 70's. The carpet was really gross all throughout. I ate the breakfast once and felt like I was eating cardboard-no wonder it's free. The concrete/stone in the indoor hot tubs were rough and cut my foot on. They also had lots of sand in the bottom and chalked full of chemicals to the point it made my eyes water. The pools on the ground floor looked dirty and also had sand in them. In the back of the resort there is no scenery to add to the beach experience. You look one way at the beautiful ocean and look back towards the resort and see "ghetto." We only stayed here because of family. This year we are returning to Myrtle Beach again and defiantly not staying here and hopefully not even visiting. The rooms on their website have to be from another place because they do not match what you actually get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristi
Business
Waxhaw, North Carolia
Jan 14, 2013

Family on a budget

We've stayed at this hotel a few times and have always loved it. It has a great contiental breakfast in the morning, nice hot tubs, close to a lot of things, good size room for our family of 4 and we always like the full kitchen if we want to just save some money by bringing our own food to cook.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fansy nancy
Business
belmont nc
Oct 1, 2012

fantastic will be back next september for sure

it was very nice ,clean and everything was close by .will definatly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOTHAPPY CAMPER
Business
WILMINGTON NC
Jul 11, 2012

NOT HAPPY

NOT GOOD, NOT HAPPY,WOULD NOT STAY THERE AGAIN,NEED TO CHANGE SOME THINGS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

JUST DONT STAY AT THE PALACE RESORT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ridindirty
Business
New Bern, NC
May 21, 2012

Exactly What I was Looking For

Let me start by saying that I have been going to Bike Week in Myrtle Beach for a while. I have stayed in many hotels throughout the Grand Strand area over the years. They have varied from the "hole in the wall" cheap hotels to the "ritzy" overpriced condos. I have definately been dissappointed more often than not with either the accomidations or the unappreciative staff. I can honestly say that I have NEVER been treated with the level of respect and thankfulness that I was treated with at this hotel. When I arrived the front desk staff was waiting to welcome me and get me checked in. They were cordial and explained to me where everything was. I proceeded to my room and when I got there I had a little trouble with the key card. I was able to gert in after fiddleing with it for a minute or so. I went back down to the parking area and on my way by the front desk I mentioned that I had a little trouble getting into my room. When I came back from the parking area with the rest of my luggage they had a maintenance man waiting to escort me to my room. When we arrived to my room he immediately fixed the issue, (weak batteries in the unit) and told me if I had any more trouble to call the front desk and ask for him. I could go on and on about all that the staff went out of their way to do for me, but suffice it to say they were great. The room was exactly as the internet conveyed them and I throughly enjoyed my stay. I will book every trip I go on to Myrtle Beach at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john19861234
Business
fayettville
May 21, 2012

friendly staff

I dident meet even one employe that wasent polite and respectful . Every one was kind and that's rare . I will be going back ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is close to you within 10 min

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Albertha
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
May 14, 2012

Great getaway

My experience was wonderful. The hotel is located at a wonderful spot. The view of the ocean is great. Would recommend the hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mossy1
Business
tn
May 12, 2012

better places and better service if you look around... dont settle cause price is good

construction was going on and we wasn't aware until we arrived. elevators were extremely slow, heated pools were cold, out of 6 hot tubs only one worked,we were there 4 days and our room didn't get cleaned any we complained every day and all they would tell us was come to the desk and we will give u what u need they wouldn't even bring it to us we complained to the manager and the housekeeping manager and nothing was done

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
E Love
Business
South Carolina
Mar 25, 2012

Not a deal

Hotel was in an OK location, needs renovations. People on the beach shooting fireworks all night (until after 2:30 AM) was the talk of everyone at breakfast and in the elevators. Hotel offers discounts on local attractions but one guy was on vacation so no one else could help us. Too many options at Myrtle Beach to go back to this dive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top