$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Palace Resort

3 stars
1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
168 reviews
Awesome weekend

Booked this as a last getaway for the year. Booking was painless, check in and check out was... See full review

  • SHMILY72
  • Oct 6, 2014
birthday get away

The hotel was nice, clean and fun. Great view of the ocean. absolutely loved it. See full review

  • romar1977
  • Sep 30, 2014
*** Minimum check-in age: 23 years old *** Oceanfront resort, on the south-end of Myrtle Beach, offering sun suites with full kitchens to larger one and two bedroom condos with living rooms and full-sized kitchens. All units include free-in room coffee and private balconies with great views of the ocean. Amenities include outdoor pool (enclosed in cooler months), indoor/outdoor whirlpools, restaurant, lounge, exercise room and steam and sauna rooms. Myrtle Beach International Airport - 2.4 Miles SE. *** All $100 USD security deposit per room is required upon check-in. This deposit will be refunded upon check-out and inspection of the room. ***

Hotel Map

33.6732 -78.9016
Area served
Our convenient location along the oceanfront of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, gives you and your family quick and easy access to all the fun and excitement Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand have to offer, like water parks, and amusement parks.
Nearby airports
Located approximately 1.5 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport (MYR).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palace Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Palace Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and Private Balcony. Full kitchen, In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanfront 2 BR Condo
1 Queen bed, 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa, 2 Twin Beds, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In-room safe. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront 1 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanview 2 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa, 2 Twins, 2 Baths, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In room safes. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen bed and 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa with private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.3 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Dining

Free Breakfast for Two
Reservations include free daily buffet breakfast for two, which typically includes scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, fruit, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, ham, corned beef hash, toast, and a beverage.
The Palace Lounge
Have a cocktail at our lounge while enjoying spectacular ocean views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Castle Meeting Room - The Castle Meeting Room can host approximately 65 people for your next group or meeting event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 168
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.2

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duncan
Jun 23, 2008

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place

I go to Myrtle Beach 3 or 4 times a year, and on at least one trip each year I try a new hotel. The fixtures and appliances have not been updated since the early 80's; the carpet probably hasn't been cleaned in as long - there were large stains and visible trash and dirt on the carpet in every room. The beds were uncomfortable at best. The angle oceanfront room was a side view at best; the door to the balcony was broken, as were the chairs on the balcony. The cleaning of the pools daily was very poor as was their upkeep - I was afraid to let my family swim in them. The elevators were extremely slow, and at least one was broken each day - plan to wait 15 minutes or more to get one during the busy season. The one thing I actually enjoyed was the fountain on the lobby level - perhaps since I had to wait there so often for an elevator. This hotel is long overdue for renovations in many, many areas - and it really shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clover, SC
Aug 1, 2008

HOTEL FROM HELL

Rooms were nevered clean the staff thought it was funny. 23 floors and only 3 evetalors there wasn't a day that went by that any of them work and some days none worked at all. My door was old and needed to be fixed hard to get in the room. I had to clean and vaccum my own room. No clean sheets or towels. Found the maid two rooms down a sleep in someones room and she had been there over 2 hours. The staff at the front desk are rude to everyone they have pepole calling your room starting at 7:00 am wanting your opion of the holtel. Used beds stains in couchs and chairs the walls were yellow, dirty dishes in the dish washer when we checked in dirty sheets on our bed. And we wasn't the only couple mad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lindenhurst, NY
Aug 2, 2008

Never Again

The service was terrible, Late check in, bad service, employees had attitudes. should I go on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

VERY DISSAPOINTING EXPERIENCE

The Palace Hotel was very unconfortable, the room was much smaller that we though, the small bed was surrounded by 2 walls, no room to enter, just straigh from top of the bed, the floor was dirty, the bath tub was full of hair, the water there took about half an hour to get down; we asked for a different room, and was worse the fridge was all rusted , the TV set was about 20 years old and with a hole in one of the speakers. The personal at the front desk, very rude not even a welcome or just a hello make you feel like, well here is another customer, get done with them as soon as possible, at the check out time, worse, not even, THANK YOU AND HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN SOON; I was in the Hospitality business for many years, and travel a lot on business and was one if not the worse experience I've have so far. The only good thing if I can say something was the location, next to the ocean, but is plenty of Hotels in the area, that I will choose in a hearbeat. Not a good choice we regret it, a couple behind us in check in time left the place as soon they saw their room, We stayed because we have kids and were tired from the trip, but we wanted to leave too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of attraccions and shopping on the Ocean Blvd Strip, but not enough of parking spaces.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nitro
Aug 11, 2008

Terrible hotel

This hotwl is extremely run down and outdated. The hotel checkin was very probilmatic due to the fact that there are only 6 parking spaces for arrival and depature for a twenty floor building also the eleveator was slow sometimes taking over 20 min to arrive. The room was in poor condition with broken light fixtures, torn furniture wooden doors that were splintered apart as well as no long distance service on the phone or high speed internet. The HVAC unit thumped and ran loudly all three nights even after mainienance was informed by myself on the first day. The staff was exteremly rude the maid only swept ounce in 3days and the brekfast staff did not speak english and was also very rude. THIS HOTEL NEEDS REMODELED AND NEW HELP HIRED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Jul 30, 2008

Not really a Resort.

I was very disappointed when I arrived to the Palace Resort. The staff was very friendly, but the "resort" was very run down and dirty. When we arrived there was only one elevator working for over 20 floors. We finally got into the room and the floor was beyond dirty and the carpet stained. The televisions were outdated and no one wanted to sit on the chairs - they were so dirty. I went back downstairs and complained to the receptionist and he gladly gave us another room. This room was worst. The refrigerator had rust spots on the outside and the room was dirtier than the first. There was only one television in the sitting area and this was a two bedroom suite. There was no way I was letting my children sit on the furniture or on the floor. I was really disappointed with this hotel. It really needs some major refurbishing and updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MsLisa
Business
Ranlo, North Carolina
Jul 31, 2009

The Worse in the world!!!!

I will NEVER return or recommend the PALACE to anyone I know. We had to look at 5 different rooms before we found a room CLEAN enough to use, we were woke up 3 of the 4 mornings we were there before 8am by the hotel staff needing in for "water leak" that was not coming from our room, the hotel staff NEVER cleaned the room, they house cleaning staff knocked on our door every am just to ask if we needed anything and never had anything with them (no cleaning supplies, towels, vaccum, trash bags, etc.) and we ended up @ the front desk asking for towels and wash cloths after we had told the staff we needed fresh ones. The hotel also only had 3 elevators to accomodate 22 floors of guest; we always had to wait a long time for one and it was always full when we would get on. The steam room, pools, hot tubs, and sauna all were filthy and smelled bad. I never once saw any staff cleaning any of them even after I personally told the front desk staff several times how nasty they were. We were so disgusted with the way the staff acted like these things were not priority and the way that they acted toward us as if we were asking them for a million bucks! The staff was terrible, impolite, rude, and very unprofessional compared to any other staff we have ever encountered. This was the the worse hotel/resort we have ever been to in our lives. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone, not even my worse enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was right outside the hotel thank goodness! We stayed there most of the time to escape the hotel itself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WASHINGTON, DC
Sep 10, 2009

HORRIBLE STAY

HORRIBLE STAY , RUDE STAFF, BROKEN SOFA BED, THEY TRIED TO MOVE US TO ANOTHER ROOM THE NEXT DAY , THE SOFABED WAS BROKEN AS WELL, AT THIS POINT WE HAD ONE MORE NIGHT WE JUST STAYED IN THE ROOM , THE OTHER ROOM WAS 1OO TIMES WORSE , THE MANAGER SPOKE TO US THAT NIGHT AND STATED HE WOULD RE-IMBURSE USE 10 OR 20% , THE NEXT DAY HE LOOKED AT US AND DID NOT REMEMBER US AT ALL, OR REMEMBER THE CONVERSATION, HE THEN STATED THAT WE HAD TO TAKE IT UPON OURSELVES TO CALL ORBITZ AND DEAL WITH IT THROUGH THEM SINCE WE MADE RESERVATIONS THROUGH THEM,EVEN THOUGH THEY'RE HOTEL IS WHERE THEY HAVE THE BROKEN SOFA BEDS? , THEY APPARENTLY HAVE A LIST OF ALL THE ROOMS WITH DEFECTS IN WHICH I DON'T KNOW WHY THEY STILL OFFER THE ROOM , HORRIBLE DO NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL. WISHED WE WOULD OF STAYED IN THE NORTH SIDE OF MYRTLE BEACH MUCH NICER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, MD
Apr 25, 2011

Experience at the Palace Resort

Rooms are not well maintained at all, all the amenities in the rooms are very old, there are damp smell coming from the room. This was one of my worst trips & hotel stay I had taken. Also my car was stolen from the hotel parking lot. Security is also not up to the standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 8, 2011

Aweful Hotel

The Palace Resort was aweful! There was no covered pool as advertised, the hotel is old and very dirty, the room was okay- would have been better is it was clean, the computers went down, and the staff wasn't sure how to fix them. We left the Palace and was upgraded to there sister hotel-The Landmark, which was okay. However, the maid service was aweful they never vacuumed our room or cleaned the tables. They only made the beds and provided clean towels.The pool area had mold around the floors and dripping down from the ceiling. We will never and I mean never book at either hotel again. It took over two hours to make the switch to their sister hotel which was right and I mean right next door!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several good options for dining and shopping on Kings Hwy., a short distance from Ocean Blvd.,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top