$157 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Danville, Va
Apr 5, 2011

Great location and plesant staff

Staff were very friendly and the hot breakfast was nice. Hotel and room were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mid Atlantic travels
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 11, 2011

Pleasant Palace

The Palace is nice enough. Although it is obvious is was built more than a ew years ago, it is kept in nice enough condition to be a good place to stay. The breakfast food could be better. But the layout of our room waas really great, especially for having a toddler with us. Would definitely stay again, but not at any higher of a rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
watertown ct
May 20, 2011

reviews tell it all

when we got at the hotel we were slammed with extra fees that we were not aware of. so make sure you keep your pockets full. as well as a security deposit that we got back at end no biggy. When we entered room was nice but dated the paint was peeling.The balcony view was beautifull(oceanview)Don't waste money on city view because you will look at the hotel right next door. NO indoor pool.Not heated. the jacuzzis were nice 3 outside. one inside no jets good for young kids because inside.housekeeping wasn't great didn't come everyday. good luck staff was friendly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JerJersmom
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 9, 2011

Family Vacation

The front desk staff at the Palace were very helpful. Our Navigation took us to surf side beach and John talked us to the hotel. Check in was fast we arrived before check in and there was a room ready for us. My only complaint about the room was the let out couch was filthy so instead of my husband and I sleeping there and our 2year old Sleeping in the bed we all shared the same bed..I suppose the front desk would have switched the rooms had we asked..(as we saw other guest requesting new rooms) it just was not that big of a deal..because other than that the room was great. Lovely bathroom, beautiful view and house keeping kept coming back until we were out of the room. The lady checking in guest at breakfast was very friendly. The Beach was beautiful. We will def. stay at the Palace again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francsco, CA
Jun 17, 2011

Good hotel for the price

I was looking for a decent hotel at a good price & I was happy with what I got. NOTE: this "hotel" seems to be made up of private units that are rented out to vacationers. I assume that owners must follow some guidelines, but each owner makes decisions as to how to decorate, etc. So it is luck of the draw, as to how your unit will compare to the one next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This unit is (somewhat) centrally located, and food is available in the bldg & within walking distance, but you will probably wish to drive 5 minutes or more for food, entertainment & activities.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
haleznm33
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 22, 2011

Excellent price! We saved hundreds.

We had a wonderful vacation. The hotel was a good choice for us. The room was clean, the staff was (for the most part) very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the view from our room and the location of the resort was great, close to all the shops, food, and fun. The Palace Resort was definitely a wonderful place to stay for the price we payed. The hotel also gives out the Vacation Member Benefits Card (VMB Card) which saves you a lot at local restaurants and businesses! Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have a sense of humor and are a fun, easy-going person, I would recommend eating at Dick's Last Resort. We had so much fun there. It's a short drive from the Palace Resort, but definitely worth the ride.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 12, 2011

great vacation!

view from the room was gorgeous & nice enough room to stay the week. Pools were nice and had a couple of jacuzzi's which were great relaxing way to the end the evening. Food at the hotel was horrible but luckily all restaurants and diners were good & close.Also, fitness room was a joke everything was broken but the saunas were usuable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

amazing seafood buffets & hungry howies had great pizza.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elliottagain
Business
Boise, ID
Jul 19, 2011

Not the best, Not the worst

I was terrified of this hotel due to all the bad press this site gave it but it wasn't nearly as awful as people have said. You drive through a pretty rough area to get to it and it is true that the elevator situation is awkward. I had a bad knee but was able to walk the 8 flights of stairs down to check out, other elderly folks were livid about the 30 min wait. You get what you pay for here. It's a very dated hotel, not unclean but starting to look messy just from wear. We didn't have ANY problems with the staff, they look underpaid and overworked but they all greeted us everywhere we went. The couch sleeper was as uncomfortable as couch sleepers ever are...We stayed here because it was cheap and on the beach and that is what it came down to. The beach is amazing and the big selling point. There are a zillion other hotels just like it all along the beach, this entire area isn't going to be where you should stay if you are expecting 5 star hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium is fun but try and get the military discount if you can as the tickets are pricey.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Jul 19, 2011

Not a Palace for sure

Reviews had me terrified of this hotel after I booked it but our main concern was to be on the beach. The beach is amazing and the hotel sits right on it. Yes, the elevators are a hassle, check out early to avoid the rush. We waited 20 min and then walked down 8 flights to check out. The place itself is very dated, very 1980's and because it's so out dated, it looks shabby. We didn't have any trouble with the staff, they seemed overworked and underpaid but always polite. I probably wouldn't stay here again because I didn't like the area it was in. The breakfast is icky...if you can afford to go elsewhere, I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ripley's acquarium is kind of nice but spendy, get the military discount if you can, it reduces the price of a ticket from 20 bucks to about 5 and a half...

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The hip mommy
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Aug 3, 2011

Very good view of beach

Our hotel room view of the beach and town was beautiful, we were on the twenty second floor. The elevators are very slow and not very clean, they are always wet and sandy from the beach. Pools and hot tubs close very early. The free breakfast every morning is good. The shops are far to walk to and the restaurants are even further. Overall it was pretty good, not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium is very expensive and not at all worth the money you spend for admission, Neither is Ripleys theatre or museum. The shops near the aquarium are good.

Back to menu Return to top