Palace Resort

3 stars
1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
165 reviews
Wonderful place!

This was the third time we have stayed at the Palace and we really like it. The staff is pleasant... See full review

  • Chevy Guy
  • Apr 3, 2013
fantastic will be back next september for sure

it was very nice ,clean and everything was close by .will definatly stay here again. See full review

  • fansy nancy
  • Oct 1, 2012
*** Minimum check-in age: 23 years old *** Oceanfront resort, on the south-end of Myrtle Beach, offering sun suites with full kitchens to larger one and two bedroom condos with living rooms and full-sized kitchens. All units include free-in room coffee and private balconies with great views of the ocean. Amenities include outdoor pool (enclosed in cooler months), indoor/outdoor whirlpools, restaurant, lounge, exercise room and steam and sauna rooms. Myrtle Beach International Airport - 2.4 Miles SE. *** All $100 USD security deposit per room is required upon check-in. This deposit will be refunded upon check-out and inspection of the room. ***

Hotel Map

33.6732 -78.9016
Area served
Our convenient location along the oceanfront of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, gives you and your family quick and easy access to all the fun and excitement Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand have to offer, like water parks, and amusement parks.
Nearby airports
Located approximately 1.5 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport (MYR).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palace Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Palace Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and Private Balcony. Full kitchen, In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanfront 2 BR Condo
1 Queen bed, 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa, 2 Twin Beds, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In-room safe. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront 1 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanview 2 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa, 2 Twins, 2 Baths, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In room safes. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen bed and 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa with private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.3 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Castle Meeting Room - The Castle Meeting Room can host approximately 65 people for your next group or meeting event.

Dining

Free Breakfast for Two
Reservations include free daily buffet breakfast for two, which typically includes scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, fruit, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, ham, corned beef hash, toast, and a beverage.
The Palace Lounge
Have a cocktail at our lounge while enjoying spectacular ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lenoir, NC
Jul 29, 2009

the good, bad & ugly

The front desk staff were surly & unfriendly, the elevators old & slow, 1 even had a permit pending as of Aug. 08. The room's carpet & counter tops were severely stained. The pools were just nasty w/debris & the hot tubs didn't work! It is not convient for anyone except amusement park fans, even that is quite a walk. There was no tissue in the room, we had to ask a few times to get it. The housekeeping & janitorial staff were great & the view was wonderful, but overall was not a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

amusement park is a long walk.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
goldsboro nc
Jul 16, 2011

Not again

I was very disappointed by the pool. The pics of the pool area that were on the Internet does not show the real space. We could not get our room cleaned and the tv channels were coming in poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
klilly
Mount Hope, WV
Jul 10, 2011

NEVER STAY AT THE PALACE RESORT

[...] Hotel worker using profanity in guest filled elevator, which there are only 3 of for 23 floors of rooms. Also, you have to take another elevator then to get to your car. Room was awful too. Was told it was one of the best they had, how sad. The breakfast was horrible as well. We tried it 2 times, then just went out each morning and paid so we could eat. Stayed at Myrtle for the last 7 years, worse vacation there ever, all due to the staff not helping and fixing a problem they made!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Amici's at broadway at the beach! GREAT FOOD and Quick service even when they were packed!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sucky Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Columbia, SC
Feb 13, 2011

THIS PLACE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!

This hotel was so [*] nasty! When we arrived I had to pay a stupid resort fee. The hotel was stuck in the 80's and smelled like smoke. The room was okay but the hot water only lasted 3-5 minutes. The free breakfast tasted aweful. The pool and hot tub sucked. The parking garage was nasty and the elevator you used to go up and down made some scary noises. I will never go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Use coupons while you are there and you can save lots of money!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Bragg NC
Apr 11, 2011

Not as I expected

[...] the room was dirty, there was someone else's hair in the shower and on the towels. The bed felt like I was sleeping on a boxspring. Even though I put a do not disturb sign on the door house keeping kocked on my door until they woke us up and insisted they needed to clean. When I told them no we are sleeping they came back 30 min. later doing the same thing. The hot tub smelled like pure bleach and you could not enjoy it because you could not breath. Also most of the excercise equipment was broken so I was not able to workout there and that was one reason we decided to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor Frog is a great club and near by

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey City, NJ
Oct 30, 2008

Front Desk

I would not recoomend this place to anyone. The upgraded room was a 1 bedroom but had a broken picture frame over the couch. peeling wall paper and the smell in the carpet was bad. we opened the terrace door when possible to air out the room. the restaurant was dingy and the bar area also could have been cleaned better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Grand strand mall and bway at the beach

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrison Me.
Feb 21, 2011

1957 era old and painted over alot

Hotel is different in person then the online advertising represents. Looks very used and old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Helpful hint! Stay somewhere else.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danita
Columbia
Sep 6, 2011

Would not go back!

Hidden fees, the hotel only had 3 elevators for 23 floors, the sheets on the bed look like they have been used for over a year, I had bugs on my comforter, the masterbedroom tv was a 13 inch in the air with no remote, and the door was glued closed so I couldnt even use it to view the ocean! Would NEVEr go back there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 8, 2011

Aweful Hotel

The Palace Resort was aweful! There was no covered pool as advertised, the hotel is old and very dirty, the room was okay- would have been better is it was clean, the computers went down, and the staff wasn't sure how to fix them. We left the Palace and was upgraded to there sister hotel-The Landmark, which was okay. However, the maid service was aweful they never vacuumed our room or cleaned the tables. They only made the beds and provided clean towels.The pool area had mold around the floors and dripping down from the ceiling. We will never and I mean never book at either hotel again. It took over two hours to make the switch to their sister hotel which was right and I mean right next door!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several good options for dining and shopping on Kings Hwy., a short distance from Ocean Blvd.,

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frederick, MD
Apr 25, 2011

Experience at the Palace Resort

Rooms are not well maintained at all, all the amenities in the rooms are very old, there are damp smell coming from the room. This was one of my worst trips & hotel stay I had taken. Also my car was stolen from the hotel parking lot. Security is also not up to the standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top