$46 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

Palace Resort

3 stars
1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
168 reviews
Awesome weekend

Booked this as a last getaway for the year. Booking was painless, check in and check out was... See full review

  • SHMILY72
  • Oct 6, 2014
birthday get away

The hotel was nice, clean and fun. Great view of the ocean. absolutely loved it. See full review

  • romar1977
  • Sep 30, 2014
*** Minimum check-in age: 23 years old *** Oceanfront resort, on the south-end of Myrtle Beach, offering sun suites with full kitchens to larger one and two bedroom condos with living rooms and full-sized kitchens. All units include free-in room coffee and private balconies with great views of the ocean. Amenities include outdoor pool (enclosed in cooler months), indoor/outdoor whirlpools, restaurant, lounge, exercise room and steam and sauna rooms. Myrtle Beach International Airport - 2.4 Miles SE. *** All $100 USD security deposit per room is required upon check-in. This deposit will be refunded upon check-out and inspection of the room. ***

Hotel Map

33.6732 -78.9016
Area served
Our convenient location along the oceanfront of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, gives you and your family quick and easy access to all the fun and excitement Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand have to offer, like water parks, and amusement parks.
Nearby airports
Located approximately 1.5 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport (MYR).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palace Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Palace Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and Private Balcony. Full kitchen, In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanfront 2 BR Condo
1 Queen bed, 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa, 2 Twin Beds, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In-room safe. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront 1 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanview 2 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa, 2 Twins, 2 Baths, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In room safes. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen bed and 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa with private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.3 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Castle Meeting Room - The Castle Meeting Room can host approximately 65 people for your next group or meeting event.

Dining

Free Breakfast for Two
Reservations include free daily buffet breakfast for two, which typically includes scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, fruit, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, ham, corned beef hash, toast, and a beverage.
The Palace Lounge
Have a cocktail at our lounge while enjoying spectacular ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
THGAL
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 2, 2011

Good for the price

It's really good for the price/nice & clean & free breakfast/Staff are nice.Rooms are a bit old, but acceptable. Mattress needs to be replaced as it's too old and uncomfortable. That's actually the only complint I have for this hotel. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach SC
Apr 7, 2011

Okay

We have stayed at several hotels in Myrtle Beach. For the price the room was fine. The hotel is older but kept very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Was very disappointed the indoor hot tub was not working. I called beforehand and was told there were no dvd's in the rooms. We hauled our own and there was a dvd build right in the t.v. Disappointed we missed the free breakfast. We assumed it was until 11 a.m. like the other hotels we stayed in the past. It was 10 a.m. our fault. Would recommend for the price if u didnt like an indoor pool or hot tub in cooler or storming weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

any restaurant at the Market Commons

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Danville, Va
Apr 5, 2011

Great location and plesant staff

Staff were very friendly and the hot breakfast was nice. Hotel and room were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mid Atlantic travels
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 11, 2011

Pleasant Palace

The Palace is nice enough. Although it is obvious is was built more than a ew years ago, it is kept in nice enough condition to be a good place to stay. The breakfast food could be better. But the layout of our room waas really great, especially for having a toddler with us. Would definitely stay again, but not at any higher of a rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
watertown ct
May 20, 2011

reviews tell it all

when we got at the hotel we were slammed with extra fees that we were not aware of. so make sure you keep your pockets full. as well as a security deposit that we got back at end no biggy. When we entered room was nice but dated the paint was peeling.The balcony view was beautifull(oceanview)Don't waste money on city view because you will look at the hotel right next door. NO indoor pool.Not heated. the jacuzzis were nice 3 outside. one inside no jets good for young kids because inside.housekeeping wasn't great didn't come everyday. good luck staff was friendly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JerJersmom
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 9, 2011

Family Vacation

The front desk staff at the Palace were very helpful. Our Navigation took us to surf side beach and John talked us to the hotel. Check in was fast we arrived before check in and there was a room ready for us. My only complaint about the room was the let out couch was filthy so instead of my husband and I sleeping there and our 2year old Sleeping in the bed we all shared the same bed..I suppose the front desk would have switched the rooms had we asked..(as we saw other guest requesting new rooms) it just was not that big of a deal..because other than that the room was great. Lovely bathroom, beautiful view and house keeping kept coming back until we were out of the room. The lady checking in guest at breakfast was very friendly. The Beach was beautiful. We will def. stay at the Palace again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francsco, CA
Jun 17, 2011

Good hotel for the price

I was looking for a decent hotel at a good price & I was happy with what I got. NOTE: this "hotel" seems to be made up of private units that are rented out to vacationers. I assume that owners must follow some guidelines, but each owner makes decisions as to how to decorate, etc. So it is luck of the draw, as to how your unit will compare to the one next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This unit is (somewhat) centrally located, and food is available in the bldg & within walking distance, but you will probably wish to drive 5 minutes or more for food, entertainment & activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
haleznm33
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 22, 2011

Excellent price! We saved hundreds.

We had a wonderful vacation. The hotel was a good choice for us. The room was clean, the staff was (for the most part) very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the view from our room and the location of the resort was great, close to all the shops, food, and fun. The Palace Resort was definitely a wonderful place to stay for the price we payed. The hotel also gives out the Vacation Member Benefits Card (VMB Card) which saves you a lot at local restaurants and businesses! Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have a sense of humor and are a fun, easy-going person, I would recommend eating at Dick's Last Resort. We had so much fun there. It's a short drive from the Palace Resort, but definitely worth the ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 12, 2011

great vacation!

view from the room was gorgeous & nice enough room to stay the week. Pools were nice and had a couple of jacuzzi's which were great relaxing way to the end the evening. Food at the hotel was horrible but luckily all restaurants and diners were good & close.Also, fitness room was a joke everything was broken but the saunas were usuable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

amazing seafood buffets & hungry howies had great pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elliottagain
Business
Boise, ID
Jul 19, 2011

Not the best, Not the worst

I was terrified of this hotel due to all the bad press this site gave it but it wasn't nearly as awful as people have said. You drive through a pretty rough area to get to it and it is true that the elevator situation is awkward. I had a bad knee but was able to walk the 8 flights of stairs down to check out, other elderly folks were livid about the 30 min wait. You get what you pay for here. It's a very dated hotel, not unclean but starting to look messy just from wear. We didn't have ANY problems with the staff, they look underpaid and overworked but they all greeted us everywhere we went. The couch sleeper was as uncomfortable as couch sleepers ever are...We stayed here because it was cheap and on the beach and that is what it came down to. The beach is amazing and the big selling point. There are a zillion other hotels just like it all along the beach, this entire area isn't going to be where you should stay if you are expecting 5 star hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium is fun but try and get the military discount if you can as the tickets are pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top