$157 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, MD
Apr 25, 2011

Experience at the Palace Resort

Rooms are not well maintained at all, all the amenities in the rooms are very old, there are damp smell coming from the room. This was one of my worst trips & hotel stay I had taken. Also my car was stolen from the hotel parking lot. Security is also not up to the standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr vass
Business
cherryville nc
Apr 24, 2011

great family get away

hot tub swim walk the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, New York
Apr 19, 2011

Extremely dissapointing

Upon arrival, we were extremely dissapointed. We arrived a bit past midnight after a long drive with my husband, the person at the front desk was glossy eyed, not paying attention, and was jittery. I'll give you it was late, but he was not right. The lobby smelled of drugs, cleaning solutions, and was filthy. We were tired, so we decided to go up to our room in hopes it would be better. What a mistake! We took the elevator, which barely fit all our luggage, the same smell ws throughout the whole building. We arrived in our room, the smell was unbareable. We had to open up our balcony - which was the only good part of the hotel stay. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and everyday we had the balcony door open in hopes the smell would retreat but it didn't. The bathroom shower curtain looked like it had not been changed in over a year, it was filthy, and you didn't feel clean after a shower. The staff was unfriendly when trying to get advice about the local area. The free breakfast in the morning was not even worth it, we ended up going out to eat afterwards anyway. Overall, we would have preferred a better hotel. I suppose you get what you pay for. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went parasailing a short drive down the beach right next to Damon's grill. The staff was wonderful, they were extremely pleasant, and made us feel very safe. Plus - there was a price special! Can't be that if you're on a budget!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mooresville North Carolina
Apr 18, 2011

Great weekend for two

Location was great with ocean view; near food and shopping. Rooms were large and well furnished. Many conveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We were delighted at the price and what was offered for the money.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Apr 18, 2011

birthday trip

[...]beds were hard as a rock [...] will not stay at this hotel ever again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

wonderworks was great

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa and Nana
Business
Sanford
Apr 17, 2011

great room for price and good view

went to see Smokey Robinson at the Alabama Theatre view of the ocean was great and enjoyed our room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

everything within a short distance

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Bragg NC
Apr 11, 2011

Not as I expected

[...] the room was dirty, there was someone else's hair in the shower and on the towels. The bed felt like I was sleeping on a boxspring. Even though I put a do not disturb sign on the door house keeping kocked on my door until they woke us up and insisted they needed to clean. When I told them no we are sleeping they came back 30 min. later doing the same thing. The hot tub smelled like pure bleach and you could not enjoy it because you could not breath. Also most of the excercise equipment was broken so I was not able to workout there and that was one reason we decided to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor Frog is a great club and near by

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockingham, NC
Apr 11, 2011

clean hotel

hotel was older but very very clean, the breakfast was ok but on the cheaper side. Was disappointed in the indoor pool it was inclosed but connected to the out side pool and it was not heated. Overall we enjoyed our stay the veiw from our balcony was very nice, The staff went out of their way to be helpful and kind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

california pizza

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Apr 11, 2011

You get what you pay for

Was alright. The living room and kitchen area were nice. The "master" bedroom was smaller than ever. The other bedroom had 2 small beds in there. One was so close to the wall that it wasnt funny. The tvs in the hotel were just as old as I if not older and I was born in the 80's. There was no indoor pool for the kids to swim in. So they had to get in this small hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All of the better shopping and dining places are a street over from the boardwalk.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jahern65
Business
Aberdeen,NC
Apr 11, 2011

Ok Place to stay

Went to front desk and asked for extra pillows and they said that they couldn't get to them. The lounge restaurant was excellent and the spa and other things were good. It was very close to area attractions. We had a nice room. One problem was that the bed was placed in the wrong place. We had to squeeze between the walls to get to bed. I would probably or probably not stay there again. The choice will be Yours. We had a good time though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top