$97 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJCM
Business
PA
Jun 7, 2011

awesome view from 23rd floor!

it was an okay stay.. had some minor things happen. but nothing that wouldnt prevent us from styaing there again.. [...]their breakfast was free and awesome! the staff was very friendly and helful.. and the room was great and met our family's needs :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

def go eat at Cooter's backyard bar and grill! great food there!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
watertown ct
May 20, 2011

reviews tell it all

when we got at the hotel we were slammed with extra fees that we were not aware of. so make sure you keep your pockets full. as well as a security deposit that we got back at end no biggy. When we entered room was nice but dated the paint was peeling.The balcony view was beautifull(oceanview)Don't waste money on city view because you will look at the hotel right next door. NO indoor pool.Not heated. the jacuzzis were nice 3 outside. one inside no jets good for young kids because inside.housekeeping wasn't great didn't come everyday. good luck staff was friendly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bad chick
Business
charlotte
May 17, 2011

great get away

we went to the boardwalk and ate great seafood, everything was close that you can walk or drive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel-Ferreira
Business
Greensboro, NC
May 15, 2011

Great Hotel for the price

Great location, clean rooms and excellent service. Price is excellent for an Hotel right on the sand... breakfast was great. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth IN
May 9, 2011

was OK, but not great

Staff was very nice and helpful. But the room was not in very good shape. We didn't care for the room layout, but that was us. The bathroom had a large amount of water damage in it, making it dirty. We won't be staying there again. There are so many places on the beach to stay, I think we could have done better. I would have left, but my husband didn't want to move our things again. We had to drive for most everything we did, which we didn't care for. For the most part, the only things on Ocean Blvd. are hotels & resorts. The area was very quite. Beach was very clean. Drove to Broadway on the Beach,(three times) which we enjoyed very much. There was a hot breakfast every morning..but it was the same thing every morning. Never saw a newpaper, as was in the ad (daily paper). We most likely will go back to Virginia Beach next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
THGAL
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 2, 2011

Good for the price

It's really good for the price/nice & clean & free breakfast/Staff are nice.Rooms are a bit old, but acceptable. Mattress needs to be replaced as it's too old and uncomfortable. That's actually the only complint I have for this hotel. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 27, 2011

Great condo poor housekeeping

The condo wasw great, the location was great, access to the beach was easy and close. There was no washer and dryer in unit which would have been helpful. The beds were comfortable. Everything we needed was in the condo. The housekeeping was lacking. The first day the housekeeping included making beds, sweeping, cleaning of both bathrooms and empting of trash. After the first day, we went from doing half of the condo to doing nothing. Repeated calls finally got some results but by then we were leaving. Front desk people were helpful, breakfast was included and was adequate. Elevator was slow at busy parts of day. Easy access for those using walkers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great food and wine at the Sea Captain--go early or expect to wait but it is worth it.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, MD
Apr 25, 2011

Experience at the Palace Resort

Rooms are not well maintained at all, all the amenities in the rooms are very old, there are damp smell coming from the room. This was one of my worst trips & hotel stay I had taken. Also my car was stolen from the hotel parking lot. Security is also not up to the standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr vass
Business
cherryville nc
Apr 24, 2011

great family get away

hot tub swim walk the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, New York
Apr 19, 2011

Extremely dissapointing

Upon arrival, we were extremely dissapointed. We arrived a bit past midnight after a long drive with my husband, the person at the front desk was glossy eyed, not paying attention, and was jittery. I'll give you it was late, but he was not right. The lobby smelled of drugs, cleaning solutions, and was filthy. We were tired, so we decided to go up to our room in hopes it would be better. What a mistake! We took the elevator, which barely fit all our luggage, the same smell ws throughout the whole building. We arrived in our room, the smell was unbareable. We had to open up our balcony - which was the only good part of the hotel stay. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and everyday we had the balcony door open in hopes the smell would retreat but it didn't. The bathroom shower curtain looked like it had not been changed in over a year, it was filthy, and you didn't feel clean after a shower. The staff was unfriendly when trying to get advice about the local area. The free breakfast in the morning was not even worth it, we ended up going out to eat afterwards anyway. Overall, we would have preferred a better hotel. I suppose you get what you pay for. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went parasailing a short drive down the beach right next to Damon's grill. The staff was wonderful, they were extremely pleasant, and made us feel very safe. Plus - there was a price special! Can't be that if you're on a budget!

Back to menu Return to top