$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 22, 2008

great location

size of the room was nice,full kitchen. view of the beach, very nice,sliding doors open to a nice balcony on the beach. looked at 4 rooms before finding an acceptable one.some rooms smelled very strong of mildew,very dirty carpets and walls. room we chose was spaceous kitchen & bath were clean.walls dirty, blinds bent,falling apart,carpen dirty,bedspread had holes in it. needs alot of refurbishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of restaraunts within a 10 mile radius.many water parks, beach very nice.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sumter, SC
Jun 7, 2009

Woudnt be our first choice.

This hotel was reasonably priced however, there were a few things that would cause us not to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marulsa
Family
North Augusta, SC
Jul 28, 2009

This hotel is a disappointment.

This is the first time I have stayed on the southern end of the heart of Myrtle. The location could be good or bad, depending on what you want to do. If you want to travel around much by car, the traffic is terrible. The housekeeping staff were friendly but had to be told at least twice whenever there was a need. Rooms were old and appeared to be not very clean. Not enough cooking equipment to prepare full meals. Elevators VERY SLOW. The room was very economical--but probably not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lumberton, NC
Aug 9, 2009

location good

Not as good as I've stayed elsewhere elevator took 7 minutes from 5th to ground. Then we were packed in to one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MB obsessed
Family
Carolina Beach, NC
Feb 22, 2010

eh,,nope, not so much

No, not so much Palace....I have been to many places in Myrtle Beach, some I have liked, some, well, not that much. This hotel is a nice hotel as far as the lobby, the breakfast, and the pool is concerned. The room was smaller than I am accustomed to, but maybe that was my fault in picking that particular one. I was willing to say ok, this isnt so bad after spending a relaxing morning in the pool after a nice big real breakfast. But then we tried to get to our car on the 4th level parking deck via the outside elevator. That was when we got stuck in the elevator....Literally, the door would not open. For someone with claustrophobia, that didn't sit too well. We were stuck in there for about 10 minutes. The worst part? When we called for help, it took the staff about 12 rings to answer the phone. By that time, I was deciding whether or not to call 911, because my tweens were freaking out. All in all, I don't think we will be back to the Palace. If you decide to go, do me a favor and take the stairs in the parking deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

saw Le Grand Cirque at the Palace theater, it was beautiful.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Raleigh, NC
Jan 12, 2011

Good location for the price

The rooms were clean and the amenities were nice. The overall property could have used some TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
maine
Mar 2, 2011

passable

older condo type hotel, small balcony, 1 bedroom unit that had a broken down sofa. mismatched furnature. ok, barely at the price. poor breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Spartanburg sc
Mar 9, 2011

Ok for the price

The hotel was nice for the price. We just went for valentines day to get away for a few days. The hotel staff could have been nicer and helped more. The batteries in the remote was dead so I asked for new ones 3 times and all times I asked another person. We never received any batteries. The rooms were really comfortable and nicer than I thought for the price but when they cleaned they didn't leave any more wash cloths or dish towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chachelsy
Family
Ridgefield Park, NJ
Mar 21, 2011

Ok hotel

Was put in smoking room when requested non. Front desk said it was a request not a guarentee and said had no rooms left all weekend. Then had no hot water and took FOREVER for maintenance to come. FINALLY when we called [...]to switch hotels, a room SUDDENLY appeared even though they were booked! Ended up staying because they wouldn't refund. Decent space in room, nice to have full kitchen. The breakfast sucked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bone Fish Grill on 87th North

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Parma, Ohio
Mar 22, 2011

Good, but not great

Great area, room was ok. Room needed more cleaning and updating. The view was great. The area was perfect. Front desk needed nicer employees they were rude and some ignored us. They were too busy on personal phone calls through the hotel's telephones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything was close and stayed open til late.

Back to menu Return to top