Palace Resort

3 stars
1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
166 reviews
Wonderful place!

This was the third time we have stayed at the Palace and we really like it. The staff is pleasant... See full review

  • Chevy Guy
  • Apr 3, 2013
fantastic will be back next september for sure

it was very nice ,clean and everything was close by .will definatly stay here again. See full review

  • fansy nancy
  • Oct 1, 2012
*** Minimum check-in age: 23 years old *** Oceanfront resort, on the south-end of Myrtle Beach, offering sun suites with full kitchens to larger one and two bedroom condos with living rooms and full-sized kitchens. All units include free-in room coffee and private balconies with great views of the ocean. Amenities include outdoor pool (enclosed in cooler months), indoor/outdoor whirlpools, restaurant, lounge, exercise room and steam and sauna rooms. Myrtle Beach International Airport - 2.4 Miles SE. *** All $100 USD security deposit per room is required upon check-in. This deposit will be refunded upon check-out and inspection of the room. ***

Palace Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and Private Balcony. Full kitchen, In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanfront 2 BR Condo
1 Queen bed, 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa, 2 Twin Beds, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In-room safe. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront 1 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanview 2 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa, 2 Twins, 2 Baths, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In room safes. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen bed and 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa with private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

33.6732 -78.9016
Area served
Our convenient location along the oceanfront of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, gives you and your family quick and easy access to all the fun and excitement Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand have to offer, like water parks, and amusement parks.
Nearby airports
Located approximately 1.5 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport (MYR).

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.3 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Dining

Free Breakfast for Two
Reservations include free daily buffet breakfast for two, which typically includes scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, fruit, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, ham, corned beef hash, toast, and a beverage.
The Palace Lounge
Have a cocktail at our lounge while enjoying spectacular ocean views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Castle Meeting Room - The Castle Meeting Room can host approximately 65 people for your next group or meeting event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy S
Ohio, USA
Aug 12, 2011

DONT LISTEN TO THE NEGATIVE PEOPLE ON THIS HOTEL

This hotel was AWEOSOME for the price! While booking we didn't realize that the room has a full kitchen! Room 1506 had an amazing bed that was very soft. Yes, the hotel seems a little outdated, but I guess we figure its VACATION, you are on the beach or out of the hotel most of the time! Housekeeping did a great job every day and the front desk people were more than helpful when needed. People complain of the elevators. Yes, they are slow, but we didn't mind because its VACATION lol, if you are on a strict time schedule then plan to either take the stairs down 23 flights or just chill out and wait for an elevator. Most of the time there is an elevator attendant bringing people up and down quickly. The breakfast is no bagel or donut, you get hot food every morning. Was great! We will definately return if we do Myrtle again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the beach is about 10 minutes away. Has a TON of places to shop, eat, and just walk around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The hip mommy
Shreveport, Louisiana
Aug 3, 2011

Very good view of beach

Our hotel room view of the beach and town was beautiful, we were on the twenty second floor. The elevators are very slow and not very clean, they are always wet and sandy from the beach. Pools and hot tubs close very early. The free breakfast every morning is good. The shops are far to walk to and the restaurants are even further. Overall it was pretty good, not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium is very expensive and not at all worth the money you spend for admission, Neither is Ripleys theatre or museum. The shops near the aquarium are good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise, ID
Jul 19, 2011

Not a Palace for sure

Reviews had me terrified of this hotel after I booked it but our main concern was to be on the beach. The beach is amazing and the hotel sits right on it. Yes, the elevators are a hassle, check out early to avoid the rush. We waited 20 min and then walked down 8 flights to check out. The place itself is very dated, very 1980's and because it's so out dated, it looks shabby. We didn't have any trouble with the staff, they seemed overworked and underpaid but always polite. I probably wouldn't stay here again because I didn't like the area it was in. The breakfast is icky...if you can afford to go elsewhere, I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ripley's acquarium is kind of nice but spendy, get the military discount if you can, it reduces the price of a ticket from 20 bucks to about 5 and a half...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elliottagain
Boise, ID
Jul 19, 2011

Not the best, Not the worst

I was terrified of this hotel due to all the bad press this site gave it but it wasn't nearly as awful as people have said. You drive through a pretty rough area to get to it and it is true that the elevator situation is awkward. I had a bad knee but was able to walk the 8 flights of stairs down to check out, other elderly folks were livid about the 30 min wait. You get what you pay for here. It's a very dated hotel, not unclean but starting to look messy just from wear. We didn't have ANY problems with the staff, they look underpaid and overworked but they all greeted us everywhere we went. The couch sleeper was as uncomfortable as couch sleepers ever are...We stayed here because it was cheap and on the beach and that is what it came down to. The beach is amazing and the big selling point. There are a zillion other hotels just like it all along the beach, this entire area isn't going to be where you should stay if you are expecting 5 star hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium is fun but try and get the military discount if you can as the tickets are pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
goldsboro nc
Jul 16, 2011

Not again

I was very disappointed by the pool. The pics of the pool area that were on the Internet does not show the real space. We could not get our room cleaned and the tv channels were coming in poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Jul 12, 2011

great vacation!

view from the room was gorgeous & nice enough room to stay the week. Pools were nice and had a couple of jacuzzi's which were great relaxing way to the end the evening. Food at the hotel was horrible but luckily all restaurants and diners were good & close.Also, fitness room was a joke everything was broken but the saunas were usuable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

amazing seafood buffets & hungry howies had great pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
klilly
Mount Hope, WV
Jul 10, 2011

NEVER STAY AT THE PALACE RESORT

[...] Hotel worker using profanity in guest filled elevator, which there are only 3 of for 23 floors of rooms. Also, you have to take another elevator then to get to your car. Room was awful too. Was told it was one of the best they had, how sad. The breakfast was horrible as well. We tried it 2 times, then just went out each morning and paid so we could eat. Stayed at Myrtle for the last 7 years, worse vacation there ever, all due to the staff not helping and fixing a problem they made!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Amici's at broadway at the beach! GREAT FOOD and Quick service even when they were packed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ill never stay there again
Connecticut
Jul 5, 2011

Palace Resort

the customer service is in need of some serious training. trying to get breakfast every morning was a full inquisition. the elevators do not work properly and as a pregnant woman, was not thrilled to be walking three floors of the parking garage every day because that elevator only worked when it felt like it. the room had an awful musty smell that penetrated all our clothing. the bed was very uncomfortable. we checked out a day early. the hotel, as we were told, was only 35% full, yet they stuck us on the 18th floor so there was no way we could take the stairs even if we didnt feel like waiting upwards of 20 minutes, EVERY NIGHT for an elevator. oh, and a balcony? yeah right. two people couldn't even stand out there together. this is on a ANGLE OCEAN view room. I'm embarrassed to say i stayed at the palace resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville, SC
Jul 5, 2011

Fourth of July weekend @ the Palace

My friends and I rented two hotel rooms during our five night stay in Myrtle Beach. The staff at the hotel was very nice, and the facilities were decent. However, when we were checking out on our final day, we found that two dirty diapers had been thrown underneath the bed, and who knows how long they were there! That was pretty disgusting, but other than that the hotel was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
euron
martinsville va
Jun 28, 2011

i love that beach !!!

my family enjoyed this hotel, the pool and beach the weather was perfect. we all wanted to turn around when we were leaving. should be back next time to enjoy vacation again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top