Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
164 reviews
nice and convenient

Everything was very nice. We could not have been more comfortable. See full review

  • BeachLover208
  • Jun 21, 2015
A very nice vacation spot

The stay was absolutely great and we would love to visit there again on our next vacation. The... See full review

  • shelia r.
  • Jun 14, 2015
*** Minimum check-in age: 23 years old *** Oceanfront resort, on the south-end of Myrtle Beach, offering sun suites with full kitchens to larger one and two bedroom condos with living rooms and full-sized kitchens. All units include free-in room coffee and private balconies with great views of the ocean. Amenities include outdoor pool (enclosed in cooler months), indoor/outdoor whirlpools, restaurant, lounge, exercise room and steam and sauna rooms. Myrtle Beach International Airport - 2.4 Miles SE. *** All $100 USD security deposit per room is required upon check-in. This deposit will be refunded upon check-out and inspection of the room. ***

Palace Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and Private Balcony. Full kitchen, In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanfront 2 BR Condo
1 Queen bed, 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa, 2 Twin Beds, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In-room safe. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront 1 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanview 2 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa, 2 Twins, 2 Baths, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In room safes. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen bed and 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa with private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

33.6732 -78.9016
Area served
Our convenient location along the oceanfront of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, gives you and your family quick and easy access to all the fun and excitement Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand have to offer, like water parks, and amusement parks.
Nearby airports
Located approximately 1.5 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport (MYR).

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.3 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Castle Meeting Room - The Castle Meeting Room can host approximately 65 people for your next group or meeting event.

Dining

Free Breakfast for Two
Reservations include free daily buffet breakfast for two, which typically includes scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, fruit, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, ham, corned beef hash, toast, and a beverage.
The Palace Lounge
Have a cocktail at our lounge while enjoying spectacular ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nonita
Family
Gainesville, VA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

contact with the ocean

My family already make a plans to came back next year. The room works perfect we feel like at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk is fantastis.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fcshiner1
Couples
Blacksburg, VA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

get what you pay for

The Hotel was right on the beach and there were two pools and three hot tubes. The staff was ok but no Hilton type personalities. We got a great deal on the room but you definitely get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the beach has various types of dinning options

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nikkinc1
Family
Charlotte NC
Aug 16, 2011

Family Vacation at Myrtle Beach

Make sure you get what you pay for!! We had a 1 bdrm angle oceanfront room. We were suppose to have a queen size bed in the bedroom and we got a full size. The bed was very uncomfortable. The couch opened up to a queen size bed. The bed was missing a lot of springs. We called the front desk and they sent someone to fix it. The walls near the bottom were dirty. We stayed for a week and not once did house keeping come clean our room. We did what needed to be done. The t.v's were nice, flat screens in both rooms. Breakfast was pretty good, but it was the same thing every morning. A different meat every other day but that was it. All the meat was pork. What about the people who don't eat pork? The kids said the food was nasty! Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. I liked the view. The location is great near just about everything. We had a great time. After complaining we did get money back for the inconvience. They told us they didn't have another room to put us in. Yea right! Other than the issues we had our vacation was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boo boo
Family
indiana
Aug 15, 2011

vacation getaway

nothing compares to jamaica but this was nice very nice for the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

the night life doesnt start till around 9:00pm and only lasts untill 2:00 am so get started before you go out. ALSO yoiu CANNOT buy hard liquor after 7:00 pm in South Carolina so buy it early or do without unless you want to pay for nite club prices...

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rover
Family
charllote n.c
Aug 15, 2011

Weekend with friends

check in was just average, not overly friendly, room was ok, fairly clean, good ac, good T.V. Check out not very good, not enough elevators. not enough luggage buggies, had to make 3 trips up and down 9 floors of stairs, now that is enough to make me not go back to the Palace Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take Oak St. in Myrtle Beach north south instead of Ocean Blvd. or 17

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zinger
Family
Oswego, IL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Mytle beach

Room could have been cleaned better, not mopped and sandy floors upon arrival and even after cleaning crew came around a few days later. Lack of service elevator for staff made for long waits to get to rooms. Plumbing in our unit rattled every time toilet was used..especially annoying when sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristi
Couples
Charlotte, North Carolna
Aug 15, 2011

The Palace

We pulled into the parking lot and actually realized we had stayed at the hotel before. We were surprised that the room had a separate bedroom from the living/kitchen area so that was really nice and will be nice once we come back with our kids just to have that added space and a room off from everywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

several great entertainment places not too far way - Broadway at the Beach we love, putt putt, Family Kingdom

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy S
Couples
Ohio, USA
Aug 12, 2011

DONT LISTEN TO THE NEGATIVE PEOPLE ON THIS HOTEL

This hotel was AWEOSOME for the price! While booking we didn't realize that the room has a full kitchen! Room 1506 had an amazing bed that was very soft. Yes, the hotel seems a little outdated, but I guess we figure its VACATION, you are on the beach or out of the hotel most of the time! Housekeeping did a great job every day and the front desk people were more than helpful when needed. People complain of the elevators. Yes, they are slow, but we didn't mind because its VACATION lol, if you are on a strict time schedule then plan to either take the stairs down 23 flights or just chill out and wait for an elevator. Most of the time there is an elevator attendant bringing people up and down quickly. The breakfast is no bagel or donut, you get hot food every morning. Was great! We will definately return if we do Myrtle again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the beach is about 10 minutes away. Has a TON of places to shop, eat, and just walk around.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The hip mommy
Family
Shreveport, Louisiana
Aug 3, 2011

Very good view of beach

Our hotel room view of the beach and town was beautiful, we were on the twenty second floor. The elevators are very slow and not very clean, they are always wet and sandy from the beach. Pools and hot tubs close very early. The free breakfast every morning is good. The shops are far to walk to and the restaurants are even further. Overall it was pretty good, not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium is very expensive and not at all worth the money you spend for admission, Neither is Ripleys theatre or museum. The shops near the aquarium are good.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elliottagain
Family
Boise, ID
Jul 19, 2011

Not the best, Not the worst

I was terrified of this hotel due to all the bad press this site gave it but it wasn't nearly as awful as people have said. You drive through a pretty rough area to get to it and it is true that the elevator situation is awkward. I had a bad knee but was able to walk the 8 flights of stairs down to check out, other elderly folks were livid about the 30 min wait. You get what you pay for here. It's a very dated hotel, not unclean but starting to look messy just from wear. We didn't have ANY problems with the staff, they look underpaid and overworked but they all greeted us everywhere we went. The couch sleeper was as uncomfortable as couch sleepers ever are...We stayed here because it was cheap and on the beach and that is what it came down to. The beach is amazing and the big selling point. There are a zillion other hotels just like it all along the beach, this entire area isn't going to be where you should stay if you are expecting 5 star hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium is fun but try and get the military discount if you can as the tickets are pricey.

Back to menu Return to top