$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandy Big Bottoms
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 26, 2011

stayed during off season, price was right!

Had a wonderful view of the ocean from 14th floor, balcony was small but fine for two people. Rooms haven't been redecorated or redone since 1975, free breakfast was ok, it's clearly a family budget hotel. clean, comfortable. Access to the beach is great. off season rates are good for what you get. staff was helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCAries531161347
Business
Washinton, D. C.
Sep 26, 2011

Restfully get away

Overall the staff was very friendly, and helpful. The Palace Hotel is a little dated, and the pictures on thInternetet need to ge updated. We had an ocean view, but thbalconyly was a little. We had requested a smoking room, but there was no ashtrays, we had to purchase some. Kitchen had miss-matched dishes, and very linchesnchels for cooking. I wished I had brought more cooking utinclers with me. Housekeeping need to leave a broom and a mop in the room. Need to clean the room more often, they only came by only once. We we go back to Myrle Beach again, I will consider staying at the Palace Resorts again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

I wold recommend people do plan to go to Tommy's Seafood restaurant. Excellent all you can eat buffet. Two blocks from the hotel there is varietyey

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msucsicougar
Business
Marion, VA 24354, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great family getaway

This hotel was great it's best to get a room owned by someone else because they decorate it nicely and maintain it. We stayed on the 22nd floor and it was amazing views of the ocean and street! Free breakfast each morning. Lots of people complain about elevator access but we had no problem at all even being on the 22nd floor. We had a great time and will revisit the palace!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

River City Cafe on 21st Ave North looks like a dump but it's EXCELLENT!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anderson5550
Business
Ilinois
Sep 18, 2011

Pretty good.

Besides the fact that we weren't told about resort fees until we checked out, it was a great stay. Never hit the free breakfast because it was always packed , the bar was very small so we didn't do that either but there are so many places to go it didn't reall matter. We would stay again! Also it took them almost a half an hour to do the security check on the room when they said about 5-10 min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StephNDylan
Business
Marshallville, OH 44645, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Our First Vacation

This was me and my fiance's first trip together. The location of the room was perfect. It was right on the beach. The room was very nice. Not quite what we expected but it was just fine. The Palace Resort does need some TLC. It needs updated. Other than that the place was great. Didnt have any problems. Loved it!! We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPRM
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 9, 2011

getaway 4 2

We enjoyed our stay at Palace. We would defiantly return. All of the staff was extremely friendly. We didnt have to venture out for breakfast that was a nice bonus. The breakfast was good and the dining room and service very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ripey's Aquarium (get tickets online) and there is a private zoo in the area.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danita
Business
Columbia
Sep 6, 2011

Would not go back!

Hidden fees, the hotel only had 3 elevators for 23 floors, the sheets on the bed look like they have been used for over a year, I had bugs on my comforter, the masterbedroom tv was a 13 inch in the air with no remote, and the door was glued closed so I couldnt even use it to view the ocean! Would NEVEr go back there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonded C
Business
Newport, NC, USA
Sep 3, 2011

View Was Breathtaking

We stayed in an efficiency on the 3rd floor.The view was simply breathtaking.The bed was comfortable,the shower was nice & hot,and the WIFI worked great.Steam room,sauna,hot tub,and both pools were clean and well maintained.The bar food was great for a quick bite to eat and had a very helpfull & friendly staff. There are 2 things that need improvement at the Palace.The housekeeping staff needs to check rooms for cleanliness and the manager needs to have a more guest friendly attitude.If you pay your deposit in cash get a receipt.When we went to check out they could not find our 100.00 We did leave with our money but it took about 40 minutes and the manager did not offer an apology.I also had to call housekeeping to re-clean the room.We travel often and realize things happen .We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carrabbas Italian Grill was wonderful food & service were great.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston WV
Sep 1, 2011

Wonderful stay

We all absolutely loved the service and our room at this resort! Everyone was friendly. Our rooms were clean and kept clean during our stay. On our second night, there were fireworks being let off about 5 miles down the beach. We were able to walk to the beach right in front of our hotel and see these. The amusement park was within walking distance, it was a bit of a walk, but a good hike for all of us. We didn't miss one activity. This resort is located close to everything, but it is far enough away not to hear all of the commotion of the beach night life. Perfect family atmosphere. Our boys loved the pool, sauna, and hot tub. Not to mention the breakfast. There was a cooked and served full breakfast every morning. They also changed up the menu so we weren't eating the same thing daily. All in all, the best resort we have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When walking, we found it was nicer to walk the long walk to the main events, while on the beach. The streets were very crowded and it was hard to walk as a 4 person family through the crowd.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
....
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Aug 26, 2011

OK STAY

THE HOTEL WAS VERY OUT DATED. OLD CARPET, OLD TV, OLD FURNITURE. IT ONLY HAS THREE ELEVATORS FOR 20 SOMETHING FLOORS. WE WOULD NOT STAY AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top