Palace Resort

3 stars
1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
168 reviews
Awesome weekend

Booked this as a last getaway for the year. Booking was painless, check in and check out was... See full review

  • SHMILY72
  • Oct 6, 2014
birthday get away

The hotel was nice, clean and fun. Great view of the ocean. absolutely loved it. See full review

  • romar1977
  • Sep 30, 2014
*** Minimum check-in age: 23 years old *** Oceanfront resort, on the south-end of Myrtle Beach, offering sun suites with full kitchens to larger one and two bedroom condos with living rooms and full-sized kitchens. All units include free-in room coffee and private balconies with great views of the ocean. Amenities include outdoor pool (enclosed in cooler months), indoor/outdoor whirlpools, restaurant, lounge, exercise room and steam and sauna rooms. Myrtle Beach International Airport - 2.4 Miles SE. *** All $100 USD security deposit per room is required upon check-in. This deposit will be refunded upon check-out and inspection of the room. ***

Palace Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and Private Balcony. Full kitchen, In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanfront 2 BR Condo
1 Queen bed, 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa, 2 Twin Beds, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In-room safe. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront 1 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanview 2 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa, 2 Twins, 2 Baths, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In room safes. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen bed and 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa with private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

33.6732 -78.9016
Area served
Our convenient location along the oceanfront of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, gives you and your family quick and easy access to all the fun and excitement Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand have to offer, like water parks, and amusement parks.
Nearby airports
Located approximately 1.5 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport (MYR).

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.3 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Dining

Free Breakfast for Two
Reservations include free daily buffet breakfast for two, which typically includes scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, fruit, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, ham, corned beef hash, toast, and a beverage.
The Palace Lounge
Have a cocktail at our lounge while enjoying spectacular ocean views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Castle Meeting Room - The Castle Meeting Room can host approximately 65 people for your next group or meeting event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Oct 30, 2008

Front Desk

I would not recoomend this place to anyone. The upgraded room was a 1 bedroom but had a broken picture frame over the couch. peeling wall paper and the smell in the carpet was bad. we opened the terrace door when possible to air out the room. the restaurant was dingy and the bar area also could have been cleaned better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Grand strand mall and bway at the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Jul 30, 2008

Not really a Resort.

I was very disappointed when I arrived to the Palace Resort. The staff was very friendly, but the "resort" was very run down and dirty. When we arrived there was only one elevator working for over 20 floors. We finally got into the room and the floor was beyond dirty and the carpet stained. The televisions were outdated and no one wanted to sit on the chairs - they were so dirty. I went back downstairs and complained to the receptionist and he gladly gave us another room. This room was worst. The refrigerator had rust spots on the outside and the room was dirtier than the first. There was only one television in the sitting area and this was a two bedroom suite. There was no way I was letting my children sit on the furniture or on the floor. I was really disappointed with this hotel. It really needs some major refurbishing and updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lenoir, NC
Jul 29, 2009

the good, bad & ugly

The front desk staff were surly & unfriendly, the elevators old & slow, 1 even had a permit pending as of Aug. 08. The room's carpet & counter tops were severely stained. The pools were just nasty w/debris & the hot tubs didn't work! It is not convient for anyone except amusement park fans, even that is quite a walk. There was no tissue in the room, we had to ask a few times to get it. The housekeeping & janitorial staff were great & the view was wonderful, but overall was not a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

amusement park is a long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MsLisa
Business
Ranlo, North Carolina
Jul 31, 2009

The Worse in the world!!!!

I will NEVER return or recommend the PALACE to anyone I know. We had to look at 5 different rooms before we found a room CLEAN enough to use, we were woke up 3 of the 4 mornings we were there before 8am by the hotel staff needing in for "water leak" that was not coming from our room, the hotel staff NEVER cleaned the room, they house cleaning staff knocked on our door every am just to ask if we needed anything and never had anything with them (no cleaning supplies, towels, vaccum, trash bags, etc.) and we ended up @ the front desk asking for towels and wash cloths after we had told the staff we needed fresh ones. The hotel also only had 3 elevators to accomodate 22 floors of guest; we always had to wait a long time for one and it was always full when we would get on. The steam room, pools, hot tubs, and sauna all were filthy and smelled bad. I never once saw any staff cleaning any of them even after I personally told the front desk staff several times how nasty they were. We were so disgusted with the way the staff acted like these things were not priority and the way that they acted toward us as if we were asking them for a million bucks! The staff was terrible, impolite, rude, and very unprofessional compared to any other staff we have ever encountered. This was the the worse hotel/resort we have ever been to in our lives. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone, not even my worse enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was right outside the hotel thank goodness! We stayed there most of the time to escape the hotel itself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WASHINGTON, DC
Sep 10, 2009

HORRIBLE STAY

HORRIBLE STAY , RUDE STAFF, BROKEN SOFA BED, THEY TRIED TO MOVE US TO ANOTHER ROOM THE NEXT DAY , THE SOFABED WAS BROKEN AS WELL, AT THIS POINT WE HAD ONE MORE NIGHT WE JUST STAYED IN THE ROOM , THE OTHER ROOM WAS 1OO TIMES WORSE , THE MANAGER SPOKE TO US THAT NIGHT AND STATED HE WOULD RE-IMBURSE USE 10 OR 20% , THE NEXT DAY HE LOOKED AT US AND DID NOT REMEMBER US AT ALL, OR REMEMBER THE CONVERSATION, HE THEN STATED THAT WE HAD TO TAKE IT UPON OURSELVES TO CALL ORBITZ AND DEAL WITH IT THROUGH THEM SINCE WE MADE RESERVATIONS THROUGH THEM,EVEN THOUGH THEY'RE HOTEL IS WHERE THEY HAVE THE BROKEN SOFA BEDS? , THEY APPARENTLY HAVE A LIST OF ALL THE ROOMS WITH DEFECTS IN WHICH I DON'T KNOW WHY THEY STILL OFFER THE ROOM , HORRIBLE DO NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL. WISHED WE WOULD OF STAYED IN THE NORTH SIDE OF MYRTLE BEACH MUCH NICER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaufort, SC
Jul 24, 2010

Palace Resort.....

I was supposed to have a 1 bedroom condo, but it was an efficiency really. There was nothing separating the bedroom from the rest of the room. The wallpaper was peeling. The room smelled odd. The TV was a 19" from the 1980's. I was not impressed with the room at all, and I do not think it was worth the money. On a positive note, the location and view were great. That's about it for the positives...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
emerald isle, NC
Jan 5, 2011

horrible

the service was horrible. they had bad attitudes and the rooms were horrible. you could walk in the room and feel dirty. The paint was chipping and everything had grime on it. the rooms were very small. bathrooms were digusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sucky Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Business
Columbia, SC
Feb 13, 2011

THIS PLACE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!

This hotel was so [*] nasty! When we arrived I had to pay a stupid resort fee. The hotel was stuck in the 80's and smelled like smoke. The room was okay but the hot water only lasted 3-5 minutes. The free breakfast tasted aweful. The pool and hot tub sucked. The parking garage was nasty and the elevator you used to go up and down made some scary noises. I will never go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Use coupons while you are there and you can save lots of money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrison Me.
Feb 21, 2011

1957 era old and painted over alot

Hotel is different in person then the online advertising represents. Looks very used and old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Helpful hint! Stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Johnsonville,S.C.
Feb 22, 2011

Lies and dishonesty

Non-smoking rooms had been smoked in (there was four or five cigarette butts under the bed) did not find them until we were packing our clothes and dropped a pair of socks,there was two inches of dust under the bed as well ,there were hairs on all of the towels when we first got to the room( so we went and bought some of our own),and when we asked for another room because of smoke allergy and pure nastiness there were non available.There was no indoor pool like the pictures suggested( thats my fought though I should have been more specifically about my want to swim indoors). They had five jacuzzi(which sounds nice right,no no think again), one on the 22ND floor had way to much chlorine in it made my wife cry,The three outside one of them didn't have enough water(so it threw water in your face constantly),the second one outside was over filled with water or either it didn't work correctly(it barely had water coming out of its jets, the third outside one was as good as it could get (but still not the best,but it was usable)the one inside down stairs you could cook chicken in. I felt like Goldy locks and three little bears, tiring to find the one that was just right.Thanks for a horrible second honey moon.My advise to any and every one,is to spend an extra hundred dollars if you have to just don't stay at the Palace Resort.Our experience was terrible, and the person I talked to about it (that worked for them) seemed they could care less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Benjamin Calabash Seafood was the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top