$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clover, SC
Aug 1, 2008

HOTEL FROM HELL

Rooms were nevered clean the staff thought it was funny. 23 floors and only 3 evetalors there wasn't a day that went by that any of them work and some days none worked at all. My door was old and needed to be fixed hard to get in the room. I had to clean and vaccum my own room. No clean sheets or towels. Found the maid two rooms down a sleep in someones room and she had been there over 2 hours. The staff at the front desk are rude to everyone they have pepole calling your room starting at 7:00 am wanting your opion of the holtel. Used beds stains in couchs and chairs the walls were yellow, dirty dishes in the dish washer when we checked in dirty sheets on our bed. And we wasn't the only couple mad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 30, 2008

vacation in n

The room was really nice and everything at the hotel was good, except that there were only 3 elevators and they were never all working at the same time. It got kind of tiring climbing 20 flights of stairs (with luggage). Also, there was no toilet paper in the room at all when we arrived :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

is a lot shopping center , dining and they were all not too far from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Jul 30, 2008

Not really a Resort.

I was very disappointed when I arrived to the Palace Resort. The staff was very friendly, but the "resort" was very run down and dirty. When we arrived there was only one elevator working for over 20 floors. We finally got into the room and the floor was beyond dirty and the carpet stained. The televisions were outdated and no one wanted to sit on the chairs - they were so dirty. I went back downstairs and complained to the receptionist and he gladly gave us another room. This room was worst. The refrigerator had rust spots on the outside and the room was dirtier than the first. There was only one television in the sitting area and this was a two bedroom suite. There was no way I was letting my children sit on the furniture or on the floor. I was really disappointed with this hotel. It really needs some major refurbishing and updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clinton, SC
Jul 29, 2008

dirty!!

the room was very,very, dirty!!I WILL NEVER GO BACK!!!...........I DID NOT HAVE A COFFEE MAKER,..........I DON'T WANT TO NEVER STAY THERE EVER!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

NOTHING WAS NEARBY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, GA
Jul 28, 2008

terrible

The Palace Resort was the worst experience I have ever had. The staff and management were really rude, rooms were dirty, and their elevators did not work. I have never been to a hotel that did not have an icy machine. Their were bugs in my room. I will never recommend this hotel nor will I ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sc, SC
Jul 27, 2008

Try another location

This was my 20th wedding anniversary and it was the worst experience we have ever had. The room seemed to appear bigger, the room needed renovations, housekeeping never changed the sheets the entire time, when the towels were removed at 9am they did not get come back to the room until 3pm. People were swimming in their clothes in the whirlpool. The one good thing was the view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Family Kingdom Amusment Park is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jul 24, 2008

Terribly Staffed

It took over 45 minutes because they were understaffed. The front desk staff were rude and unwilling to help.There were only 3 elevators for 24 floors of guest rooms and staff use.Wait time for the elevator was often longer than 20 minutes and sometimes only 2 elevators were in service. The room was nice and clean.Pool area was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Douglasville
Jun 29, 2008

horrible

the Palace Resort is a dump!!!! the pools are not kept up and overcrowded, the wirlpools are glorified tubs with jets, barely lukewarm. the rooms are below adequate at best, small and dirty, the refridgerator didn't work, there was a small safe in the closet that wasn't even secured down. there are only 3 elevators and only one worked, as well as there is no service elevators which makes the 1 working well even more crowded. the staff is young and constantly complaining about having a job. badly in need of renovations though I'm not sure they would help. very dissatisfied with our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duncan
Jun 23, 2008

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place

I go to Myrtle Beach 3 or 4 times a year, and on at least one trip each year I try a new hotel. The fixtures and appliances have not been updated since the early 80's; the carpet probably hasn't been cleaned in as long - there were large stains and visible trash and dirt on the carpet in every room. The beds were uncomfortable at best. The angle oceanfront room was a side view at best; the door to the balcony was broken, as were the chairs on the balcony. The cleaning of the pools daily was very poor as was their upkeep - I was afraid to let my family swim in them. The elevators were extremely slow, and at least one was broken each day - plan to wait 15 minutes or more to get one during the busy season. The one thing I actually enjoyed was the fountain on the lobby level - perhaps since I had to wait there so often for an elevator. This hotel is long overdue for renovations in many, many areas - and it really shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2008

MUST READ---NOT A NICE OR SAFE HOTEL

This hotel was awful!! The elevators were always busy and we were given three rooms before we got a suitable one. The first room we were given was on the 17th floor. The 2nd room they moved us to had the cover of the air conditioner laying in the middle of the floor when we walked in. The air was broken---no air at all. It was over 85 degrees at the beach. We had to stay in that room the first night, and finally the 2nd day, we were given a third room that was decent enough to stay in. It still wasn't exactly clean, but at least it was on a lower floor and had air. The appliances are ancient, dirty, and look unsafe! I had stayed in this hotel previously (about 10 years ago), and I honestly believe that there was no renovations or upkeep since my last visit. It even looked like the same furniture! There were 3 elevators for 23 floors, and they were so busy that people were lined up for over an hours and others were constantly traveling the stairs. Can you imagine having to be the people on the 23rd floor? The 3rd night we were there, we were awaken by fireworks, and just happened to look outside and notice our hotel was being evacuated. The siren on our floor did not work, so had we not heard fireworks, we would never have known about the alarm!! How safe is that!! Also, parking garage security is a joke--do not leave anything valuable in your car! We saw a carload of people just cruising through and looking in car windows at 2 am!! Highly suggest that no one stays at this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top