$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2014 Check-out: May 9, 2014

Palace Resort

3 stars
1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
164 reviews
Wonderful place!

This was the third time we have stayed at the Palace and we really like it. The staff is pleasant... See full review

  • Chevy Guy
  • Apr 3, 2013
Family on a budget

We've stayed at this hotel a few times and have always loved it. It has a great contiental... See full review

  • Kristi
  • Jan 14, 2013
*** Minimum check-in age: 23 years old *** Oceanfront resort, on the south-end of Myrtle Beach, offering sun suites with full kitchens to larger one and two bedroom condos with living rooms and full-sized kitchens. All units include free-in room coffee and private balconies with great views of the ocean. Amenities include outdoor pool (enclosed in cooler months), indoor/outdoor whirlpools, restaurant, lounge, exercise room and steam and sauna rooms. Myrtle Beach International Airport - 2.4 Miles SE. *** All $100 USD security deposit per room is required upon check-in. This deposit will be refunded upon check-out and inspection of the room. ***

Palace Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and Private Balcony. Full kitchen, In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanfront 2 BR Condo
1 Queen bed, 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa, 2 Twin Beds, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In-room safe. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront 1 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa Bed and private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children
Angle Oceanview 2 BR Condo
1 Queen Bed, 1 Queen Sofa, 2 Twins, 2 Baths, 2 Balconies, Full Kitchen, In room safes. Max. Occupancy 6. 4 Adults 2 Children.
Angle Oceanfront Sun Suite
1 Queen bed and 1 Queen Sleeper Sofa with private balcony. In-room safe. Max Occupancy 4. Sleeps 2 Adults 2 Children

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palace Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6732 -78.9016
Area served
Our convenient location along the oceanfront of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, gives you and your family quick and easy access to all the fun and excitement Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand have to offer, like water parks, and amusement parks.
Nearby airports
Located approximately 1.5 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport (MYR).

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.9 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.3 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Dining

Free Breakfast for Two
Reservations include free daily buffet breakfast for two, which typically includes scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, fruit, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, ham, corned beef hash, toast, and a beverage.
The Palace Lounge
Have a cocktail at our lounge while enjoying spectacular ocean views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Castle Meeting Room - The Castle Meeting Room can host approximately 65 people for your next group or meeting event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

5
Ridindirty
New Bern, NC
May 21, 2012

Exactly What I was Looking For

Let me start by saying that I have been going to Bike Week in Myrtle Beach for a while. I have stayed in many hotels throughout the Grand Strand area over the years. They have varied from the "hole in the wall" cheap hotels to the "ritzy" overpriced condos. I have definately been dissappointed more often than not with either the accomidations or the unappreciative staff. I can honestly say that I have NEVER been treated with the level of respect and thankfulness that I was treated with at this hotel. When I arrived the front desk staff was waiting to welcome me and get me checked in. They were cordial and explained to me where everything was. I proceeded to my room and when I got there I had a little trouble with the key card. I was able to gert in after fiddleing with it for a minute or so. I went back down to the parking area and on my way by the front desk I mentioned that I had a little trouble getting into my room. When I came back from the parking area with the rest of my luggage they had a maintenance man waiting to escort me to my room. When we arrived to my room he immediately fixed the issue, (weak batteries in the unit) and told me if I had any more trouble to call the front desk and ask for him. I could go on and on about all that the staff went out of their way to do for me, but suffice it to say they were great. The room was exactly as the internet conveyed them and I throughly enjoyed my stay. I will book every trip I go on to Myrtle Beach at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Gainesville, GA
Jul 28, 2008

terrible

The Palace Resort was the worst experience I have ever had. The staff and management were really rude, rooms were dirty, and their elevators did not work. I have never been to a hotel that did not have an icy machine. Their were bugs in my room. I will never recommend this hotel nor will I ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Sc, SC
Jul 27, 2008

Try another location

This was my 20th wedding anniversary and it was the worst experience we have ever had. The room seemed to appear bigger, the room needed renovations, housekeeping never changed the sheets the entire time, when the towels were removed at 9am they did not get come back to the room until 3pm. People were swimming in their clothes in the whirlpool. The one good thing was the view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Family Kingdom Amusment Park is close by.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
Jul 24, 2008

Terribly Staffed

It took over 45 minutes because they were understaffed. The front desk staff were rude and unwilling to help.There were only 3 elevators for 24 floors of guest rooms and staff use.Wait time for the elevator was often longer than 20 minutes and sometimes only 2 elevators were in service. The room was nice and clean.Pool area was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Douglasville
Jun 29, 2008

horrible

the Palace Resort is a dump!!!! the pools are not kept up and overcrowded, the wirlpools are glorified tubs with jets, barely lukewarm. the rooms are below adequate at best, small and dirty, the refridgerator didn't work, there was a small safe in the closet that wasn't even secured down. there are only 3 elevators and only one worked, as well as there is no service elevators which makes the 1 working well even more crowded. the staff is young and constantly complaining about having a job. badly in need of renovations though I'm not sure they would help. very dissatisfied with our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Duncan
Jun 23, 2008

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place

I go to Myrtle Beach 3 or 4 times a year, and on at least one trip each year I try a new hotel. The fixtures and appliances have not been updated since the early 80's; the carpet probably hasn't been cleaned in as long - there were large stains and visible trash and dirt on the carpet in every room. The beds were uncomfortable at best. The angle oceanfront room was a side view at best; the door to the balcony was broken, as were the chairs on the balcony. The cleaning of the pools daily was very poor as was their upkeep - I was afraid to let my family swim in them. The elevators were extremely slow, and at least one was broken each day - plan to wait 15 minutes or more to get one during the busy season. The one thing I actually enjoyed was the fountain on the lobby level - perhaps since I had to wait there so often for an elevator. This hotel is long overdue for renovations in many, many areas - and it really shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2008

Location was good that's about it

Palace Resort was in a good area but other than that it was truely lacking. The primary problem was the height of the hotel and only three elevators that seldom seemed to make it to the ground floor. In the afternoon 15 to 20 minute waits could be expected as folks returned from the beach and crammed into the small waiting area. Since the hotel is so tall taking the stairs was not a very realistic option. On the plus side. The view from such a tall building was pretty impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Springmaid beach resort pier

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
USA
Jun 22, 2008

MUST READ---NOT A NICE OR SAFE HOTEL

This hotel was awful!! The elevators were always busy and we were given three rooms before we got a suitable one. The first room we were given was on the 17th floor. The 2nd room they moved us to had the cover of the air conditioner laying in the middle of the floor when we walked in. The air was broken---no air at all. It was over 85 degrees at the beach. We had to stay in that room the first night, and finally the 2nd day, we were given a third room that was decent enough to stay in. It still wasn't exactly clean, but at least it was on a lower floor and had air. The appliances are ancient, dirty, and look unsafe! I had stayed in this hotel previously (about 10 years ago), and I honestly believe that there was no renovations or upkeep since my last visit. It even looked like the same furniture! There were 3 elevators for 23 floors, and they were so busy that people were lined up for over an hours and others were constantly traveling the stairs. Can you imagine having to be the people on the 23rd floor? The 3rd night we were there, we were awaken by fireworks, and just happened to look outside and notice our hotel was being evacuated. The siren on our floor did not work, so had we not heard fireworks, we would never have known about the alarm!! How safe is that!! Also, parking garage security is a joke--do not leave anything valuable in your car! We saw a carload of people just cruising through and looking in car windows at 2 am!! Highly suggest that no one stays at this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
USA
Jun 19, 2008

Very family friendly

It was very clean and comfortable for the first two days, (Friday and Saturday). Sunday we did not receive any room service, I had to go to the front desk to pick up clean towels at 11:00 PM at night do that my husband and I would have clean towels to use the next morning. On Tuesday, June 17th when my husband and I returned to our room we noticed that the maid had cleaned the room and left the door unlocked; yes UNLOCKED, when I went to open the door with my key the door was open,thank GOD nothing was missing.I immediately called the front desk and asked for management, however, the young lady at the front desk told me that the manager was not in, that she would take the report and make sure that the manager got the information. She did apologize for the incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Kernersville
Jun 16, 2008

Good Location - poor linen service

Check in staff was nice on Tuesday. On Thursday, the original towels were still in our room. My daughter called down to request clean towels and was told we don't supply towels for the beach. We had our own beach towels - can say: 'Need customer service classes. The room was small, but we expected this. Other hotel staf were nice, appliances did work. We were there from Tuesday to Monday and at least one elevator was down the entire time, we always waited about 10 minutes for one. Next time we will go spend the extra $$ and get the larger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location: food, fun, entertainment in walking distance. Too far to walk to Pavillion, had to drive. Sets right on the beach

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Henderson
Jun 13, 2008

ok

Check in was ok but they didn't tell i would have to pay an extra 15 dollars at check-in. The pool was great and the ocean view waa great. The TV was old and the pillows sucked but overall the stay was good.Yes I would stay again but would not chose the one room suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top