$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super man 1234
Business
San Jose California
Jul 29, 2013

Staff

The staff was very nice there and the view or the beach was nice but the pools were cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ReeseK
Business
Rock Hill, SC
Jun 7, 2014

Third party booking gets treated different!

Me and my family have stayed here at least 3 times before and Never had any issues. But this time was different. Checking in took longer because staff kept stating I owed them more money. Tried showing reservation but she refused stating " I got you here" pointing at the computer. I'm tired from the drive so I was nice to her and stated I paid already after several minutes and two more people we were able to get checked in of course no breakfast since we booked through 3rd party since hotel had higher price. But again we stayed before "it's NASTY" so no big deal. Got to room AC not working. Was fixed next day. TV in bedroom should be thrown out. My phone would've been better to watch from. It was soooo small. Really how much does a cheap flat screen TV cost these days!! Went back down to move car after checking in and had a warning violation on window. Really! You guys held me up trying to find my reservation and put a warning on window I'm taking to long to move my car! Really! After all this we made the most of it and enjoyed our vacation outside of the hotel. I love the beach so I will be back. But Palace no more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Market Commons. Place to eat, shop, and watch movies. Watched a new movie for like 6.15 you can not beat that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MB obsessed
Business
Carolina Beach, NC
Feb 22, 2010

eh,,nope, not so much

No, not so much Palace....I have been to many places in Myrtle Beach, some I have liked, some, well, not that much. This hotel is a nice hotel as far as the lobby, the breakfast, and the pool is concerned. The room was smaller than I am accustomed to, but maybe that was my fault in picking that particular one. I was willing to say ok, this isnt so bad after spending a relaxing morning in the pool after a nice big real breakfast. But then we tried to get to our car on the 4th level parking deck via the outside elevator. That was when we got stuck in the elevator....Literally, the door would not open. For someone with claustrophobia, that didn't sit too well. We were stuck in there for about 10 minutes. The worst part? When we called for help, it took the staff about 12 rings to answer the phone. By that time, I was deciding whether or not to call 911, because my tweens were freaking out. All in all, I don't think we will be back to the Palace. If you decide to go, do me a favor and take the stairs in the parking deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

saw Le Grand Cirque at the Palace theater, it was beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duncan
Jun 23, 2008

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place

I go to Myrtle Beach 3 or 4 times a year, and on at least one trip each year I try a new hotel. The fixtures and appliances have not been updated since the early 80's; the carpet probably hasn't been cleaned in as long - there were large stains and visible trash and dirt on the carpet in every room. The beds were uncomfortable at best. The angle oceanfront room was a side view at best; the door to the balcony was broken, as were the chairs on the balcony. The cleaning of the pools daily was very poor as was their upkeep - I was afraid to let my family swim in them. The elevators were extremely slow, and at least one was broken each day - plan to wait 15 minutes or more to get one during the busy season. The one thing I actually enjoyed was the fountain on the lobby level - perhaps since I had to wait there so often for an elevator. This hotel is long overdue for renovations in many, many areas - and it really shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clover, SC
Aug 1, 2008

HOTEL FROM HELL

Rooms were nevered clean the staff thought it was funny. 23 floors and only 3 evetalors there wasn't a day that went by that any of them work and some days none worked at all. My door was old and needed to be fixed hard to get in the room. I had to clean and vaccum my own room. No clean sheets or towels. Found the maid two rooms down a sleep in someones room and she had been there over 2 hours. The staff at the front desk are rude to everyone they have pepole calling your room starting at 7:00 am wanting your opion of the holtel. Used beds stains in couchs and chairs the walls were yellow, dirty dishes in the dish washer when we checked in dirty sheets on our bed. And we wasn't the only couple mad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2008

MUST READ---NOT A NICE OR SAFE HOTEL

This hotel was awful!! The elevators were always busy and we were given three rooms before we got a suitable one. The first room we were given was on the 17th floor. The 2nd room they moved us to had the cover of the air conditioner laying in the middle of the floor when we walked in. The air was broken---no air at all. It was over 85 degrees at the beach. We had to stay in that room the first night, and finally the 2nd day, we were given a third room that was decent enough to stay in. It still wasn't exactly clean, but at least it was on a lower floor and had air. The appliances are ancient, dirty, and look unsafe! I had stayed in this hotel previously (about 10 years ago), and I honestly believe that there was no renovations or upkeep since my last visit. It even looked like the same furniture! There were 3 elevators for 23 floors, and they were so busy that people were lined up for over an hours and others were constantly traveling the stairs. Can you imagine having to be the people on the 23rd floor? The 3rd night we were there, we were awaken by fireworks, and just happened to look outside and notice our hotel was being evacuated. The siren on our floor did not work, so had we not heard fireworks, we would never have known about the alarm!! How safe is that!! Also, parking garage security is a joke--do not leave anything valuable in your car! We saw a carload of people just cruising through and looking in car windows at 2 am!! Highly suggest that no one stays at this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clinton, SC
Jul 29, 2008

dirty!!

the room was very,very, dirty!!I WILL NEVER GO BACK!!!...........I DID NOT HAVE A COFFEE MAKER,..........I DON'T WANT TO NEVER STAY THERE EVER!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

NOTHING WAS NEARBY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lindenhurst, NY
Aug 2, 2008

Never Again

The service was terrible, Late check in, bad service, employees had attitudes. should I go on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sc, SC
Jul 27, 2008

Try another location

This was my 20th wedding anniversary and it was the worst experience we have ever had. The room seemed to appear bigger, the room needed renovations, housekeeping never changed the sheets the entire time, when the towels were removed at 9am they did not get come back to the room until 3pm. People were swimming in their clothes in the whirlpool. The one good thing was the view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Family Kingdom Amusment Park is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, GA
Jul 28, 2008

terrible

The Palace Resort was the worst experience I have ever had. The staff and management were really rude, rooms were dirty, and their elevators did not work. I have never been to a hotel that did not have an icy machine. Their were bugs in my room. I will never recommend this hotel nor will I ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top