$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fcshiner1
Couples
Blacksburg, VA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

get what you pay for

The Hotel was right on the beach and there were two pools and three hot tubes. The staff was ok but no Hilton type personalities. We got a great deal on the room but you definitely get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the beach has various types of dinning options

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
....
Couples
Knoxville, TN, USA
Aug 26, 2011

OK STAY

THE HOTEL WAS VERY OUT DATED. OLD CARPET, OLD TV, OLD FURNITURE. IT ONLY HAS THREE ELEVATORS FOR 20 SOMETHING FLOORS. WE WOULD NOT STAY AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
geoscuba
Couples
Conway, SC, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Not quite picture perfect...

The room was quite a bit smaller with a dramatically different configuration from what the hotel's website lead me to believe. The comforter on the bed had dried, what I will modestly refer to as, bloody nose material. It hadn't been washed very well, if at all. The sheets were slightly stained, which was a bit off putting. The hotel showed signs of needing a bit of TLC, but the staff was pleasant and accommodating. Not a fantastic resort, but not horrible either. The appliances and kitchen equipment was in good, clean order, and the shower was nice and hot. As long as you're only looking for a place to lay your bags and head, it's not so bad. It was a nice plus that the room key was also a discount card for local stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bennett's Calabash seafood buffet, Capt. Benjamin's Buffet, and Crabby Mike's are wonderful buffets for the price. Great food and plenty of crab legs!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mossy1
Family
tn
May 12, 2012

better places and better service if you look around... dont settle cause price is good

construction was going on and we wasn't aware until we arrived. elevators were extremely slow, heated pools were cold, out of 6 hot tubs only one worked,we were there 4 days and our room didn't get cleaned any we complained every day and all they would tell us was come to the desk and we will give u what u need they wouldn't even bring it to us we complained to the manager and the housekeeping manager and nothing was done

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheeks51113
Couples
Knoxville, TN
Jun 30, 2013

Palace Hotel

The elevators were broken part of the time and when they did work they were slow packed and smelled very very badly. Our room was clean overal but it appeared the cleaning staff "forgot" to change our lines they were filthy and were NOT cleaned we had to go buy our own linens just to sleep in the bed it was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own sheets or check them before agreeing to stay in the room.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super man 1234
Family
San Jose California
Jul 29, 2013

Staff

The staff was very nice there and the view or the beach was nice but the pools were cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ReeseK
Family
Rock Hill, SC
Jun 7, 2014

Third party booking gets treated different!

Me and my family have stayed here at least 3 times before and Never had any issues. But this time was different. Checking in took longer because staff kept stating I owed them more money. Tried showing reservation but she refused stating " I got you here" pointing at the computer. I'm tired from the drive so I was nice to her and stated I paid already after several minutes and two more people we were able to get checked in of course no breakfast since we booked through 3rd party since hotel had higher price. But again we stayed before "it's NASTY" so no big deal. Got to room AC not working. Was fixed next day. TV in bedroom should be thrown out. My phone would've been better to watch from. It was soooo small. Really how much does a cheap flat screen TV cost these days!! Went back down to move car after checking in and had a warning violation on window. Really! You guys held me up trying to find my reservation and put a warning on window I'm taking to long to move my car! Really! After all this we made the most of it and enjoyed our vacation outside of the hotel. I love the beach so I will be back. But Palace no more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Market Commons. Place to eat, shop, and watch movies. Watched a new movie for like 6.15 you can not beat that.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MB obsessed
Family
Carolina Beach, NC
Feb 22, 2010

eh,,nope, not so much

No, not so much Palace....I have been to many places in Myrtle Beach, some I have liked, some, well, not that much. This hotel is a nice hotel as far as the lobby, the breakfast, and the pool is concerned. The room was smaller than I am accustomed to, but maybe that was my fault in picking that particular one. I was willing to say ok, this isnt so bad after spending a relaxing morning in the pool after a nice big real breakfast. But then we tried to get to our car on the 4th level parking deck via the outside elevator. That was when we got stuck in the elevator....Literally, the door would not open. For someone with claustrophobia, that didn't sit too well. We were stuck in there for about 10 minutes. The worst part? When we called for help, it took the staff about 12 rings to answer the phone. By that time, I was deciding whether or not to call 911, because my tweens were freaking out. All in all, I don't think we will be back to the Palace. If you decide to go, do me a favor and take the stairs in the parking deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

saw Le Grand Cirque at the Palace theater, it was beautiful.

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Duncan
Jun 23, 2008

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place

I go to Myrtle Beach 3 or 4 times a year, and on at least one trip each year I try a new hotel. The fixtures and appliances have not been updated since the early 80's; the carpet probably hasn't been cleaned in as long - there were large stains and visible trash and dirt on the carpet in every room. The beds were uncomfortable at best. The angle oceanfront room was a side view at best; the door to the balcony was broken, as were the chairs on the balcony. The cleaning of the pools daily was very poor as was their upkeep - I was afraid to let my family swim in them. The elevators were extremely slow, and at least one was broken each day - plan to wait 15 minutes or more to get one during the busy season. The one thing I actually enjoyed was the fountain on the lobby level - perhaps since I had to wait there so often for an elevator. This hotel is long overdue for renovations in many, many areas - and it really shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Clover, SC
Aug 1, 2008

HOTEL FROM HELL

Rooms were nevered clean the staff thought it was funny. 23 floors and only 3 evetalors there wasn't a day that went by that any of them work and some days none worked at all. My door was old and needed to be fixed hard to get in the room. I had to clean and vaccum my own room. No clean sheets or towels. Found the maid two rooms down a sleep in someones room and she had been there over 2 hours. The staff at the front desk are rude to everyone they have pepole calling your room starting at 7:00 am wanting your opion of the holtel. Used beds stains in couchs and chairs the walls were yellow, dirty dishes in the dish washer when we checked in dirty sheets on our bed. And we wasn't the only couple mad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top