$157 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Palace Resort

3 stars
View map of 1605 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palace Resort

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ridindirty
New Bern, NC
May 21, 2012

Exactly What I was Looking For

Let me start by saying that I have been going to Bike Week in Myrtle Beach for a while. I have stayed in many hotels throughout the Grand Strand area over the years. They have varied from the "hole in the wall" cheap hotels to the "ritzy" overpriced condos. I have definately been dissappointed more often than not with either the accomidations or the unappreciative staff. I can honestly say that I have NEVER been treated with the level of respect and thankfulness that I was treated with at this hotel. When I arrived the front desk staff was waiting to welcome me and get me checked in. They were cordial and explained to me where everything was. I proceeded to my room and when I got there I had a little trouble with the key card. I was able to gert in after fiddleing with it for a minute or so. I went back down to the parking area and on my way by the front desk I mentioned that I had a little trouble getting into my room. When I came back from the parking area with the rest of my luggage they had a maintenance man waiting to escort me to my room. When we arrived to my room he immediately fixed the issue, (weak batteries in the unit) and told me if I had any more trouble to call the front desk and ask for him. I could go on and on about all that the staff went out of their way to do for me, but suffice it to say they were great. The room was exactly as the internet conveyed them and I throughly enjoyed my stay. I will book every trip I go on to Myrtle Beach at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg sc
Mar 9, 2011

Ok for the price

The hotel was nice for the price. We just went for valentines day to get away for a few days. The hotel staff could have been nicer and helped more. The batteries in the remote was dead so I asked for new ones 3 times and all times I asked another person. We never received any batteries. The rooms were really comfortable and nicer than I thought for the price but when they cleaned they didn't leave any more wash cloths or dish towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
currently overlooking the ocean
Mar 7, 2011

JUST CHECKED IN 3/7/11

Just checked in to the hotel about an hour ago.. was extremely worried due to reviews that we have read.. checked into one of the rooms on the 5th floor..everything looked okay.. we pulled the sheets back and there was some hair in the bed.. we called down to the front desk and they immediately allowed us to go check out another room too see if we liked it better..came up several floors and found an amazing room.. its a little outdated but its clean.. has a gorgeous/modern dining area and slate tiles in the kitchen.. and a great Atlantic view.. the people at the front desk were a little shy but were immediate to help if needed.. i will definitely be staying here again. :) ps: we did have to pay a 3rd party fee but it was only 12$ and there isnt any on-site wi-fi *if there is, it wasnt strong enough for my laptop to pick up* however, i am using a nearby hotel's wi-fi with no issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia sc
Mar 7, 2011

windy weekend

Had a great time, hotel staff was really nice and inviting. Room was clean and had a great view. Having to take two different elevators to get to the parking garage got to be a waiting game for a while but other than that it was great. Went to medeival times walked on the beach and even got in the hot tub. Only wish it had been a longer trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

just a short drive to the strip!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maine
Mar 2, 2011

passable

older condo type hotel, small balcony, 1 bedroom unit that had a broken down sofa. mismatched furnature. ok, barely at the price. poor breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Delightful Yaugers
Business
Camp Lejeune,NC
Mar 1, 2011

Great Romantic Getaway

The resort was very nice[...]While we were there we went to the Comedy Cabana, Broadway at Beach, Alabama Theatre to see The ONE show, Barefoot landing. The televisions in our room were the older type ones, and we are only in our 30's and had to sit close to the tv's because of how small the screens are. They really need to upgrade them. Other than that the Palace Resort is a very nice, clean, friendly, place to stay at. They just need to fix their elevators, mainly ones in the parking garage. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you get the coupon booklets offered at just about any gas station, restaurant,etc.. They come in handy. If you really want to see a show thats well worth your money and last just about 3 hours then go to see The ONE(show) at the Alabama Theatre, its great for ALL ages. We also enjoyed Legends in Concert too. Comedy Cabana is great, the nightlife at Broadway at the Beach has many clubs, all sorts of music because each club,bar,pub has their own kind. Its a blast to go to, and you can drink outside. During season, there are way too many enjoyments to mention. Just plan to spend, spend, spend!!!LOL...And Have loads of FUN!!!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Delightful Yaugers
Business
Camp Lejeune,NC
Mar 1, 2011

Great Romantic Getaway

The resort was very nice[...]While we were there we went to the Comedy Cabana, Broadway at Beach, Alabama Theatre to see The ONE show, Barefoot landing. The televisions in our room were the older type ones, and we are only in our 30's and had to sit close to the tv's because of how small the screens are. They really need to upgrade them. Other than that the Palace Resort is a very nice, clean, friendly, place to stay at. They just need to fix their elevators, mainly ones in the parking garage. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you get the coupon booklets offered at just about any gas station, restaurant,etc.. They come in handy. If you really want to see a show thats well worth your money and last just about 3 hours then go to see The ONE(show) at the Alabama Theatre, its great for ALL ages. We also enjoyed Legends in Concert too. Comedy Cabana is great, the nightlife at Broadway at the Beach has many clubs, all sorts of music because each club,bar,pub has their own kind. Its a blast to go to, and you can drink outside. During season, there are way too many enjoyments to mention. Just plan to spend, spend, spend!!!LOL...And Have loads of FUN!!!

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T BOYD
Business
GREENSBORO ,NC
Feb 28, 2011

NOT BAD FOR PRICE AT THE TIME

STAFF NOT VERY KNOWLAGEABLE OF EQUIPMENT IN ROOM ROOM WAS NOT BAD FOR PRICE BREAKFEST WAS OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
clt, nc
Feb 27, 2011

clean, excellent value

Got an excellnt value. Great view and clean room. Did receive a great discount because it was still winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patty - The Worst Trip Ever!!!
Business
Castleton, New York
Feb 24, 2011

The bad and the ugly

I stayed at the Palace Resort in Myrtle Beach for 4 nights. I had a terrible vacation. The main reason I booked the hotel was because their website said that they had an indoor pool. Well, they do not have one and they could have cared less how I felt. They made it clear that they would not offer any compensation for the fact that they misrepresent themselves on their website. My kindle was stolen from their Gym. Granted, I left it there, but when I asked who went in after me, they said that they don't keep a list of people who use the gym. If you do use the gym, you have to hand them your room key, BUT they don't keep track AND again, they made it clear that they couldn't care less. They suggested that I call the police...and I did. The policeman told me that the reason they don't keep a list is because most of the rooms are privately owned and if one of the owners came to visit with someone other than their wife and that person used the gym, then there would be a record of it!!! YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME! The next reason...and it's a big one...I was at the front desk inquiring about parking. Someone was standing behind me with a pad and pen waiting to talk to the manager as well...While inquiring about parking the manager started reading off my credit card number aloud. I was stunned! And asked her..."Are you reading my credit card number out loud??? She said, "I'm sorry", then read off the rest of the card number!!! I would suggest that you not stay there... It was the worst vacation of my life!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dagrate4
Business
Georgetown, SC
Feb 23, 2011

Fun

We ate the free breakfast and the kis enjoyed the pool. We slept comfortable in the beds. The room was very spacious and clean. The room with the twin beds didnt have a television. It was okay, but pool area inside was a little cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top